Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2010
Have just bought this from a high street retailer for a very good price. The graphics are excellent, plot line good and very moody setting. As other people have commented shades of Stephen King and Twin Peaks ( the lamp lady is a take on the log lady ).
Am only starting Episode 2 today but is shaping up to be really brilliant. My other half is very impressed with the overall standard of the gameplay, graphics etc.
Get the limeted edition if you can as 2 bonus discs are included. Very good value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2010
A compelling storyline matched with some superb sweeping vistas, Alan Wake is a game that will keep you playing long into the night. The episodic presentation makes it feel like a mature TV drama in the style of David Lynch. Some genuine moments of horror mixed with intelligent storytelling mark this out from most of the awful survival horror games of this console generation. Definitely can't wait to see more from Remedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
Alan Wake is okay, good graphics, nice story but very repetetive I find the guys appearing from the darkness is getting boring for me, nothing special or new, I was really looking forward to a good game play and different things to do, I didn't find that in this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
I loved this game. The soundtrack are perfect, the environment is perfect. The only drawback is the ending. It could have been better. But oh well... Loved it anyway!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2010
After a lengthy development cycle I was expecting great things from Alan Wake, but unfortunately Remedy were unable to deliver.

For a game that relies so heavily on it's storyline and characters I found both lacking. The eponymous protagonist isn't really a likeable chap, and his wife is as annoying as Alan is dull. As for the story, it's a pretty clichéd affair, elements clearly lifted from books and movies, but the game doesn't consider the player intelligent enough to get them (Alan exclaiming "just like Nicholson in The Shining" when one of the Taken attempts to cut through a door with an axe). I found Alan's constant narration distracting from the atmosphere of the game, which is largely successful due to some fancy lighting and visual effects.

Visually, the game is something of a mixed bag, much of the game takes place in a dark forest, and much of it looks the same, out of the forest there are some attractive locations, but the textures aren't as good as they could have been, also the facial animations are creepy (a patch to address this has been announced). Also, the cut scenes are pre rendered using completely different lighting and use a different colour pallet entirely, this really disturbs the atmosphere the game is trying to create.

My biggest criticism is with combat, while having to use light to weaken enemies with light is an interesting mechanic at first, it quickly becomes repetitive and more of a chore than an enjoyable experience. In addition, you're frequently you're attacked from behind, and the game slows down (in an attempt to be cinematic) initially it's not too much of a problem, but when you combine this with the game using a similar effect whenever you avoid an enemies attack you may as well be playing the game in slow motion, but since Remedy also developed Max Payne this shouldn't come as a surprise. Another problem rears it's ugly head when you're outnumbered or have low ammo and you try to run to a safe haven, alan can only sprint for a very short distance, and the taken are able to quickly make up ground and kill you before you're able to reach the safety of light. Avoiding combat sometimes seems impossible, which is especially frustrating if you're low on ammo.

I really wanted to like Alan Wake, and when your'e not talking to people or shooting things the game is quite successful. I'm sure many people will buy the game and enjoy it, but unfortunately for me I wasn't one of them.
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Best game ever! cant believe they didnt make a follow up. get the extra downloads though well worth it! This version with all the extra content is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
bit strange at first,but once I got the hang of the fighting style,it was sweet. different style of game,wait for the next one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After a very long wait, Alan Wake has finally been released and i am really pleased to say, it has been worth all the time in development - which is an achievement in itself considering it was first announced back at E3 2005! Don't get me wrong though, it isn't a perfect game by any means but has lots and lots going for it.
First of all, the storyline is something that grabs you straight away through Alan and his wife arriving in the sleepy town of Bright Falls. Alan is a writer but has been suffering from writers block for the last two years. He has come to Bright Falls to get away from the pressure of his work, and to enjoy being with his wife.
But straight away you are thrust into a thriller-type plot line, when his wife disappears and Alan is left to fend for himself. For at night, monsters live in the darkness and the only means Alan has to defend himself, comes in the form of light - be it a torch, flare, or even a lamplight! These will weaken enemies, to the point where a gun can finish them off.
The plot then starts to pick up as you find missing pages to a novel, written by Alan seemingly - that he can't remember writing, but is coming true! There are clues left dotted all over the place in the form of missing pages that can be collected to help piece the mystery together.
And that is all i want to say on the plot, as i think it is worth experiencing all the twists and turns for yourself.
The game plays very well and the in-game graphics are top notch - especially the way the whole thing is lit. You really do feel immersed in your environment with the shadows leaping out at you, and from time to time you feel yourself spinning round wildly with the torch to try and track down any noise you imagine you have heard. Alan is rendered nicely, as are the other characters and enemies you encounter.
The music is very atmospheric too, and compliments the story, gameplay and 'feel' of the game really well.
There is a good pace to the game too. There is lots of action fighting the monsters of darkness, and then it is broken up with some character interaction and more plot developments, which is all good - it doesn't get too frenetic in the action segments, nor does it slow down too much in the quieter moments. The game comes in chapters too, which makes it feel episodic and gives you the feeling that you are part of the action, and that each cliffhanger in the plot wants you to play on that bit longer.
The controls are simple to pick up, and easy to master - and you will have to master them pretty quickly. And this simplicity makes the game great fun to play - other games have made their controls overcomplicated and this can sometimes ruin the enjoyment, whereas Alan Wake gets the balance just right.
The extras within the game are good too - finding radios playing the local station, and televisions playing a weird programme called Night Springs (which is a cross between the Twilight Zone and Twin Peaks).
A lot has been made of the games inspiration coming from Stephen King, and you can definitely feel the influence on the game, but Alan Wake doesn't take itself too seriously, or pay undue adulation to King - though to many fans of Stephen King there will be a few characters, locations and references that will be familiar. But for me that was all part of the enjoyment of the game.
There aren't many bad points to this game, but one flaw is the fmv sequences and cut scenes. Some of them are not of too good a quality and are in some cases, worse than the ingame action. Couple this together with some of the worst lip-synching you will ever see in a game and you often think that the developers failed to put that final polish to this game.
Having said that, it is a minor quibble in the context of a great game that is well put together, and is fun to play.
Who is going to like this? Well, i was a huge fan of the Silent Hill series and this game feels very much like a Silent Hill game, with a Stephen King plot bolted onto it. And when i say it reminds me of a Silent Hill game, i mean it reminds of my favourite game in that series Silent Hill 2 (PS2). It has an age rating of 15 and i think that is a sensible certificate to apply to this game. It doesn't have any swearing (not that i have heard so far, anyway!) and the violence isn't particularly bloodthirsty or gory.
All in all, i think Alan Wake is a fantastic game and something that the Xbox 360 can be proud of - it is different to most games you will play, and will be a breath of fresh air to your collection.

Which ties nicely into the final bit of this review. If you go for the Limited Collector's Edition, you get a nicely presented case in which the main box is designed like a book (nice touch) and contains The Alan Wake Files which is a short book that compiles all the events of the game - which i will read once i have completed absolutely everything in the game! You also get a soundtrack disc included and a bonus disc (again, i will look at this when i have completely finished the game).

For those of you interested in gamer points, there are 50 achievements to be unlocked, and most of them are fairly straightforward to unlock, with a few more challenging ones thrown in for good measure - which i look forward to getting very soon!!

All in all, i would give this 5 out of 5 and recommend it to everyone out there - it is worth a look, even if you aren't a fan of this sort of game. And for those of you who love anything by Stephen King, or Twin Peaks, or the X-Files or something just a bit weird with some good twists, then this is definitely for you.

Buy it now!
55 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
One of the best original games in recent memory. plus 10/10 for extra included with the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
It was quickly dispatched give it 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)