Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Army- Season 3: A Brilliant End to a Superb Series, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Not only great entertainment, Secret Army [Series' 1-3] serves another purpose- to highlight the all too important role played by ordinary Belgian, French, Dutch peoples during the Second World War. Obviously, news sources of the day could not cover the vital role that the members of the escape networks played. Pilots in WWII were a rare asset. Their life span was sadly too short, and it took time to train them for flying and survival. Thus, it was of vital importance to have these brave young men returned to England, so they can resume the fight.The escape networks were run by extra- ordinary people who came from all walks of civilian life: male/female, the young, the old and their bravery ought to be remembered and honoured. If these civilians were caught by the Nazi's [especially the dreaded SS], it was game over. You were lucky if you were merely shot, without being tortured for hours on end before hand.
Secret Army is based upon a cafe' owner and his group called Lifeline. The group was originally started by a young nurse named Lisa Cobert, code name Yevette. Other members include farmers,old ladies, waitresses, etc. It is based in Brussels and Series 1-3 runs through the whole length of German occupation of Belgium. The group is sponsored by the British government who fund, and keep in contact with them. Each episode is based upon the groups activities. Also, the relationships between the main characters, combined with the elements of risk and suspense are really good.The series also makes one think about the important choices: Would you have taken the risk, was it worth it, which of the enemy forces can you blame, and how much blame is to be assigned.?
In Series 3 the fate of the characters is explored in great detail. Actions that were taken back in Series 1 come up like a rash to cause grief for our heroes in this series.Thus, I would recommend checking out either Series 1 and or 2 first. However, it is not essential, as Series 3 can stand on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Richard Coyle (Leics, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
There are not enough stars in this review to give it due credit. Simply a fantastic series and having just finished series 3 (again) I can't wait to get back to the start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 May 2014
By 
Junius (London, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1 and 2 of Secret Army were brilliant, but would the third series be too formulaic as with other series as they progress? Fear not, this is sufficiently varied to retain all the old genius of the earlier serieses.

The time line is the summer and autumn of 1944 after the allied landings in Normandy to the liberation of Brussells, with a coda in 1945. The emphasis changes from sending airmen down the line to sheer survival. There's a new Luftwaffe officer on the trail of Lifeline, and to argue with Kessler; a decorated ace with a contempt for his own llife. A new British agent appears. Monique has a more central role as Albert is only a bit part for he central episodes. Expect a few battle sequences as the German grip on power diminishes. This does not necessarily make life any easier for the central characters, however, as they face new dangers from many sides. Who will survive and what will happen?

All the old tension and suspence remains. Excellent drama.

The only canard I would have with this concerns certain events in the last episode. Experts on WW2 will tell whether this type of thing ever went on (if you've seen it, you'll know what I mean but newcomers will not welcome plot spoilers). I know that discipline and corruption were issues for the allied forces in newly liberated Europe, but what happens here seems very unlikely indeed.It does serve to show a major character in a very poor light indeed, but as to why the others, who are not his natural friends, go along with it, seems very far fetched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Army, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have the whole series and enjoyed watching it all the way through. It has a good story line. The only thing I didnt like was the background music in the second and third series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best BBC series ever, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Service delivery was very good and exceeded my expectations.

Loved this product as secret army is a truly classic and memorable bbc series. Totally brilliant. Memorable tense story lines and great acting. I recommend viewing of all 3 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Army - Series 3, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm glad I purchased the final series. Excellent and compelling viewing, very "moreish". The characters maintain their believeability right to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great 70s war time drama, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Great 70s war time drama which i remember when growing up ,excellent cast and storylines once you have watched the the first series you have to watch the rest excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complete series 3, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Not seen all of these yet as I also bought series 2 at the same time . But hey, can't wait to see if they are as good as the others I've bought .:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD]
Secret Army - The Complete BBC Series 3 [DVD] by Bernard Hepton (DVD - 2008)
£23.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews