Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPERIOR ROMANTIC THRILLER
Generally speaking, I'm not a great fan of remakes and stepping into Hollywood legend Steve McQueen's shoes in what many considered to be a classic film would perhaps seem like an odd career move. However, Pierce Brosnan pulls it off with great style and I would go as far to say that although Pierce Brosnan may never reach the iconic status of Hollywood wild man Steve...
Published on 20 Sep 2002 by Mr. N. Carnegie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good customer service
The DVD itself is not entirely satisfactory as towards the last 30 minutes of the film it keeps jumping and slipping, missing several words etc. I decided not to send back and live with it as I had rather a lot of trouble acquiring it in the first place. When I ordered it, as you can see, the cover was in English and I assumed wrongly that I would get an English...
Published 8 months ago by Jubby


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy successor to the original film, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
A well made film with Brosnan and Russo sliding perfectly in the lead roles creating a relationship that keeps the viewer wondering what their agendas really are. McTiernan's strong direction is evident in this film along with an excellent soundtrack from Bill Conti. It has to be said that the twists and turns at the end of the film help to focus the attention of the viewer and makes the whole tale more far more interesting and complex. Faye Dunaways cameo appearence as Crown's physiciatrist is used to great effect in showing how deep Crown's character really is from the begining of the movie, as opposed to being the relativly pointless appearence of an actor from the original movie. All these factors put together suceed in making the Thomas Crown Affair a movie well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hi I really enjoyed this film it had extremely good Actors' in it ..., 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi I really enjoyed this film it had extremely good Actors' in it that his one of the reasons why I got this film.
Thanks Del.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Happy but not extatic., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately the DVD catches through the movie. And the case broke, probably while shipped here. Other than that I am happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, Amusing, Entertaining, 1 Dec 2008
I loved this movie. Even though the 1968 movie with Steve McQueen as Thomas Crown and Faye Dunaway as Vicki Anderson (the Catherine Banning characater in this version)was great, I enjoyed this one more. Faye Dunaway appears as the psychiatrist in this version. Pierce Brosnan plays the Thomas Crown character with the right amount of style and mischievousness and with his cool, calculating reserve makes a good counterpart to Rene Russo's exuberant but equally intelligent insurance investigator (Catherine Banning). The repartee between her and Crown and Detective McCann (Dennis Leary) provides a lot of the energy for the movie. Brosnan and Russo manage to create a strong sexual and romantic tension as well. Scenes of sailing and events in Martinique provide some pleasing visual footage. Crown steals Monet's painting, San Georgio Maggiore At Dusk, worth $100,000,000 and the movie takes off from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent couple of fabulous actors, funny script and dialogue. I can't get enough of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and entertaining, 20 Sep 2008
Lost count how many times I've watched this over the years but it remains a really entertaining film combining great cinematic scenery, characterisation and plot. It is a fine remake of a classic and Brosnan's performance is especially good. He plays Thomas Crown brilliantly and certainly keeps the determined Rene Russo on her toes!

What makes the film for me is the art and the detectives, who always seem to be second guessing Crown's next move. Even more brilliant is the unforgettable museum scene near the end. A fine film that can be revisited many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, Slick and Cool, 10 Mar 2000
John McTierman's remake of the McQueen/Dunaway original is very clever and better than the original and Entrapment(Another film with a similar but weak plot).It is well scripted and well acted by Brosnan (whose character you imagine is similar to himself in real life)and Russo. It makes you want to smile at the clever and slick ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sep 2014
BROUGHT THIS AS A PRESENT AS MY DAUGHTER LOVES PIERCE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aspirational, good actors, good dialogue, great music, 11 Mar 2005
I always find the original better than the remake. This movie is no exception, but it certainly has its merits. Actually, it is a movie in its own right.
The script does not try to emulate its illustrious predecessor, it only gets inspired by it. Multimillionaire Crown (Brosnan) gets bored by his M&A deals and seeks a thrill. He doesn't get it from sailing (brilliant scene), golfing, dealmaking (obviously), extensive dating (seen the portraits on his bedside table), collecting art (Magritte - the surrealist [good irony]), or gliding (great scene). He gets it from crime - theft of a painting. On his tail is insurance sleuth Catherine Banning (Russo).
The acting is very good. Brosnan is more alive here than in the Bond movies, he seems to enjoy both his role and his part in producing the movie. He seems believable, more so than McQueen was in the original. Russo is sultry, better than you've ever seen her before (Ransom, Tin Cup) and she oozes sexual chemistry with Brosnan.
The dialogue has been updated to meet the PC 90s and surpasses the screenplay in inuendos. The chess scene and latin dance scene are sheer delight. One downer, though, the PC brigade found it necessary to change the way Crown treats Banning after they've slept together. It takes somewhat the edge off from Crown as a ruthless egomaniac playboy - but, I can live with that.
Better than all this is the music. I bought the US soundtrack which contains the Oscar winning title song by Sting. The instrumental piano pieces by Bill Conti are my absolute favourites and have an incredible relaxing effect, they take you back to the glider scene. Wasis Diop was a great discovery, although Everything is probably his best song to date.
All in all, a good movie - one to watch with your other half whilst enjoying a good glass of bubbly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very suave Pierce Brosnan film, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good Film and Pierce Brosnan is lovely in it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas Crown Affair [Blu-ray] [1999] [US Import]
Thomas Crown Affair [Blu-ray] [1999] [US Import] by Denis Leary (Blu-ray - 2010)
Used & New from: £7.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews