Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crabby no more!
After waiting several years for this on R2, and being put off by the exorbitant R1 prices, here we have a home grown release of a classic 50 cent (not not him) Roger Corman creature feature. Fears that at this price all we'd get is a rubbish public domain rip proved unfounded - I'm pleased to report that the picture quality's pretty good. No extras but I'm not...
Published on 5 May 2010 by D. Dent

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awful
Not one of the better monster movies from the era, but worth a look at if you just want a laugh
Published on 17 July 2011 by Michael J. Rossiter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crabby no more!, 5 May 2010
By 
D. Dent "David Dent" (West Dulwich, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack Of The Crab Monsters [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
After waiting several years for this on R2, and being put off by the exorbitant R1 prices, here we have a home grown release of a classic 50 cent (not not him) Roger Corman creature feature. Fears that at this price all we'd get is a rubbish public domain rip proved unfounded - I'm pleased to report that the picture quality's pretty good. No extras but I'm not complaining, and the film fair zips along at 60 minutes - James Cameron, are you reading this? Here's hoping that some of the more currently patchy public domain Corman releases - Night of the Blood Beast, Wasp Woman etc - get the same low cost better than average quality treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 8 May 2010
By 
Gary A. Smith (Palm Springs, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack Of The Crab Monsters [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
At last a legit DVD of Attack of the Crab Monsters! This movie has been absent from home viewing for far too long. It's one of the best of Roger Corman's early Sci-Fi films. More good news is that this is a good looking transfer (though not perfect) taken from the theatrical version and not the "expanded for TV showings" version.
And the price certainly can't be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grabbed by the crab, 22 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Attack Of The Crab Monsters [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
I somewhat reluctantly admit that I was entertained by this movie, "Attack by the Crab Monsters". It's not that bad, if you keep in mind that it was made by B-film guru Roger Corman in 1957.

A group of scientists on a remote island in the Pacific are attacked by a gigantic, intelligent and apparently telepathic crab. Another result of nuclear tests gone dangerously wrong. Several of the scientists speak with distinctly foreign accents. The Einstein stereotype? Or Operation Paperclip as usual?

The crab has the ability to "assimilate" the consciousness of its victims, a common science fiction plot device. Unfortunately, it doesn't assimilate the morality of the dead humans, just their raw intelligence. Thus, the monster destroys most radio equipment on the island in an attempt to stop the scientists from calling in the U.S. Navy for assistance.

As the mother of all mutant crabs systematically starts destroying the entire island, the remaining heroes discover the monster's only weak spot: it's sensitive to electricity....

OK, I feel forced to give these land crabs four stars, ha ha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I can grow a new claw in a day...", 13 May 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Attack Of The Crab Monsters [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
At one time we were able to do nuclear experiments on exotic islands. Naturally the next step is to examine what effect the experiments have on the marine life. When the scientists mysteriously disappear, a second expedition is sent out to look for them. What they find is not quite what they expected. They find a crabby enemy that can absorb the memories of those they eat. This is an absorbing movie. Will they survive or will the crabs feast on people legs. The real question is who are the smarter?

This is truly a Roger Corman movie. Russell Johnson makes a habit of being stranded on islands (the Professor in "Gilligan's Island) and the monsters are quite cute. I wonder if the crab monsters prefer Alaskan Kings and that is why Alaska only has governors. They have a strange diet of brains and radio tubes. The consumed people, become part of the crab, like what happened with the plant in "Little Shop of Horrors"

If you really like atomic bugs, then after this watch "Them!" (1954).

Them! ~ James Whitmore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can Grow a new Claw in a Day!!! Classic, lol., 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack Of The Crab Monsters [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
I don't know why but i love these old Crap B Movies, they bring just so much Joy to me!!! They are nearly always painfully Naff, with some of the worst Acting, Plots, Effects, Characters and Set up ever to grace the Movie Screen/World!!! And for this i will forever Love them. The plot is simple, Giant Mutant Crab Monsters caused by Nuclear Fallout from Atomic Bomb testing in the South Pacific, they eat people and gain their Knowledge and Voices, so as to trick their next victim! They cant be harmed or Killed by conventional means, and want to destroy Mankind and rule the World! As they always want do!!! lol. Anyway this is a truly Terrible Terrible Movie of Epic S***ness beyond belief, and i love it! A pure Drunken Mans Movie. Also in the Movie, when a team of Scientists arrive at the House they will be calling Home, while they conduct their Experiments, they start to unpack their Equipment and the Female Scientist who is a Marine Biologist unpacks the Kitchen supplies and sorts that out, Hilarious!!! How Sexist and 1950's, Love it! It is like "Hey Honey be a good little girl, and Run along to the Kitchen where you will be SAFE!!! and of some use, its a Big Scary World out there so stay near the Sink! and call us Men when Dinner is done! Now there's a good girl" Hilarious, it truly was a Mans World back them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awful, 17 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack Of The Crab Monsters [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
Not one of the better monster movies from the era, but worth a look at if you just want a laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attack Of The Crab Monsters [DVD] [1957]
Attack Of The Crab Monsters [DVD] [1957] by Roger Corman (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: £10.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews