Customer Reviews


255 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, distressing, captivating and gripping all at the same time.
Throughout The Road, we're given brief flashbacks of what life was like immediately after the unspecified disaster that rendered the world a wasteland, but cleverly, we're never told exactly what it was. All we know is that there was fire, disturbing clouds of thundering smoke pouring up off hillsides in clouds so vast they take up the entire horizon, and that dust and...
Published on 6 Oct. 2010 by Benminx

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read The Book Instead
Do yourself a favour - save your pennies and buy the stunningly brilliant book by Cormac McCarthy. The film however (and I am a huge Viggo-Phile too!) was just slash-your-wrists draggingly depressingly gloomy. Phew! I just couldn't bring myself to care about the Father & Son (I think Kody McPhee was hugely miscast in this movie. A fine young actor with promise - just...
Published on 21 Nov. 2010 by T. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, distressing, captivating and gripping all at the same time., 6 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Road [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Throughout The Road, we're given brief flashbacks of what life was like immediately after the unspecified disaster that rendered the world a wasteland, but cleverly, we're never told exactly what it was. All we know is that there was fire, disturbing clouds of thundering smoke pouring up off hillsides in clouds so vast they take up the entire horizon, and that dust and ash seems to still be raining from the sky many years later. It's a decision that defines the rest of the film as well, as the easy option is never taken in the way the story is told. In Viggo Mortensen and Charlize Theron's emotional scenes between their characters 'the Man' and 'Woman', everything is underplayed which only enhances the gravity of the terrible situation they're going through. Nobody has the energy for melodramatics in this starving, thirsty, destroyed world. But they still feel everything.
The bulk of the movie is purely 'The Man' and his son 'Boy' played by Kodi Smit-McPhee travelling, trying to walk to their destination and find water and food along the way. This is harder than it sounds as all of the water is polluted (there's clearly not enough spare to wash, as all the characters are filthy throughout), the crops and animals have all died, and raiders scour the landscape in violent groups, looking to capture and eat the unwary. They feel more real in this film than in many others, desperate 'survivalist' type men and women in rag-tag groups with beaten up vehicles and whatever weapons are still working, who view killing and eating other people as little more than a distasteful version of cattle-herding for survival. Other humans are a constant source of fear and mistrust throughout the film and this is very effectively conveyed.
As the film is largely a three-hander (the Man and Boy for the majority, with flashbacks to The Man and Woman for several scenes as well), it helps that the performances are so good. Mortensen feels like a very tired but practical man trying to remain good in a terrible world. Smit-McPhee feels every bit the confused, playful, distracted child that he plays, occasionally heartbreakingly vulnerable and small in the face of terrifying violence. The casting of the two actors is excellent, and as a result they're always convincing. Theron is sterling in a hard role as the frightened, bitter, hopeless Woman.
The design of the ruined world is consistently flawless - you always feel like they may be on a losing mission to survive, such is the sheer devastation and grime around them.
There are a couple of nice surprises along the way, and some joyfully human touches - mainly in the ways the characters react to other people. There are also some moments of serious tension. One set piece where they stumble into the wrong house is nerve shredding in its terrifying possibilities and the sustained tension and fear of being two normal people trapped in a house that's suddenly full of the enemy. Director John Hillcoat squeezes every last drip of tension out of it.
This is mostly a drama of hope, loss, survival and fear, and it's handled excellently. It's also peppered with cameos from famous actors playing characters so dirty and messed up it's hard to recognise them, including Robert Duvall and Guy Pierce.
It's emotionally challenging and hard viewing - I wouldn't bother watching it for a lad's night in or a date movie - but certainly well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


163 of 175 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very haunting and powerful movie, 11 Mar. 2010
By 
I Like Cheese - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Road [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the novel of The Road and also thoroughly enjoyed the adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's other novel No Country For Old Men [Blu-ray] [2007], so I couldn't wait to see this one. It stars Viggo Mortensen as "The Man" who has survived the apocalypse and is now taking care of his young son and trying to keep them both alive, struggling against exhaustion, starvation and cannibals. I knew from reading the book that this wouldn't be a happy film, in fact you couldn't get much further from it. That doesn't stop it from being an exciting and heartbreaking film exploring man's will to survive and the love that he has for his son.

The film is beautifully shot, being partly filmed in post-Katrina New Orleans (as well as Pennsylvania, Louisiana and Oregon, I believe), the scenery is bleak, cold and depressing and most importantly authentically destroyed land, but is equally breathtaking and extremely atmospheric. Acting from Mortensen and Kodi Smit-McPhee is very believable and their bond together did feel genuine to me and mirrored the characters of the novel perfectly. The story is just about survival a coping with the end of the world, basically - nothing more, nothing less. I particularly liked how you never really know why the whole of the human race has been wiped out, so that part of the story is left completely up to you to decide or guess.

The Road is a very haunting and quite powerful film that is very faithful to the novel, but didn't quite make the impact that the book did as it is always harder to feel what the characters do in a movie as opposed to using your own imagination when reading their emotions in a well written piece of literature. This is no fault of the film though, so don't let that put you off. I definitely rate this highly and will most certainly purchase it on Blu Ray or DVD when it is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The clocks stopped at 1:17, 9 Feb. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Road [DVD] (DVD)
The Road is directed by John Hillcoat (The Proposition) and written by Joe Penhall (Enduring Love). Based on the 2006 novel of the same name by American author Cormac McCarthy (No Country For Old Men), the film stars Viggo Mortensen and Kodi Smit-McPhee as a father and his son trying to survive in a post-apocalyptic world.

How do you sell such a sombre piece to the film loving public? I'm not sure I personally can, such is the whirly like emotions dominating my thoughts. OK, it's a grim and bleak film, of that there's no doubt. Director Hillcoat is not out to make a thrilling end of the world actioner. Staying faithful to McCarthy's novel, this is now a world where animal & plant life is practically extinct, where this particular part of America is lawless and populated by cannibal types. Humanity has long since left the arena. How we arrived at such desolation is not clear; intentionally so. We are now just witnessing the after effects of something world changing, the fall out involving us as we hit the road with man & boy.

Hillcoat and his cinematographer Javier Aguirresarobe have painted a clinically dead world from which to tell the story. Scorched soil is home to threadbare trees, the skyline punctured by the wreckage of man's progress passed, storms come and go as if to taunt the characters. It's a living hell that begs the question on why would anyone want to survive in it? So here's the thing that finally hit me like a sledgehammer some five days after watching the film, it's not just the bleakness of the apocalypse that gnaws away at you, it's also the expertly portrayed study of parenting. So emotively played by Mortensen, with Smit-McPhee essaying incredible vulnerability, it sinks the heart the longer the movie goes on. All of which is leading up to the ending, where we get something absorbing, revealing and utterly smart.

Tough viewing for sure, but compelling and thought provoking throughout. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone but this dark post-apocalyptic drama is well made, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Road [DVD] (DVD)
The Road is based on the award winning novel of the same name by Cormac McCarthy and a mostly faithful production to the book.

The film is a rather deep and bleak look at the main characters in the form of father and son Viggo Mortensen and Kodi Smit-McPheem both of whom have no actual names but are simply credited as "man and boy" respectively. This is a story of survival for the two, and how they cope with the aftermath of the disaster. There are no real answers given as to why civilisation has collapsed or why there are some "survivors" the film explores their journey and ultimately their quest for simple survival.

There are few other cast members, Charlize Theron is featured in flashbacks as the "man's wife", Robert Duvall plays and old man by the name of "Ely" the only name given during the entire film. Later in the film Guy Pearce and Molly Parker have minor roles the cast is small and concentrates mostly on the father and son.

Story wise it's really showing the journey of the two lead cast members "man and boy" this doesn't sound too exciting but they have numerous struggles, and some encounters with other survivors. Directed by John Hillcoat the film certainly excels in the moody and desperate/barren scenes conveying a collapse of society and a barren bleak landscape.

Both of the lead actors do an outstanding job of portraying their roles, not just in terms of the script but there are moments of little conversation and an air of despondency in the acting which isn't an easy thing to do. Sometimes just the facial expressions and tone of voice add significantly to the feel of the film. I found the ending quite good (don't expect a super happy conclusion a small tiny bit of optimism is there), but it's a film which isn't comfortable to watch at times it successfully pulls you into the no hope world the two find themselves in. Not a film to play if you're in an upbeat mood The Road makes no real attempt to lift the viewer it can at times be very heavy viewing.

Quite an unusual film in may ways credit to the team overall the atmosphere is right on the mark. This isn't a film all viewers will enjoy but I can't really fault the experience and story. Worth checking out if you are looking for something a bit off the beaten track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have young children this is a very disturbing film, 7 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Road [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very strange film. I normally prefer fast-paced action films, but this was a freebie on BTVISION so I watched it one afternoon. If you have young children the empathy you will feel for the child is very strong, making the film very hard to watch and at the same time compelling. That empathy makes the film very grim viewing, not in the "horror" (SAW/HOSTEL) sense, but in the emotional sense. And it's not Hollywood - the ending is not all sweetness and lightness. 5 stars because, at the ripe old age of 45, not sure I have ever had a cinematic experience like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read The Book Instead, 21 Nov. 2010
By 
T. Wright "2Wright" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road [DVD] (DVD)
Do yourself a favour - save your pennies and buy the stunningly brilliant book by Cormac McCarthy. The film however (and I am a huge Viggo-Phile too!) was just slash-your-wrists draggingly depressingly gloomy. Phew! I just couldn't bring myself to care about the Father & Son (I think Kody McPhee was hugely miscast in this movie. A fine young actor with promise - just not right for this role. His whiny child was so far removed from the strong character in the book that I wanted to shout at the screen when he was being naive - any child brought up in a post apocalyptic environment would not be as green as this about survival. You look at children in any warzone and they are street smart and survival savvy.) and whether they made it to the end of the movie or not (I also wondered whether my will to live would survive to the end of the movie or not!). Very disappointing. Classic books should never be made into movies. 3 stars for the scenic and atmospheric photography and Viggo's superior acting skills (and that's being very generous!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COULD THIS BE MANS FUTURE ?, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Road [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film follows a Father and Son, survivors in 'post apocalyptic' America, on their journey of despair, searching in hope rather than expectation of finding a better life, eating what scraps they find.
It's a World of very few survivors, trees dying,no crops, animals all but gone, desolation everywhere you look.
Fathers message to his young son, trust 'no man' he constantly tells his son 'we are 'the good people'
Many survivors have turned Cannibal are to survive, those who dont scavenge for the little that can be found.
It's a harrowing tale that has been sensively told, with a stunning performance from 'Viggo Mortensen' ( the father ) and 'Kody Smit-Mcphee ( the son )
Among other well known cast on-board - 'Robert Duvall' 'Guy Pearce' and 'Charlize Theron'
A dark glimse into our future ? ...who knows.
The film is a must-see, or indeed a re-visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The shape of things to come?, 11 Jun. 2010
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road [DVD] (DVD)
I found the road a very thought provoking film.How would we react in the situation of the world virtually destroyed.Would we become monsters or retain some of our civillisation,or just die or want to die miserably.It makes me think of an album I got recently called 'God is Busy,Save Yourself'.
It's not an action film or a happy film but one that raises the questions,what are we without nature and each other.Will our societies and religions survive us or just fade into time as we revert to a more animal state.Your money won't save you or your top job and neither will your good looks and then what's left.It just makes me think I want to protect the world for the generations to come so they don't need to face such a situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully crafted but horribly bleak, 28 Oct. 2014
By 
S. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not exaggerating or being "dramatic" or facetious when I say: if you watch this film be prepared to be down on life for a week or two.

The movie is built on the premise that planet Earth no longer supports life. There's no solvable problem for the protagonist and his son to work against, the two just spend the movie trying to avoid immediate death while slowly dying of starvation. They travel to the ocean because the inland winters are getting impossibly cold and they think the coast might be a little warmer but that's pretty much the extent of their "hope." The movie does have it's own version of father-son moments, like dad teaching his child the proper way to commit suicide (the scene plays out the way a father would teach his son to tie his shoes, or ride a bike, or shave, killing yourself is the new "essential skill" in the world of this film) if they ever find themselves surrounded by cannibals.

And it's important to point out that in this extreme situation, none of what we see is heightened or exaggerated for dramatic effect, it is all portrayed in the starkest most realistic manner possible. I'm being completely straight with you when I say that this movie will hit you and you will carry it with you for a while after watching it.

Right now I feel like a parent telling his child, "you should wait to have sex until you're really ready, but if you're going to do it despite my advice, at least use protection." I recommend steering clear of this movie, but if you absolutely must watch it, at least go in having braced yourself to be deeply affected in the most depressing way possible. In terms of "bracing yourself" it is impossible to be "too prepared" to watch this movie. You might even want to read a synopsis and spoil some of it for yourself so that you're not too heavily hit by some of the darker portions of the film.

While it's technically a beautifully crafted and well put together movie, I don't know a single person that I would recommend it to on the basis of taste and preference. It's so sickeningly bleak, if there is anyone out there who finds this movie to be "right up my alley," I surely wouldn't want to meet them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We're The Good Guys, They're The Bad Guys, 25 May 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Road [DVD] (DVD)
The stark, black and white, post-apocalyptic, world I pictured in my mind while reading Cormac McCarthy's 'The Road' is forever laid out in memory in the film by director, John Hillcoat. The real world after a series, of fires and disasters have destroyed the world we know, and 'The Road' is as visible a film as any I have seen.

Many rumors of this film and how it could never live up to the hype of the novel have been swirling through the Internet. What we have here is a masterpiece of a film. It is a powerful vision of a world ten years after some sort of disaster took over. The scenes were shot in post Katrina, New Orleans, Pittsburgh and what they call the 'Abandoned Pennsylvania Highway'. Into this harrowing world marches a man, played by Viggo Mortensen and his son, played by Kodi Smit-McPhee, trying to find their way to warmth. The coldness of the world is marked, and we can feel the chill. What they encounter is a horror filled world, one in which a group of cannibals keep a farm of humans with missing limbs in their basement. Gangs of marauders around every corner. We see their day to day existence, filthy as they march along, trying to scrape up food to keep alive. They find a house where a left over can of coke amazes the boy, he has never seen it before, and they gorge themselves with food before marching on once again. The stark reality of their life is measured against the gray world where everything is dying. And in this world, the man is teaching his son about goodness versus evil. What we come to see is that the love of this man for his son is the light that may keep this struggle alive. The absence of a God is evident. The pureness of the son may be the antidote.

Charlize Theron plays the mother in a small part, and she portrays the lack of hope that seems so evident throughout the film. Robert Duvall is the Old Man who conveys bits of wisdom. The son wants to help those who are crying for help, but his father tells him they must move on. They can only trust each other. This film is all about the father and his son. Viggo Mortensen is tremendous in this role, and he plays in every scene. The son is as he should be, watchful, hopeful, luminous at times.

The agony of the life that is left to the father and his son is conveyed with such realism. John Hillcoat has captured the feel and the look of the novel. It was difficult at times to keep watching, but then I had to watch. We all want the man and his son to succeed. They are our hope. "We're the good guys, they're the bad guys" is the message the father is conveying. But deep inside there is the hope that the boy and his father will find more.

Recommended. prisrob 05-24-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road [Blu-ray]
The Road [Blu-ray] by John Hillcoat (Blu-ray - 2010)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews