Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minor Blu-Ray Report
I never saw this film on first release and got to know it only now as a BD release. The first thing to say is that the sound quality is spectacular. Whether listening to the futuristic weapons and flying devices, the wild action sequences, or just about anything you remember from the film, there is a good chance that you will be very impressed by the power and clarity of...
Published on 11 Jun 2010 by Mr. Blu

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brainless Action Flick
This is probably the stupidest film I have ever seen, excessively long too. I wished I had seen the future and not wasted my time watching tiresome fighting and chase sequences and stupid scenes such as Cruise being trapped in a car assembly factory, inside a car being constructed, and then being able to speed away from danger in the freshly minted vehicle, while the...
Published 18 months ago by Johns


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minor Blu-Ray Report, 11 Jun 2010
I never saw this film on first release and got to know it only now as a BD release. The first thing to say is that the sound quality is spectacular. Whether listening to the futuristic weapons and flying devices, the wild action sequences, or just about anything you remember from the film, there is a good chance that you will be very impressed by the power and clarity of this HD soundtrack. The localisation of surround effects and the power chanelled to your subwoofer for Low Frequency Effects are also truly stunning.

What you will think of the video quality depends on your attitude to grain. Like "Saving Private Ryan" this is a film where Spielberg cultivated a grainy, almost grimy look at times, and HD makes grain more apparent! Having said that, I thought the film looked fantastic and accepted the grain, the somewhat reduced colours and occasionally unsettling contrasts as part of Spielberg's dystopic vision. None of this prevents the film from demonstrating exceptional sharpness in close-ups and giving a real sense of depth and plasticity to the image in mid-range shots and close-ups. There is no lack of detail, and that is the good side of grain. Remove the grain with DNR and you lose detail.

The film itself is packed with great perfomers, particularly Max von Sydow and Colin Farrell. It is a long-ish film but does not outstay its welcome, spinning a fascinating story with a perfect tempo and a generous smattering of twists and turns. The ethical issues it touches on are most compelling, even if they are in the end somewhat ducked by the nature of the film's resolution. I hope it's not a spoiler - (stop reading now if you don't know the plot and don't want to know anything about it) - to say that if the system had indeed been perfect then the moral questions would have been much more interesting.

A great film to watch and rewatch, sounding great in HD and looking great too. If you hate grain, switch your player's processing on and reduce it according to taste. For purists there is nothing to worry about.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minority Report - Steelbook UK Edition Blu-ray, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Minority Report Limited Edition Steelbook with Artcards [Blu-ray] [2002] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Packaging
- Loving the steelbook cover design, at least it was nicer a lot than normal UK edition or US edition which I found it look ugly. UK edition was release by Fox where the US edition was release by Paramount.
- Include 5 exclusive art cards, well printed and nice.
- BD is region Free which cover 3 regions A, B & C.
- Additional Digital Copy disc is included for iPod/iPhone or Windows Media format, you need a valid UK iTunes account before you can redeem on it for iPod/iPhone format.

Story
- For me this is by far the greatest movie act by Tom Cruise before he gone mad on Scientology.
- One of the best Steven Spielberg directing film.

Extra Features
- All new features is in HD quality and well done, I specifically loving the new added "The Future According to Steven Spielberg".
- "Minority Report: Commercials of the Future" is another nonsense but fun extra features, it did well like World of Precrime is really exist. ha! ha
- Old DVD features is included in SD quality as well in two categories "2002 features" & "archive".

Picture Quality
- Extremely well transfer in BD, even though this UK release is only 27GB for film itself & include the extra features in same disc which is by far means lower bit rate use than in US edition as film itself already hock up to 47GB and extra features all in 2nd disc.
- From web review, it seems not a big different in PQ at both conversion which you hardly notice the differences thus UK edition even eliminate a top & bottom "tramline" issue in US release. Well done Fox.
Slightly grain in acceptable level and best suite to the film.
- The color in overall has been change compare with what I seen previously on theater or DVD. Less bluish but well tones in overall, the new recolor which even more outstanding the film feel.

Audio Quality
- I don't own any HT or even a HTiB, Ops! , but the sound is already crazy outstanding even out only from TV speaker itself. Loving it!
- Ops! maybe I not qualified judge on this

A must have in BD collection. 10 out of 10 score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful high tech futuristic thriller, 8 April 2013
By 
Mr. G. Robinson "garyrobinson15" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Based on a short story by Philp K Dick, Minority Report is a tremendously exciting futuristic thriller from Steven Spielberg.

John Anderson (Cruise) a detective at Pre Crime (police who can see crimes happening before they actually happen) believes totally in the system and has no problem locking people up who haven't actually committed a crime, having been caught before the actual crime takes place. His world is turned upside down when he sees himself commit murder. He runs and becomes an outlaw.

With philosophical overtones about free will and the nature of freedom in a modern complex society Spielberg teases out a superb thriller full of tension, excitement and just knockout performances from Cruise, Colin Farrell and Max Von Sydow. The future world in which our story takes place is very recognisable, it's not too far in the future and as a result feels contemporary rather than science fiction. In my book that really cements the film in a reality that gives the drama an edge that may have been lost otherwise.

As you would expect there is plenty of thrilling action and the story itself is very satisfying. The special effects are superb as you would expect, but they do not overwhelm as sometimes great effects can. Shot with a certain look, the film sometimes looks over bleached or overexposed. This was a deliberate decision on the part of the filmmakers and was used again later on War of the Worlds, however with less satisfying results.

Minority Report is tremendous fun and never lags. At 139 minutes it's quite long but the action and story never let up. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars minority report dvd, 8 Feb 2012
loved the film even though i am not a tom cruise fan, well worth the buy excellent quality in blue ray, well worth buying would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superlative Blu-ray Presentation Improves Spielberg's Best 'Adult' Film Further Still, 16 July 2011
I really like this film. It is a superlative sci-fi story (inspired by a short novel from the hugely gifted, imaginative and influential author Philip K Dick - also responsible for the storylines to other classic movies such as 'Blade Runner' and 'Total Recall', to name just two) brought to life with plot embellishments, superb special-effects and the talented directorial touch of the 'modern-day' master, Steven Spielberg.

Already the owner of 'Minority Report' on DVD, I was uncertain how much it could be improved by an HD transfer as the picture is so inherently (and intentionally) grainy, 'shiny' (for want of a better description !) and washed-out. I needn't have worried: to my amazement even an upscaled DVD playback is blown out of the water by what we see and hear on Blu-ray, even when considering the DVD was perfectly acceptable and had the option of a thumping DTS 5.1 soundtrack. Add to this the bonus of additional 'extra' material on the disc (all too often Blu-ray issues don't add anything new) and the digital copy my version had on a 2nd disc and the 'upgrade' is essential to get the most out of what I think is Spielberg's best film.

'Minority Report' sits firmly in the mature/adult section of the Spielberg collection, alongside other notable productions such as 'Saving Private Ryan', 'Schindler's List' and 'Munich' (for example). The storyline is portrayed in a gritty, often ruthless manner without ever really relying on gore or bad language (only once is a swear word uttered) - but there is violence and the overall premise of murder obviously ensures it is not the typical Spielberg type of family entertainment - hence the '12' viewing classification...

Considering the complexity of the overall premise, the start to the story is actually quite simple. Centred on Washington DC around the middle of the 21st century, the local murder-rate has gradually been reduced to zero as the population became fully aware of the repercussions courtesy of a specialized police department which is able to act on precognition 'visions'/thoughts and hence thwart the act before it is committed. This 'pre-crime' department is headed by the flawed/disturbed personality of Captain John Anderton (played by Tom Cruise, for once excelling in a serious acting role) and relies on the crime warnings by 3 so-called 'pre-cogs' - a woman and twin brothers who have had their precognition abilities exploited, to the detriment of them leading 'normal 'lives.

And to avoid spoiling things for first-time viewers (of which I hope there will be many), that's just about all I'm going to explain - except to add that after that opening situation things rapidly go horribly wrong (of course !), on many fronts, as several sordid and disturbing secrets are revealed which provoke ruthless conspiracy and (despite the pre-cogs !) murder. Please read the Amazon synopsis and entries elsewhere if you want to learn more than you need to before watching the movie !

IMHO, please don't believe what you might read elsewhere: this film has no plot-holes (though some situations might be inexplicable they are NOT errors in themselves) and on Blu-ray offers a major improvement over DVD. Yes, I've read the various chat-lines and am left amazed how some people can criticise a story when they have clearly misunderstood either what they have seen or, worse still, 'invented' proceedings in the film (in their own mind apparently) to support their 'theories'; another example of a film afflicted by such misguided maligning would be 'Knowing'....

As already hinted at, developing the presentational style first seen in 'Saving Private Ryan' then latterly, the much underestimated, 'A.I. Artificial Intelligence' this film has an unusual grainy/washed-out type of appearance with a relatively low contrast - which is not to say it is unpleasant, it's just different from most films. However, the specifics of what you see are superb, with the special-effects as a result seeming less 'obvious' or prominent - to make everything appear totally realistic. The portrayal of a future metropolis, lifestyle, inherent technologies and the various pieces of hardware/vehicles are fantastic.

The many action (ie fight) scenes are also, naturally, quite superb - being choreographed to the usual high level we have come to expect of Spielberg. Curiously however, he was unable to maintain 100% the 'straight' nature of the action with a number of chirpy one-liners included for the more eccentric characters we see, as well as some of his trademark visual gags (look out for an unusual way to grill some beef burgers !). He obviously just couldn't stop himself putting them in.....

Yes, Cruise for once impressed me in a serious role (and thankfully he has continued in a similar vein since) with the addition of (European) notables Max von Sydow, Colin Farrell and Samantha Morton really playing their part to ensure the right level of gravitas and mystery prevails throughout. Finally, the often uncredited support provided by a forceful, but often very lyrical, orchestral musical soundtrack from the ubiquitous John Williams ensures maximum enjoyment; I don't think he has ever written a finer, more varied score...

On Blu-ray the picture is elevated to another level of clarity; everything is noticeably more vivid and sharp. The massive improvement was, for me, not perceived or imagined as I checked by comparing it with the DVD side-by-side. The improvement in audio side is far less significant as the DVD DTS soundtrack is already very good; the Blu-ray English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 offering is no more forceful, but as expected it adds a noticeably wider spatial effect and is a little bit clearer to my ear.

Extras are significantly improved (still no Spielberg commentary though, as usual): there are a load more featurettes and an interactive facility - all as yet uninvestigated but they look promising...

This Blu-ray issue shows what can be done with just a single disc and a bit of effort: an already excellent, intelligent thriller is given the HD treatment to great effect with the bonus of new material in the 'extras' department. 'Minority Report' was already a hugely enjoyable and entertaining film, it is now as good as it gets !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brainless Action Flick, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Johns (South-East England) - See all my reviews
This is probably the stupidest film I have ever seen, excessively long too. I wished I had seen the future and not wasted my time watching tiresome fighting and chase sequences and stupid scenes such as Cruise being trapped in a car assembly factory, inside a car being constructed, and then being able to speed away from danger in the freshly minted vehicle, while the baddies watch on powerlessly.

It is at least well made rubbish, so perhaps deserves two stars instead of one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sci-Fi, 14 May 2006
By 
Mr. RB FORTUNE-WOOD "Rowan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Minority Report is one of those rare films that really does incite thought. Strongly philosophical, political and sociological it deals with a variety of complex issues that the majority of Hollywood films shy away from, e.g. determinism, justice and authority. It's also highly entertaining and superbly acted, with, as you might expect, first rate direction. The plot is fast paced, gripping, fluent, and avoids becoming episodic or didactic as many Sci-Fi films are. Whilst the action scenes are nothing special, they do keep you absorbed and are not overdone.

Steven Spielberg and Tom Cruise are both at their best in this highly rewarding movie, definitely a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Languages / Subtitles, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Giorgio (Como (CO), Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Languages: English DTS-HD 5.1; Italiano DTS 5.1; Castellano DTS 5.1.

Subtitles: English HOH; Italiano; Castellano; Greek; Dansk; Suomi; Norsk; Svenska; Hrvatski; Slovenski; Russian; Islenska; Hebrew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Spielberg films, 26 Nov 2002
By A Customer
If you've read the other reviews which are quite critical towards this film, and seem perturbed, don't. It's a highly underated movie and should have been a box ofice hit. Maybe the real reason some people don't rate it highly is because Tom Cruise is in it, aka Vanilla Sky, or because people have such greater expectations for a Spielberg film than any other it causes them to lose focus on the real qualities of a film.
The plot, effects, and acting are all top notch, and I must praise Spielerg for realism. It's one of those movies that doesn't leave you there thinking about how well the actors are acting, or how well the effects have been done, or why has the storyline been done like this etc. You'll be sitting there watching the movie and have the upmost interest in what happens.
The length of the movie is just about perfect. If you're one of those people who thinks a good movie should be a long one, such as 'The Deer Hunter', or 'The Godfather', then you'll appreciate the length of Minority Report. It got to a point about half-way through the movie where it was threatening to end, and did so several times there onwards, but Steve didn't fail us, I was enjoying the movie so much I was only happy to see the movie carry on a little extra than expected.
Overall a great movie, possibly in the top 10 movies i've ever seen.
Get. The. DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch without prejudice, 1 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Spielburg is certainly a sentimentalist, and not the most obvious choice of director to transfer Philip K. Dick's noirish paranoia and incisive irony to the big screen. But sorry, folks - it works! This is his best film since Jaws - a tremendous thriller (and if you Dick fans out there refuse to believe that your idol wrote thrillers, read Now Wait For Last Year again - it ought to be a movie, too, and I for one would cheer if Spielburg were to direct it. Those of you who believe there is no overarching morality in Dick's novels are also deeply mistaken: Dick's socialist conscience is apparent in everything he writes). Constant quirky explorations of the limits of human perception make this film the most disconcerting and funny of Spielburg's career, and he comes much closer to the spirit of Kubrick in it than he did in AI. Flaws? All right, I'd have prefered a darker ending - but the family coda is beautifully handled, and the darker implications are never sacrificed entirely to it. I can imagine a much, much worse handling that the Spielburg of ten years ago might have considered. Don't be put off by the Spielburg haters: this isn't ET or Saving Private Ryan - it's an intellegent film by a talented director at the height of his powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews