Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh What A Night!!
Ok before i start my review of this movie/DVD please note that the comments other people have made about the aspect ration being messed up are wrong! I found no problem what so ever with this disc and there was certainly no "oogie Nights" at the start!
Now onto the movie....
This film rightly deserves to be called a classic. Why? Becuase it's unique. There have...
Published on 7 July 2008 by Silent Bongo

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic film but the DVD is terrible!
1 star DVD but a 4 star film. Just wanted to warn any prospective buyers. For a star 18.99 is quite a rip off. That aside though the dvd is really rushed and poorly put together. Extras are pointless and minimal. The interviews are so short and badly edited its a complete waste of time. I dont think there is directors commentary on there either. If you dont like extras...
Published on 6 Sep 2004 by A. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh What A Night!!, 7 July 2008
Ok before i start my review of this movie/DVD please note that the comments other people have made about the aspect ration being messed up are wrong! I found no problem what so ever with this disc and there was certainly no "oogie Nights" at the start!
Now onto the movie....
This film rightly deserves to be called a classic. Why? Becuase it's unique. There have been a few imitations (Wonderland is one) but non have ever come close to the sheer power and honesty of this movie. Many people see the porn industy as glamour and non stop partying. But as this movie proves there is much more to it. These people have lives and, just like you and i, they have problems. The film starts off charting the rise to fame of "Dirk Diggler" the new boy in the porn industry. And "rise" he does....but, when he falls, boy does he fall. And that is where this story really comes into it's own. The domino effect created by Dirk's downfall is one of the most gut-wrenching things you'll ever see. But it's not all doom and gloom. Boogie Nights has a sense of fun. It has a sense of what it was like to live amongst the most hedonistic of times...and that is a sheer joy to witness. All in all this movie is a must see. It's not only beautifully filmed but the acting is A+ Wahlberg is astounding as Diggler as are co-stars Heather Graham and Julieann Moore. But for me the film is completely stolen by three people:
Burt Reynolds who gives the best performace he's ever done!
Phillip Seymore Hoffman as the twitchy Scotty J
And Willam H Macy as the much dumped on Little Bill.
All in all it's s stellar cast and a phenominal movie!

As for the DVD there is one thing that irked me: Why a two disc set for such a poor set of extras?
Disc one has nothing more than a couple of commentaries. The first of which is a brilliant and insightful one by director P.T. Anderson.
The second one is rather boring as it features the cast and the director drunk and simply praising each other for the full 2 1/2 hours!
Disc two has a 10 deleted scenes, Talent profiles (of both the actors and their characters), The john C Reilly files (nothing more than three clips of his improvisations during the shooting of the movie), A music Video of a song that wasn't in the film and....that's it!! No trailers,no "Making Of", nothing.
In a way i'm sort of glad that it is a two disc set though because the film is presented in a much better bitrate and look amazing....but...i doubt it would have suffered much had the extras been moved onto the first disc.

So....if you want my advice....buy this movie...and buy it now!
Peace Out Baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential upgrade from the R2 DVD, 16 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Nights [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray release is better than the old R2 DVD in every way. The film is presented in its original 2.35:1 aspect ratio rather than the cropped version, which was a travesty given that the film used its widescreen framing to the fullest extent. You get a pristine HD transfer and a bombastic Dolby TrueHD soundtrack - the music really kicks in, and the firecrackers in the drug deal scene will make you jump as much as John C. Reilly's character did :) The blu-ray appears to be a straight copy of the US release - you get all the deleted scenes, accessed through a plain but functional menu. I'm not complaining if the disc loads quicker :)

The only minus is that it comes in a plain blu-ray clamshell case rather than the very nice R1 DVD boxset, but I believe the US blu-ray is just the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Nights Blu-ray review, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: Boogie Nights [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is one of my favourite films of all time if not No:1. Have owned the original dvd release but was annoyed at that version not having full 5.1 sountrack and minimal extras. Blu-ray version is much improved with full surround sound now as well as a reasonable set of extras and deleted scenes. The film itself is a modern classic and has a brillant soundtrack. Tracking the rise of young Eric Adams through the adult film industry with the film firmly split into 2 with the feel good joys of early success in the industry and then the fall into the dark side with a particularly memorable, tense scene with Alfred Molina. Throughly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of my all time favourities, 20 Aug 2010
This review is from: Boogie Nights [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
boogie nigchts 1997 is a superb drama starring a good cast including mark wahlberg despite the great achting is paul thommas who makes this a good movie for the blu ray it looks and sounds very fantastic the extras are very good too so for the fans of this movie this is a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Nights - Tongue in Cheek, 15 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
'Boogie Nights' presents not only an incredibly impressive cast (I'm sure we wouldn't have seen most of them in this if it had been made 6 years later) but a sound script and tight dialogue. It's an interesting insight into how the porn industry used to be, but it's certainly starting to show its age.

A good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film you must see before you die., 7 Nov 2010
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
One of my favorite films of the last 20 years. Funny, sad, wildly brave
visually. This is brash, bold filmmaking, featuring amazing use of
music - both period songs and score.

Somehow this manages uses the world of porn film-making to examine
families, American politics in the 70s and 80s and all sorts of serious
themes while also being a flat out blast to watch.

It was criticized a bit on release for plagiarizing Scorsese, especially 'Goodfellas', but
to me this is homage in the best sense. Taking great work done by
others and building on it to create something new. Indeed, the
excitement I had on first seeing it reminded me of my first falling in
love with Scorsese's kinetic work as a young film fan many years ago.

The Blu-Ray looks terrific (although the US New Line DVD transfer
was nothing to sneeze at), and the extras are everything extras
should be - fun, interesting, informative. A film well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Nights, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
One of my all time favourite movies, a rollercoatser from begining to end. Lots of people have written excellent reviews, so no point in me going into the plot, superb acting etc.

Some people think this was based on John Holmes, although there may be parallels, it cannot be as Dirk Diggler makes comments about Holmes' movies during the film. See "Wonderland", which was based on Holmes's life.

I will add, however the music soundtrack is amazing, one of the best Ive heard. Totally captures the era.

UPDATE 16/5/12

I just bought this again from Amazon after all the reviews of the BlueRay being remstered, I wondered if the newest release DVD was too............and it is !!!!!!! Yay !!

Much clearer, more colourful and sharper picture. Its a pity they dont tell you these things in the review, but my gamble paid off !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hip and Cool, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another film which has been highly praised and seems to be a must see, so i saw it..thought it was great..Wahlberg really shows he can act and Burt Reynolds is fantastic.
Obviously not for the faint hearted being about the porn industry but totally engrossing with excellent music throughout really capturing the feel of the 70's.
Please be aware i had purchased before the region 2 single disc edition which was not widescreen and missed parts of views from the sides of the screen, especially the infamous 'money shot' at the end..so i ordered this superb region 1.. 2 disc edition with many more features and great packaging but of course you need a multi-region dvd player to play it.
Maybe not for everyone this film but if you like well acted period pieces and are not put off by sex talk, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic film but the DVD is terrible!, 6 Sep 2004
By 
A. Jones "pan5001" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
1 star DVD but a 4 star film. Just wanted to warn any prospective buyers. For a star 18.99 is quite a rip off. That aside though the dvd is really rushed and poorly put together. Extras are pointless and minimal. The interviews are so short and badly edited its a complete waste of time. I dont think there is directors commentary on there either. If you dont like extras though this wont bother you.
As mentioned already on amazon, the biggest problem with the film is the aspect ratio. I wont get too technical as to be honest I dont fully understand them. Basically the film seems constantly too "zoomed" in. Large sections of the left and right of the screen are completely cut off! Even if you zoom out on your remote it wont help. Sections of the film where text appears have parts cut off. Also scenes where characters are on the left and right of the screen appear almost empty whilst you can only hear talking. It looks ridiculous! Also as its so zoomed in the picture quality isnt as good as it should be and can appear grainy.
In summary avoid the film in this version and wait for a better transition. This version completely spoils the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five star film, one star DVD, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
While there's no doubting whatsoever that the film is a classic, the DVD leaves a lot to be desired. For a start, the widescreen is the wrong shape. While there should be two thick black bars at the top and bottom (2:35 ratio) for some bizarre reason, and unlike the VHS widescreen version, the DVD has two smallish black bars (1:85 ratio). As an example of how this affects the film you need only look at the opening sequence. Instead of 'BOOGIE NIGHTS' the viewer can only see 'OOGIE NIGHT'. Very, very poor. The extra interviews you get with the DVD are so short as to be almost pointless. My advice: Buy the widescreen video and wait until the US special edition of the movie is released in region 2 (I believe it's going to be before the end of the year). The special edition has TWO commentaries from the director, music videos and the correct widescreen ratio. Amazing film, terrible, terrible DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbab55c48)

This product

Boogie Nights [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free]
Boogie Nights [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free] by Paul Thomas Anderson (Blu-ray - 2010)
6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews