Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars10
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2012
A very interesting account of what turned out to be the last days of three of the most powerful royal house's in Europe, brought to life by some great actors and actress's, sad to say several of which are no longer with us.
One of the best Historical series on TV, very enjoyable
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
I am a history buff, concentrating mainly on military history and the 20th in particular.

Before I watched Fall of Eagles, I expected a boring historical TV show, what I got is one of the most enthralling TV experiences in my life. The show just sucks you in in the machinations, manipulations of the characters. The acting was superb top notch and the theatre like set pieces lent greatly to the atmosphere. Also the show is very much historical in its accuracy. Let's just say that the main theme of the show what goes around comes around, you reap what you sow. The Euro monarchy fell because of their own ambitions, greed and stupidity.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Almost the ultimate costume drama with some of the cast bearing an almost uncanny resemblance to the characters that they were portraying.

Apart from this there seem to be serious gaps. In the very first epsode, based in the 1880s, the Grand Duchess remarks "the vultures of revolution are gathering".

So what did she mean? We never hear any real further details of the causes of the "vultures of revolution gathering" and the disquiet in any country which thirty years later ended in a devastating war. Just what were these advance warnings of the obviously gathering social unrest?

The only serious cause of unrest ever referred to is the well known Lenin inspired Russian Revolution, which eventuallly lead to the downfall of the Tsar.

At the end of the war the only monarch of a country that took part in WW1 and still on his feet at the end is the UKs George Vth. What did he do, or didn't do, that ensured the survival of the UK monarchy?

I had hoped to learn more about the increasing unrest under all three of these families and this just didn't happen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
A simply splendid series about four European dynasties - Austro-Hungarian Empire, Russia, Germany and England. Riveting watching. Long and perfectly acted. A great history lesson too, leading up to World War I, the Kaiser's errors, and the Russian Revolution. Shows too what a fine statesman Edward VII was - much more than is usually realised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Another great historical drama this time regarding the death rattle of European empire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Very old fashioned would benefit from being done again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
this historical fresco has something of an early soap!well put in scene and nice views!and the events are really history and can learn you many hidden secrets of these monarchs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
The whole subject has been approached in a simplistic way reducing complicated situations to a very basic approach. The acting was mixed to say the least (at times wooden), and the characterisation lacking in subtlety. A very disappointing DVD
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Ordered DVd on Thursday and received it on the following Saturday,thats what I call first class service,hav`nt viewed film yet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)