Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can tell its in the genes!
Harper Simon has been knocking about in the music scene for a few years now, performing with his friend Sean Lennon, popping up now and again on compilation albums, collaborating with his step mom (on The Heavy Circles) and touring with his very famous dad. And they would be Edie Brickell and of course, Paul Simon.

Here we have his self titled debut album which...
Published on 27 Feb 2010 by Trenthamfolk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Listen to!
This is a very pleasant CD. Not earth shattering but really nice. The 'Berkley Girl' track is quirky and very pretty. I think Harper will come up with very fine music as time goes by, he certainly has the Simon tallent. I am glad I bought it.
Published on 10 Oct 2010 by JennyMoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can tell its in the genes!, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Trenthamfolk (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harper Simon (Audio CD)
Harper Simon has been knocking about in the music scene for a few years now, performing with his friend Sean Lennon, popping up now and again on compilation albums, collaborating with his step mom (on The Heavy Circles) and touring with his very famous dad. And they would be Edie Brickell and of course, Paul Simon.

Here we have his self titled debut album which has take him 37 years to realise, and there is no mistaking his fathers influence. Delicate finger style guitar, coupled with sensitive lyrics and attention to detail, have resulted in a wholly satisfying, albeit short (half an hour or so) package. As Alison Krauss once said, this album is all killer and no filler. There is not a weak track from beginning to end. Each melody is executed with a relaxed precision that seems to go well with his almost horizontal laid back persona. The production is bolstered by several legends of the music industry, and I suspect Harper has taken full advantage of his pa's legendary status to surround himself with the very best (wouldn't you?). It clearly shows. Highlights for me are The Shine co-written with his former step mom, Carrie Fisher (this is getting complicated), and the simply gorgeous Berkley Girl which will invoke memories of Simon & Garfunkel in its poise and simplicity.

This is a lovely, lovely album, which has had heavy rotation in my CD player since its release in the US in 2009. It is a solid buy, although I believe his best is still to come. Watch this space!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming soon to a dinner party near you..., 21 April 2010
This review is from: Harper Simon (Audio CD)
This album took me a little by surprise. I read some positive reviews in the media (and I do have a soft spot for Simon and Garfunkel), so I thought I'd buy it - I'm glad I did.

Harper Simon is of course Paul Simon's son and comparisons are inevitable. Famous siblings don't always make good records so it was a pleasant surprise to hear a collection of well written country/folky acoustic songs sung with a laid back style familiar to anyone who has heard C.S.N, late period Byrds and..err..Simon and Garfunkel. Helping Harper out on his debut are a varity of Nashville stalwarts including Lloyd Green on pedal Steel and Johnny Cash/Bob Dylan producer Bob Johnston giving the album a classy uncomplicated sound which, although could be accused of being a little unadventurous, should help the record achieve a deserved wider appeal. Album highlights include "Wishes and Stars" a gorgeous melody with a memorable vocal, and "All I Have Are Memories" a contemporary country classic which sounds a little like Jason Lytle from Grandaddy fronting The Fallen Angels (imagine that!). Elsewhere the folkier "Ha Ha", "Berkeley Girl" and "Cactus Flower Rag" all sound strangley, wonderfully familiar. In fact this record will be making itself at home in your collection within no time at all.

Harper Simon has made a great debut record here and despite my nagging feeling he is playing it a little too safe, deserves your attention. This album really wants to be your new best friend and resistance is futile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Son Of Paul Simon gets off to a good start ( Harper Simon ), 18 Mar 2010
By 
Gdshelbourn "Gez Shelbourn" (Lincoln , England .) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harper Simon (Dig) (Audio CD)
It's always a pretty impossible task for children of Singer / songwriting Legends to create their own identities and realise their potential ( just look at The Beatles children ). This album however is 30 minutes of mature well recorded good songs . Genetics are a fascinating thing as the last song on the album ( Berkeley Girl ) sounds so early Simon And Garfunkel ( in a positive way ). Having said that , the overall feel of the album is in a Country style . There is a depth to the lyrics in places on this album , a confessional aspect , which sort of tells you a bit about having a famous dad , ie " The shine " ( my favourite track ) , "Shooting Star" , and " Tennesse " ." Wishes and Stars " jumps out at you as the most easily radio friendly song with it's delightfully silly lyric and simple yet infecious melody .Thats the albums strenght in my opinion , there's light and shade , the more serious songs are balanced with witty pop songs . This is a fine first album and , although a little short , hopefully will pave the way to even greater things -Gez .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harper Simon, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Francesca (Crete, Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harper Simon (Audio CD)
A lovely, poetic album. Not all the songs have the immediate impact of Shooting Star but listen a few times. Although Shine took time to grow on me, it is now my favourite track. The music, overall, is very close to the style of Paul Simon, so if you like his music, you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That silver haired Daddy of mine...., 6 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harper Simon (Audio CD)
While Harper Simon may not look the dead spit of his old man, on the evidence of this debut album he certainly sounds like him. Tonight Matthew, he IS going to be Paul Simon. While the guy clearly cannot help the way he sounds, there is more than a little knowing indulgence here in his evocation of his father's earliest back catalogue. This may lead to an instant polarisation of views. While some may berate him as a copyist shamelessly capitalising on his father's sound; others will take delight in the revisited structures of early Simon & Garfunkel material.

Thankfully, the quality of the songs is enough to successfully gainsay the doubters. Shot through with a country-folk ambience, these are quite simply lovely songs, for the most part sparingly arranged and beautifully sung in that strangely familiar alto. Some of them are joint compositions between father and son, one of the best being the lovely 'The Shine'. Loveliest of all, and perhaps most bizarrely, the closing song 'Berkeley Girl' manages to sound like both Simon and Garfunkel at the same time, testament to Harper Simon's vocal range or copying ability, depending on your point of view. It's a beautiful song, strongly reminiscent of 'The Dangling Conversation', that wears its lineage openly on its sleeve, almost playfully so.

For those who have been waiting 40 years for the next Simon & Garfunkel studio album, this may be the one to satisfy your hunger. It is undoubtedly a lovely album by any standards that should be taken entirely on its own merit. Whether its success or failure is based on that premise, or whether it merely creates a market for Harper Simon as a familial tribute act remains to be seen. For now, that the album wears its heritage so openly, is in my view, no bad thing at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stands up on its own., 1 July 2010
By 
Curlynob (Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harper Simon (Audio CD)
Harper Simon does sound like his father more than a little bit, but no more than most modern singer songwriters from the last 10 years. If you played the un-initiated certain tracks from an Elliot Smith, Jesse Harris and Harper Simon album, they'd struggle to pick out the real Son of Simon. In fact to begin with Harper sounds more like Jonathan Donahue from Mercury Rev or the aforementioned Elliot Smith than his father. A little later on though, it's impossible to listen to Berkeley Girl without thinking of "Wednesday Morning 3AM" or the start of "Ha Ha" without thinking of "Everything put together sooner or later falls apart".

Overall the album is too short to ever overstay its welcome - especially with songs like "Wishes and Stars" and "Shooting Stars" along for the ride. There's a gift for touching, self depreciation - "You've only known me, since I've been lonely, I'm different when I'm fooling around" and a gentle probing wit "The road has claimed you for it's own, to put your damage on display with a steel guitar and a microphone". The tempo rides up and down over the course of the album with some brilliant steel guitar playing and a wonderful layered production that leaves just the right amount of rough edges. Importantly, the album never wallows in either its own lyrics or musicality.

Harper has been building up to this record for quite some time. With this in mind and with the weight of expectation firmly upon him, it would have been easy for him to try too hard and ruin what he has here. The over-riding impression you get listening to this sweet and gentle record though is how relaxed and "slung together" it all feels. Credit I feel to an original talent in its own right. An original talent with a promising future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chip off the old block, 18 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harper Simon (Audio CD)
An excellent album. It would be easy to say that Harper Simon's album is just a slightly different Paul Simon album but that really doesn't do it justice. Firstly his voice is probably better than his father's and the variety of the songs and the self depreciating humour make it a real pleasure to listen to. There are touches of country, easy listening and poems put to music. The writing is interesting, not just because one song is written by Paul Simon, Carrie Fisher and Harper, but because much of it is clearly personal and the singer's buy inis obvious. It is a short album, around 30 min but it is worth every penny. It took him a long time to come out with this album; I hope the next one comes along a bit faster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 28 Mar 2010
By 
Cs Ogborne "Heron" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harper Simon (Dig) (Audio CD)
Just like a re-creation of Simon & Garfunkel, but with a modern twist.
Great lyrics, great production.
How good is it to hear PROPER music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars harper simon, 17 Mar 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harper Simon (Audio CD)
Harper Simon has come up with an impressive album to act as his debut. Musically this is a force to be reckoned with. It is clear there is real talent here and it offers great hopes for future releases.
Harper Simon, the son of Paul Simon, (Simon and Garfunkel) brings us an album that has originality and familiarity. It is original in that the songs are all new with interesting and neo poetic lyrics and very strong melody. And it is familiar in that it, unsurprisingly, has an echoing element of early Paul Simon songs. This is true not only in lyrical format but also in terms of the vocal style of singing, which is compounded by the addition of input by Paul Simon himself as co writer and added vocals on some tracks.
It is important to point out that this is in no way an album propped up by father Paul. It is defiantly a Harper Simon album. And there is true originality here. There is an obvious similarity in style of lyrics, melody and vocals to his father but there are some tracks here that, for me, outshine more recent efforts by father Paul.
The album is short at only just over half an hour. It is refreshing in a way that we only get the best tracks and there hasn't been a temptation to fill out the album with a lot of sub standard stuff. So it is actually a good length with good songs that leaves you wanting more.
There is a middle of the road, light rock, country folk and acoustic style to this album and I love tracks like the opening "all to God" with its opening acoustic harmonies and its light rock arrangement that amplifies the beauty of the melody. It is Traditional in origin. Track two is a bright and breezy catchy track with great lyrics and this is one of those tracks that could have easily been a Simon and Garfunkel song. This is "Wishes and stars". Track five, Tennessee has been co written with Paul Simon and it is a magical track with a country rock feel and great melody. The country flavour continues on track eight "all I have are memories" Then Track nine and ten, like most of the songs are very poetic. Finally my favourite track is the final track ten. "Berkley girl". It is a pure Harper Simon song that has terrific atmosphere and has beautiful lyrics and the simplicity of arrangement. This has the sort of lyrics his father might have written in the mid sixties. With echoes of songs like "For Emily wherever I may find her", Kathy's song" "The dangling conversation" or "cloudy" by Paul Simon.

There is one issue that makes me demote this product in the star ratings though. The packaging and most of the presentation is truly awful. It comes in an "eco" type of cover that is made of rough cardboard and is like the back of an old Corn Flakes box.
The sleeve design is like an old vinyl record that opens out with two slots either side that are so tight you have to finger the Disc to get it in or out and the other side is just as tight and that means the booklet soon becomes bent and tatty.
The fact that the picture on the front, the crude drawings and the reproduction handwriting may be deliberate does not impress me. It may be in order to bestow a sense of closeness to Harper or a sense of non manufacture but it just looks cheap, scruffy, un appealing, juvenile and childish. The whole thing looks drab and will not win the "Classic album cover" award.

However the music is what really matters, and in that respect I thoroughly enjoy this album and I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harper Simon, 17 Mar 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harper Simon (Dig) (Audio CD)
Harper Simon has come up with an impressive album to act as his debut. Musically this is a force to be reckoned with. It is clear there is real talent here and it offers great hopes for future releases.
Harper Simon, the son of Paul Simon, (Simon and Garfunkel) brings us an album that has originality and familiarity. It is original in that the songs are all new with interesting and neo poetic lyrics and very strong melody. And it is familiar in that it, unsurprisingly, has an echoing element of early Paul Simon songs. This is true not only in lyrical format but also in terms of the vocal style of singing, which is compounded by the addition of input by Paul Simon himself as co writer and added vocals on some tracks.
It is important to point out that this is in no way an album propped up by father Paul. It is defiantly a Harper Simon album. And there is true originality here. There is an obvious similarity in style of lyrics, melody and vocals to his father but there are some tracks here that, for me, outshine more recent efforts by father Paul.
The album is short at only just over half an hour. It is refreshing in a way that we only get the best tracks and there hasn't been a temptation to fill out the album with a lot of sub standard stuff. So it is actually a good length with good songs that leaves you wanting more.
There is a middle of the road, light rock, country folk and acoustic style to this album and I love tracks like the opening "all to God" with its opening acoustic harmonies and its light rock arrangement that amplifies the beauty of the melody. It is Traditional in origin. Track two is a bright and breezy catchy track with great lyrics and this is one of those tracks that could have easily been a Simon and Garfunkel song. This is "Wishes and stars". Track five, Tennessee has been co written with Paul Simon and it is a magical track with a country rock feel and great melody. The country flavour continues on track eight "all I have are memories" Then Track nine and ten, like most of the songs are very poetic. Finally my favourite track is the final track ten. "Berkley girl". It is a pure Harper Simon song that has terrific atmosphere and has beautiful lyrics and the simplicity of arrangement. This has the sort of lyrics his father might have written in the mid sixties. With echoes of songs like "For Emily wherever I may find her", Kathy's song" "The dangling conversation" or "cloudy" by Paul Simon.

There is one issue that makes me demote this product in the star ratings though. The packaging and most of the presentation is truly awful. It comes in an "eco" type of cover that is made of rough cardboard and is like the back of an old Corn Flakes box. The sleeve design is like an old vinyl record with that opens out with two slots either side that are so tight you have to finger the Disc to get it in or out and the other side is just as tight that the booklet soon becomes bent and tatty.
The fact that the picture on the front cover, the crude drawing and the reproduction handwriting may be deliberate does not impress me. It may be in order to bestow a sense of closeness to Harper or a sense of non manufacture but it just looks cheap, scruffy, un appealing, juvenile and childish. The whole thing looks drab and will not win the "Classic album cover" award.

However the music is what really matters, and in that respect I thoroughly enjoy this album and I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harper Simon
Harper Simon by Harper Simon (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews