Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FINE COLLECTION OF MATT MONRO STAR TRACKS
Although not comparable with Matt's 130 song /5CD anthology THE COMPLETE SINGLES COLLECTION this compilation boasts twenty-five songs with PORTRAIT OF MY LOVE, SOFTLY AS I LEAVE YOU, FROM RUSSIA WITH LOVE and BORN FREE amongst the included hits, so is obviously aimed towards the more casual buyer looking for a typical Monro collection. It certainly fills that need by...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by A. POLLOCK

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadfully disappointing.
Matt Munro - terrific voice, terrific delivery, a very much underrated and underused singer.
The material on this album - nothing but classic songs, it should be a knockout.
Trouble is, the arrangements were all written by his barber or something; nothing but sickening, saccharine strings, poured over like treacle over a steak.
The arrangements ruined this...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Mr. Simon O'riordan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FINE COLLECTION OF MATT MONRO STAR TRACKS, 18 Feb 2010
By 
A. POLLOCK (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Although not comparable with Matt's 130 song /5CD anthology THE COMPLETE SINGLES COLLECTION this compilation boasts twenty-five songs with PORTRAIT OF MY LOVE, SOFTLY AS I LEAVE YOU, FROM RUSSIA WITH LOVE and BORN FREE amongst the included hits, so is obviously aimed towards the more casual buyer looking for a typical Monro collection. It certainly fills that need by adding UNCHAINED MELODY, FOR ALL WE KNOW and SPANISH EYES to the mix; not forgetting the television commercial-utilised THIS IS THE LIFE and THE IMPOSSIBLE DREAM plus what I consider to be one of Matt's crowning achievements WHEN I FALL IN LOVE. However, EMI has also sneakily added the previously unreleased Bacharach/David opus I'LL NEVER FALL IN LOVE AGAIN as marketing bait to provide the necessary carrot to tempt his many admirers to fork out their pennies to grab a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories for my late Dad, 1 Aug 2013
By 
CocoLoco (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Bought this as Matt Monroe was so popular when my Mum & Dad married over 50 years ago. Mum & I decided to play a few of their songs at his funeral.
As I'm from a different generation, this is my first experience with Monroe and I found it very pleasant. Given the circumstances I'll be listening to it every now and again.
Fast delivery, good clear sound, all his best songs. Recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Michael Jones (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (MP3 Download)
My wife has always liked the voice of Matt Monro and so this was a perfect present. . Most of his best known songs are on it and the remastered ones are excellent.He certainly had a very silky voice delivered in a relaxed style of singing. I never realised until researching him how big he was in the States one of the few Brits to make it over there especially given his style of singing . Seems though, yet again, that he owed most of his success to George Martin. What a music producer he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stepping back in time, 17 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
An absolute must have for all matt monro lovers, this album ive bought as a christmas gift, and thanks to amazon once again for having the best prices and choices on line, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt was the best, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
For my money, Matt Monroe was the best British singer of his generation and the songs he was given to sing were just magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
Matt Monro is just amazing. Such clear diction and he never shouts. He has a smooth, lovely controlled voice and I love all the songs on this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
This is the second Cd we have purchased as we lost the first one. A good CD with all the best songs and they are reproduced well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (Audio CD)
This was a gift for an older person but you don't have to be elderly to appreciate the smooth, silky voice of Matt Monro. His music is timeless and stirs the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (MP3 Download)
I loved every second of this album. It brought back so many happy memories of my childhood and teenage years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious voice, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest (MP3 Download)
Easy listening, memorable songs. Anyone who enjoys listening to a REAL singer will appreciate this compilation. Unfortunately his life and career were too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest
The Greatest by Matt Monro
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews