Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of information, highly accessible
This encyclopaedia is simply brilliant for language lovers. It is clear and concise, brilliantly illustrated and laid out, and it makes the subject matter interesting. Once again David Crystal has managed to convey his love of language.

This encyclopaedia covers a wealth of information:

Part I. The History of English: The origins of English; Old...
Published on 18 Jan 2010 by Little Miss Average

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Great value. Positively surprise by its quality.
Published 3 months ago by enalee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 5 May 2010
This is a cracking book that will last you ages.. it will take that long to read it all! good information well put together. You can see David Crystal on you tube, he speaks as well as he writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Clear, 28 April 2009
Crystal's magnum opus is an intricate study of everything to do with the study of English Language. As an A-level English teacher I have habitually dipped into my copy when preparing lessons, and have shared numerous excerpts with my students, as well as reading myself. This weighty tome is a must have for all English Language students, teachers and lecturers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a student of the english language I think that this book is a must-have. It has been really useful for me in my researches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Resource., 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect for anyone taking their AS/A levels, the book offers extensive coverage of the English language.

A must have in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough and visually appealing, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolute MUST HAVE for all English linguistic fans. Answers more Qs than any other linguistic publication, and I read it for pleasure as well necessity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars education, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this book in a library and it was so interesting I had to rush home and order it on amazon history of our language fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Useful, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Vee "Vee's Views" (Middlesex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a mature student taking English Language 'A Level' and this is a useful source of information and explanations. Nicely laid out and accessible too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars University Book List so necessary to read for degree, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
University Book List so necessary to read for degree. A necessary read for all students wishing to complete a BA in English Language Teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything should know these things!!!, 20 Jan 2013
This is a great book to be conversant in language issues. People always talk about accents and grammar but for some reason very few know anything about linguistics. Easy to read,.comprehensive and very entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond mere words, 19 May 2012
By 
F. M. Muse "headspace traveller" (Leicester, Leics United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a very well thought out piece of writing this is. One can read this in a linear fashion, as there is much that will be new to perhaps many readers, however the work is so well conceived, that one can dip into it selectively, by subject or concept. I can't think of another book which even comes close, both in terms of it's comprehensive coverage of the subject matter and for sheer readability. The text is a delight and surely a reflection of the authors lifelong love of his subject. Every school library ought to have a copy and every teacher of English ought to think creatively about how this wonderful work might be introduced into the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews