Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & exquisite
This album is to be treasured. Every song is beautifully sung and exquisitely arranged musically. I love it and have some personal favourites. Some of these songs were written especially for Stacey whilst others are a mix of classics from both the American song book as well as French pop. Thank you for this album - it has pride of place in my CD collection.
Published on 19 May 2010 by Mr. Jason Eden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Raconte-moi
Again an order placed for my brother, I have not heard any bad reports so I am sure that it is enjoyable.
Published 8 months ago by Stella


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful & exquisite, 19 May 2010
By 
Mr. Jason Eden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (Audio CD)
This album is to be treasured. Every song is beautifully sung and exquisitely arranged musically. I love it and have some personal favourites. Some of these songs were written especially for Stacey whilst others are a mix of classics from both the American song book as well as French pop. Thank you for this album - it has pride of place in my CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C'est si bon!, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. G. White (Bedford,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (Audio CD)
She just gets better and better.
Every song on this album is beautifully arranged and sung.
"Au coin du monde" and "La Vénus Du Mélo" are my favourites but that does no injustice to other ten.
Thanks Stacey, another exquisite album and certainly one for all Francophiles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stacey French, 6 May 2011
By 
Mr. B. Bendel (Portsmouth. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (Audio CD)
This is one of the most beautiful jazz-flavoured albums I've ever heard.
Stacey Kent continues to grow into a singer of the first rank in a world that
has long been deprived of its Billies, Sarahs and Ellas. Hear her live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Racnte - moi, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (Audio CD)
Stacey sings beautifully as usual. This is one of her best yet. I only wish my French was up to understanding all the lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, classic, chanson jazz, 28 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (MP3 Download)
This is a great album. Stacey Kent is brave to release a whole album in French - but it pays off in spades. It is brilliant, classic, chanson jazz. My personal favourite is La Vénus Du Mélo'. Just playing it makes the dark winter mornings that more pleasant and lighter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new Blossom Dearie, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (Audio CD)
anyone who loves french jazzy songs music should purchase / add Raconte-Moi by Stacey Kent & co. reminds us of the other new-world singer Blossom Dearie that made beautiful charming jazzy music with french lyrics even performed and lived in Paris. Beautiful arrangements, beautiful performed songs, some classics some new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. K. Mckendry (Edmonton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (Audio CD)
This is great album by Stacey Kent, any one who likes great songs sung
by this fabulous artist should buy this cd. The backing group are top
class even though David Newton is missing on piano, but Graham Harvey
is terrific. I have many Stacey Kent albums, this certainly one of my
favourites and my opinion the best female jazz singer around, so go
out a buy it now !. By the way, I can't understand any of the lyrics,
but it makes no difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this cd!, 16 Jun 2011
By 
J. Pell "jpell" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (Audio CD)
Have just discovered Stacey Kent after finding out who was singing on the tv advert (Hushabye Mountain). Have Collection 111, which is great and have just ordered this cd after borrowing it from the local library. Love to hear her singing in French. Perfect to chill out to, in my case late at night. The arrangements are excellent and the tenor sax playing adds that extra "je ne sais quoi".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even if you don't uinderstand a word of French, it's great...., 13 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (Audio CD)
Okay, it's all in French, and maybe that's why it's special as well as yet another showcase for Stacey. She could sing the phone book and it would be sexy, but in French? Even sexier...the clarity, the phrasing, the adherence to music as it was written, with no 'stylizing' which often detracts. Ah, Stacey...you and me in a darkened room. I say darkened, so I can't see your talented arranger and saxophonist husband to put me off....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth late night Stacey, 16 May 2010
By 
P. Hemingway (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raconte-moi... (Audio CD)
A return to smokey intimate jazz for SK. Most chilled out album I have bought in a long while. highly recommended if you are either an SK fan of longstanding like me or trying her out !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raconte-moi...
Raconte-moi... by Stacey Kent (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews