Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake Up To The Truth Behind The Headlines
I'd like to think we're all shrewd enough to know that many tabloid headlines are nonsense but the degree to which news is exaggerated and manufactured is frightening. The celebrity obsessed culture that is ruining our media with a flood of banality and trivial non-news may seem nothing more than innocuous rubbish but the truth is far more sinister. Whilst never being...
Published on 22 Mar 2010 by Lee 33

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable
I'm quite perplexed by the many favourable reviews this documentary has received as I found it to be an entirely unremarkable examination of the attraction of fame. it's been touted as revelatory (and even revolutionary) but it's indistinguishable from any run-of-the-mill Channel 4 documentary. It occasionally flirts with serious issues such as the debatable benefits of...
Published 2 months ago by M. Marshall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake Up To The Truth Behind The Headlines, 22 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I'd like to think we're all shrewd enough to know that many tabloid headlines are nonsense but the degree to which news is exaggerated and manufactured is frightening. The celebrity obsessed culture that is ruining our media with a flood of banality and trivial non-news may seem nothing more than innocuous rubbish but the truth is far more sinister. Whilst never being dull or preachy this film is both hilarious and frightening at times. Very thought provoking and very entertaining. Not often you can say that about a film. Considering the multitude of major media corporations this film targets the director Chris Atkins (nominated for a BAFTA for the groundbreaking Taking Liberties) has got some real balls and immense integrity to release this at all. It was superb at the cinema but the DVD promises heaps of extra footage they couldn't cram into the movie in the form of DVD extras. So - go buy the film Max Clifford and Rupert Murdoch tried to stop with an injunction (what higher recommendation could there be?!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 Stars from the Sunday Telegraph, 12 Mar 2010
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
British Documentarist Chris Atkins' Starsuckers is an urgent deconstruction of the fame game, and sets out the tools used to get us hooked on celebrity... this is celebrity as the well groomed face of consumerism, and there's something thrilling in the way the film exposes what might once have seemed attractive as ugly in it's methods and motives. Like Michael Moore, Atkins is wholly at ease with pop culture, makes shrewd use of archive footage, and has a fondness for the revealing stunt.... There's unbridled rage at the hijacking of the Make Poverty History campaign by the self promoting stars of Live8. Smuggled into cinemas by unknown distributors, rich with hidden camera footage and boldly naming names, Starsuckers looks like the work of revolutionaries: a precision skewering of a global epidemic of narcissism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should see this film, 17 Nov 2012
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A great film reflecting modern media manipulating of the masses. Very relevant and revealing. It cost a lot more in the high street than amazon. Shows how the papers and big organised media show doesn't really control it's own animal and anything can be reported without editorial control. It reflects the sycophantic obsessed with no talent celebrity world we live in now. Recommended highly. A must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly informative, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Starsuckers was a brilliantly researched and at times shockingly alarming documentary. I thoroughly enjoyed watching it and would definitely recommend it to anybody who either loves or despises celebrity culture. It is incredibly eye opening and gives a completely new perspective on the effect media and tabloid news has on our lives and those close to us, especially the young. The extras were great too especially the interview with the Morrissey fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be compulsory viewing, 17 May 2010
By 
Ian Armer (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
As somebody who is casually involved with 'media types' and the loathed 'creative industries' (read: middle men making money out of people's unrealised aspirations and dreams), STARSUCKERS pretty much says it all about the fame obssessed media industry that is dominating our lives and why it is nigh well impossible for anybody to genuinely 'make it'. A carefully controlled mind game we all play into because it is such a massive part of our daily lives. It's also a relatively simple form of control. The cancerous idea that if you're not famous, you're nobody.

There's little I can add to the other reviews on this page other than my support of this documentary. It should be compulsory viewing in schools and every household across the country. Fame, celebrity, "success", the media and its stars are the biggest spiritual and emotional cancer ruining lives in the modern world. Wake up, watch this and have your worst fears confirmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable, 9 Sep 2014
By 
M. Marshall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I'm quite perplexed by the many favourable reviews this documentary has received as I found it to be an entirely unremarkable examination of the attraction of fame. it's been touted as revelatory (and even revolutionary) but it's indistinguishable from any run-of-the-mill Channel 4 documentary. It occasionally flirts with serious issues such as the debatable benefits of celeb-heavy charity events but for the most part it's as vapid and inconsequential as its subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent topical documentary, 3 Jun 2013
By 
J0n G (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Very topical, especially for those who are interested in what Lord Leveson has said about the Press. I found the first part, which deals with children in showbiz, rather tedious but after that the film becomes much more interesting and deals with the dishonest way that news stories are gathered and presented to us. An important and very worthwhile piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mis-Information, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This documentary is not about Starbucks. It is about the media and misInformation and celebrities. THe last 20 minutes of this brilliant documentary is about Bono, bob Geldolf, tony Blair and Live Aid. In the documentary Bob Geldolf said Live Aid generated £65 billion for the poor in Africa during the last 25 years. According to the journalists in the documentary only £7 billion of that money reached the poor in Africa.

Of all the bands that played in the G8 London concerts in 2005, Pink Floyd saw their album sales increase by a whopping 1476%. All other musicians who played in London that night saw a hefty increase in album sales on the back of that famous gig. Needless to say back in 1985 many musicians and their egos earned alot of free publicity from Live Aid. Watch Bono on Youtube and see how he behaved on stage in 1985, when U2 were just some Irish band.

Also in 1985 hundreds of thousands of Ethiopians were told to leave thier homes and move into rural areas (camps) because that is where the food was to be delivered. The shocking thing is that the ruling Government in Ethiopia believed that hundreds of thousands of people were suspected of assisting the guerilla bandits (anti Gov), and instead of getting rid of the guerillas, the ruling Ethopian Gov told the Live Aid charities to deliver the food to certain areas in rural Ethopia. The poor hungry Ethopians travelled many miles into the middle of nowhere and received the free food. But the free supplies did not last forever. The guerillas were defeated shortly afterwards....

This documentry reveals there are always things going on in the backgroud that are never revealed to us. The media try to convince us that everything is nice and rosey in the world. So too are the celebrities e.g. Look at Madonna and Angelina Jolie adopting African babies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ▼ A Must-See!, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
INCREDIBLE! Really incredible! It's really changed the way I think about TV stars & sports celebs - I guess I've woken up! Time to switch-off the box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star ..., 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
:*)

Yes, an educational inside of how Humanity is
suckered in Star-dom ...

I feel it as a "must see", so long as
a "must follow" of the likes of "The Secret" (Rhonda Byrne), is watched
as an educational inside of how Humanity is
prominent in Star-Dome !!!

Thank you.

:*)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starsuckers [DVD] [2009]
Starsuckers [DVD] [2009] by Chris Atkins (DVD - 2010)
£6.90
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews