Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Revelation!
This is a great book for those who are familiar with the Mass, and those not-so familiar.
Scott Hahn gives a fasinating insight into the origins of the liturgy, which has helped me to appreciate the Mass and my contribution to it. Although he readily points out that this is not new - indeed the early Church Fathers taught this - he presents the subject in a manner...
Published on 28 Nov 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ALOVELY STORY
THIS BOOK I REALLY CANNOT REVIEW. I PURCHASED IT FOR A FRIEND AS A GIFT. THE FEEDBACK FROM THE READER WAS GOOD. IT WAS A BOOK SHE HAD WANTED TO READ FOR SOME TIME.
Published 13 months ago by CEPH LESTER.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Revelation!, 28 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This is a great book for those who are familiar with the Mass, and those not-so familiar.
Scott Hahn gives a fasinating insight into the origins of the liturgy, which has helped me to appreciate the Mass and my contribution to it. Although he readily points out that this is not new - indeed the early Church Fathers taught this - he presents the subject in a manner which makes you ask the question: "This is simple, so why haven't I heard this from my priest?"
The Book of Revelation does appear to be full of weird and strange stuff that Joe Layman would consider to be futuristic, but now it makes more sense. Friends and family (Catholic and non-Catholic alike) have been surprised by what is presented in this book, but they see the connection. Some non-Catholic Christian friends of mine are now asking themselves if the Reformation threw the baby out with the bath water.
This is a darn good read, and provides a strong resource for Bible Study. But don't just copy it - question it, research it, and debate it!
This book also complements other material by Scott Hahn; A Father Who Keeps His Promises (book), and The Book of Revelation - Bible Study (tape series).
Go on ... BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 26 Mar 2004
Once again Scott Hahn has been used by the Lord to Bring the Truths and Mysteries of the Gospel to the people. In the book Scott Hahn brings us right back to Genisis and forward to Revelation. He breaks down the whole Mass, The Biblical basis of the Mass, the signifcance of the Mass and the Power that we recieve or that can also come "against" us in the Mass. If you want to know the Biblical truths of the Mass, how it has come since the apostles and where it stands in our Faith and everything else there is to know about it, Buy this Book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 26 Feb 2010
This is the most incredible book I have ever read and I doubt I will ever read another book as amazing as this one. Totally essential for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lambs Supper a must read, 26 Sep 2010
By 
Mrs. J. M. Atkinson "J.M. Atkinson" (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best book I have ever read about the Lambs Supper or The Lords Table or Holy Communion or Mass.
What a must read for all Christians; I could not put it down I just had to read it through, yet I never wanted to come to the end of the book because it is so very good! Thoughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Amazing!!, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you only ever read one book on the Mass, make it this! The book will bring you to a greater understanding, appreciation and love for the Mass, which is Heaven on Earth.
Scott Hahn also goes through the book of Revelation, showing you how it is describing the Liturgy. And explains other biblical and historical details of Revelation.
The best book I have ever read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharing His Majesty, 1 May 2009
By 
I love Scott Hahns books, because they broaden the concepts and give some depth and meaning to the age long tradition of christianity. He writes with such knowledge and inspiration that I find every page fascinating and love its devotion to Catholic teaching. It's hard to find such vivid and animated writing anywhere. I have very little knowledge of theology, history and traditions of spirituality, but find these books integrate themes in such a way that I am caught up in the story and can't wait to see whats over the page! (92)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creative and brilliant introduction to the Mass, 2 April 2007
I'm normally not a fan of Scot Hahn (thus the Churlish 4 stars) but this book is creative, brilliant, speculative and an entirely orthodox engagement with the Mass. It should be read by Catholics who have forgotten the radicality of the Mass and others who never realised this radicality to begin with. This book shows Hahn at his best, he has so much creativity and talent and when e unleashes this creativity in the service of the Church the results are spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a revelation about the Catholic faith, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scott Hahn makes the connection between heaven and earth seem so obvious and explains in simple terms why the Catholic Mass makes sense of the often mysterious book of Revelations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Peter (Cheadle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looking for the truth? This is it.
Looking to enrich your experience at mass? This will do it.
Looking for for heaven on earth? It's here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The LAMBS SUPPER a must read, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it is an amazing book ,wonderful insight into the book of Revelations and the the wonder of the Holy Mass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews