Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of teh best console RTS
This is quite an older RTS available on the xbox 360 but it still has to be one of the best. If your a fan of C&C and other RTS games then you will love this.

One of the things I like about halo Wars is its a lot more simplistic to master the controls and building of units which in the heat of battle saves a lot of fustration. Unlike C&C I found that to be a...
Published on 11 Jan. 2012 by T.Heard

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Suffers by comparison to PC strategy
I have cut my teeth on strategy games such as the 'Total War' series, and especially 'Company of Heroes'. Compared to the latter, this is a very blunt instrument indeed and conatins nowhere near the graphical quality, or gameplay excellence. For younger gamers, who are discovering this type of game, this might pass muster, but for me, I'm afraid it was very underpowered.
Published 22 months ago by Mr. Garry W.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of teh best console RTS, 11 Jan. 2012
By 
T.Heard (Northampton) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is quite an older RTS available on the xbox 360 but it still has to be one of the best. If your a fan of C&C and other RTS games then you will love this.

One of the things I like about halo Wars is its a lot more simplistic to master the controls and building of units which in the heat of battle saves a lot of fustration. Unlike C&C I found that to be a little fiddley in the midst of battle.

Halo wars allows you to chose between i think 6 army types, 3 good guys and 3 from the bad guys, each having its own unique abillities and leader powers, so take time to understand what each does and how it affects in game play.

There is a very strong single player campaign crossing both Spartans and Convenant so a good mix of being good and bad ;) and then there is Skirmish mode which you can play alone against AI, co-op or against other online (be warned there are some hardened ruthless players out there as I have found out) I tend to practice on Skirmish against AI, moving from easy up to the harder difficulty levels, more to get a feel for what units do, strategy types before venturing online. playing against friends can be fun, swearing alligence before turing on them when they least expect it ;0) - Then there are various online v's modes (with the classics version you get *free DLC *this depends if its a new or second hand copy so you may need to check, but failing that you can download via XBL for a small fee)

All in all a very well polished game, great graphics, easy to master (there are 2 tutorial modes to start you off)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Okay so RTS don't work for consoles, 10 Aug. 2010
By 
E Kelly (Shrewsbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay so RTS' don't work for consoles. The limited number of buttons on a gamepad will never be a match for the hundreds of combinations of a keyboard. Having said that Halo Wars works surprisingly well.
It does a good job of a tricky situation running fluently and fast. The best bit of Halo Wars is you can play all your favourite characters and factions that you know and love. A small annoyance is the rather short campaign length however its Multiplayer offer unlimited hours of fun after the Singleplayer is exhausted.

A definite must have for Halo fans and RTS fans alike. A-grade game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, great story, great challenge., 25 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Where to start with Halo Wars. I guess the best place to start is with the story itself. The story is not the best quality of the game, but it is interesting, with good action, dialogue and it even makes sense. We also see the Prophet of Regret and a new arbiter as an interesting adversary. My favorate feature about the campaign is every level is not the same build and destroy. Infact, there are some missions where you don't have a base at all and must go with what you got. The flood is in the game too, unfortunatly not as a playable force.

The music in the game is brilliant. It still retains the beauty of it's predecesors. The sounds too sounds great. Especially when there is a large battle. it's also not so loud that it muffles anything either.

The best quality of Halo Wars however is the online. This pits 2 teams of up to 3 players against each other. You choose your faction and your character before you start. Choosing the right hero is important as they all have different features such as Cutter being able to spawn ODSTs and Elephants or taking direct control of the arbiter and shred enemy units. The community is still about 10,000 strong too so finding a game is easy.

This game is an RTS made for consoles and if you like and halo and RTS then this is not a game to miss!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal, 8 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Amazing price for the game, good campaign length and offline/Online skirmishes for good replay ability. You get both DLC packs as well. which if bought on the XBL Marketplace would cost you another 10pounds and add more game types and maps to give even more game play hours. Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really like it!, 27 Jan. 2011
By 
Brady Chalk - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
To be honest it could of been alot better, but at the end of the day I play it quite alot. Its really good and it encourages teamwork because if you try and do everything alone you will get smashed into a new oblivion!
There are a few issues like the Alien advantages and God powers being rediculously overpowered but there are things to combat these things so its not the worst it could be!
Id reccomend it to most people who enjoy these types of games but dont expect to win your first few games because you need to know how to combat different attacks. Practice makes..pretty good players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I really like RTS games, and this has to be one of the best I've played. I'm a fan of Halo so this obviously helps but even if your not, its still a great game.

True, there could be more unit types, but there are enough to get your teeth into, the campaign mode is great, ending sequences don't disappoint (there are a few leading up to the end). I've not played online yet but the skirmish's are a game in themselves.

A must buy for a fan of RTS, Halo or any good Xbox game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of fun, 6 May 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A good strategy sim for whiling away the hours, but some of the achievements are a little difficult to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Suffers by comparison to PC strategy, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have cut my teeth on strategy games such as the 'Total War' series, and especially 'Company of Heroes'. Compared to the latter, this is a very blunt instrument indeed and conatins nowhere near the graphical quality, or gameplay excellence. For younger gamers, who are discovering this type of game, this might pass muster, but for me, I'm afraid it was very underpowered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and fun, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a simple game much akin to Battle for Middle Earth or Command & Conquer on the xbox, wish it was longer though still for what it's worth it is a great little game. It has some annoying things like not having enough multiplayer maps and there's not enough players but hey it's no CoD but you're not looking for that if you buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game has often been deemed the worst Halo ever. WRONG. This game is fantastic. It is basically a cross between Dawn of War and Halo, two of my favourite game franchises. One thingI will say is that it is very, very difficult. Otherwise, this game is just superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360)
Halo Wars : Classics (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: £4.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews