Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends
This is a good one a bit different than alot of the anime that I watch but none the less a good one. I was hooked on this when I first watched the trailer and thanks to the wonderful people at Beez's entertainment and thier value for money Anime Ledgends box sets I now have the complete series. In this anime we follow Robin a young witch of 15 who has been sent to Tokyo...
Published on 28 July 2010 by D. G. Slade

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick Review of first few episodes
This is a simple but well made anime. A team of witch hunters get a new member and hunt down witches. Fans of anime will know exactly what to expect just from reading that and it has very few surprises. However, although it is unoriginal it very well made, the scripts are strong with decent plots, characters, dialogue (English Dub is very good), action is good and it is...
Published 16 months ago by Mr Blonde


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends, 28 July 2010
By 
D. G. Slade "anime fan" (hazlemere uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a good one a bit different than alot of the anime that I watch but none the less a good one. I was hooked on this when I first watched the trailer and thanks to the wonderful people at Beez's entertainment and thier value for money Anime Ledgends box sets I now have the complete series. In this anime we follow Robin a young witch of 15 who has been sent to Tokyo as a replacement hunter.She joins a team of hunters who work for the STNJ as you can probably work out from the title they are a group of witch hunters in modern day Tokyo.At first Robin is a bit shaky but her powers grow as the series progresses.Aided by Amon the top hunter she soon finds her feet.For the first twelve episodes there is a different story every episode. The plot realy developes in the second half of the series and the plot darkens and becomes more intense.The ending leaves you thinking they may be another series. BUt there was only one as far as I can make out a good one at that.Buy it as it is very good and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great anime, darker than most, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
First saw this in the States, and have been looking for a great value copy - ans this is it. This is quite a dark anime; starts off as standard 'bad dude of the episode' fair, the plot line developing later. Unlike other reviewers, I had no difficulty getting to the last two episodes in disks 5&6, although it did take me a few minutes to identify the red tick as the link to the second menu.

Only complaint (and it was the same when I saw it first) is the dubbing is poor. If you can stand it, watch in Japanese with English subtitles - so much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slip-up in the DVD menus, but decent anime, 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
On the last disc in this set, not all episodes are accessible through the 'episodes' menu. The last two episodes (25 and 26) can only be viewed when using the 'play' option that plays all episodes back-to-back.

The series itself really deserves 4 stars. There is a nice mix of supernatural and thriller elements and the second half of the series reveals nearly all of the characters to be somehow different from what I had expected.

The animation was probaly done on a low budget. Most of that budget seems to have been spent on the supernatural fights between the witches, which have some really good effects animation (fire, lightening etc.). Other parts often look somewhat static with only the mouth of a character being animated for dialog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick Review of first few episodes, 12 July 2013
This review is from: Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a simple but well made anime. A team of witch hunters get a new member and hunt down witches. Fans of anime will know exactly what to expect just from reading that and it has very few surprises. However, although it is unoriginal it very well made, the scripts are strong with decent plots, characters, dialogue (English Dub is very good), action is good and it is entertaining. The most interesting aspect is that it has no blood or nudity. Not even in the slightest and that is interesting for Japanese Anime. It still works strong and makes the entertainment a lot lighter.
I only watched the first 4 episodes and I really enjoyed them however I am unlikely to watch any more of them because it is not hugely original and I feel the need to watch more distinct things. Think of it as the X-Files, it is quite routine and you know what you're expecting when you watch it but that makes it comforting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it!, 24 Jun 2010
By 
S. B. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you're looking at this product you should already know what the series is about and if you don't there is a blurb just above here a little way so I'll stick to the particulars of the boxset itself.

The anime legends boxsets are a really good investment. You get the full series on good quality DVD's for a very reasonable price. I didn't find any problems with the DVDs themselves, except the penultimate disk where it didn't tell me there were 5 episodes on it. Other than that they all worked well and are a very enjoyable watch. Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suffer not the witch, 30 Jun 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
`Witch Hunter Robin' is a series that follows the STN-J, an organisation who hunt down superpowered individuals known as witches, and their newest member Robin Sena, a young girl with the ability to produce fire. As Robin and her team go about their job though it becomes increasingly obvious that other, darker, things are going on in the background.

This set includes all twenty-six episodes of the `Witch Hunter Robin' series spread over six discs. The series has some nice animation, a good English dub and a brilliant soundtrack. The first half of the series is pretty much an episodic Witch-of-the-Week format with the main plot of the series only really coming into life in the second half of the series. Despite this once the plot does get going it becomes incredibly interesting and absorbing. The characters are mostly interesting and well developed and I did begin to feel sorry for some of them towards the end of the series.

The only really minor problem that I have with the series is that it had a somewhat unsatisfying and ambiguous ending. This isn't to say that the ending was bad but I do feel that the series could have done with a better send-off than it got.

The tone and style of the series is probably series is probably closest to such series as `Darker than Black' and `Ergo Proxy' than anything else and I would say that if you enjoyed these series then you should also enjoy `Witch Hunter Robin'. Overall I feel the series is worth a low five but a five nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Slow and boring, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This series is the most boring anime I have ever watched. I can't believe people actually like it?

The pacing is slow and the plot is boring. Also there is hardly any action and the animation is well below par. Steer clear; there are 100's of better anime series out there.

If you really want to watch something gothic, I would suggest Trinity Blood, Vampire Hunter D, Ergo Proxy, Hellsing, Death Note as they all wipe the floor with this rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sombre but cool, 31 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
One of the older series that I saw years ago and mercifully, mature oriented. Also, was really happy to find it still available! Loved the OP and ED. Can listen to them again and again. Although the animation is average, loved the muted palette that mirrored the whole mood of the story. All in all, something I can watch again just for its coolness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete box set, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a great series - up to episode 24 ('rent'), which is what you get in the box set of 6 DVD's sold here. The complete series consists of 26 episodes, however, (reported on the back of the box, and in other reviews, remaining titles 'Redemption day' and 'Time to tell') so when people say that the ending is a bit ambiguous...

This is very annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Witch Hunter Robin Complete - Anime Legends [DVD] [2003]
Used & New from: £23.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews