Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential upgrade from the R2 DVD
This blu-ray release is better than the old R2 DVD in every way. The film is presented in its original 2.35:1 aspect ratio rather than the cropped version, which was a travesty given that the film used its widescreen framing to the fullest extent. You get a pristine HD transfer and a bombastic Dolby TrueHD soundtrack - the music really kicks in, and the firecrackers in...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by Anorakus

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic film but the DVD is terrible!
1 star DVD but a 4 star film. Just wanted to warn any prospective buyers. For a star 18.99 is quite a rip off. That aside though the dvd is really rushed and poorly put together. Extras are pointless and minimal. The interviews are so short and badly edited its a complete waste of time. I dont think there is directors commentary on there either. If you dont like extras...
Published on 6 Sep 2004 by A. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential upgrade from the R2 DVD, 16 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Nights [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray release is better than the old R2 DVD in every way. The film is presented in its original 2.35:1 aspect ratio rather than the cropped version, which was a travesty given that the film used its widescreen framing to the fullest extent. You get a pristine HD transfer and a bombastic Dolby TrueHD soundtrack - the music really kicks in, and the firecrackers in the drug deal scene will make you jump as much as John C. Reilly's character did :) The blu-ray appears to be a straight copy of the US release - you get all the deleted scenes, accessed through a plain but functional menu. I'm not complaining if the disc loads quicker :)

The only minus is that it comes in a plain blu-ray clamshell case rather than the very nice R1 DVD boxset, but I believe the US blu-ray is just the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Nights Blu-ray review, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: Boogie Nights [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is one of my favourite films of all time if not No:1. Have owned the original dvd release but was annoyed at that version not having full 5.1 sountrack and minimal extras. Blu-ray version is much improved with full surround sound now as well as a reasonable set of extras and deleted scenes. The film itself is a modern classic and has a brillant soundtrack. Tracking the rise of young Eric Adams through the adult film industry with the film firmly split into 2 with the feel good joys of early success in the industry and then the fall into the dark side with a particularly memorable, tense scene with Alfred Molina. Throughly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Nights - Tongue in Cheek, 15 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
'Boogie Nights' presents not only an incredibly impressive cast (I'm sure we wouldn't have seen most of them in this if it had been made 6 years later) but a sound script and tight dialogue. It's an interesting insight into how the porn industry used to be, but it's certainly starting to show its age.

A good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh What A Night!!, 7 July 2008
Ok before i start my review of this movie/DVD please note that the comments other people have made about the aspect ration being messed up are wrong! I found no problem what so ever with this disc and there was certainly no "oogie Nights" at the start!
Now onto the movie....
This film rightly deserves to be called a classic. Why? Becuase it's unique. There have been a few imitations (Wonderland is one) but non have ever come close to the sheer power and honesty of this movie. Many people see the porn industy as glamour and non stop partying. But as this movie proves there is much more to it. These people have lives and, just like you and i, they have problems. The film starts off charting the rise to fame of "Dirk Diggler" the new boy in the porn industry. And "rise" he does....but, when he falls, boy does he fall. And that is where this story really comes into it's own. The domino effect created by Dirk's downfall is one of the most gut-wrenching things you'll ever see. But it's not all doom and gloom. Boogie Nights has a sense of fun. It has a sense of what it was like to live amongst the most hedonistic of times...and that is a sheer joy to witness. All in all this movie is a must see. It's not only beautifully filmed but the acting is A+ Wahlberg is astounding as Diggler as are co-stars Heather Graham and Julieann Moore. But for me the film is completely stolen by three people:
Burt Reynolds who gives the best performace he's ever done!
Phillip Seymore Hoffman as the twitchy Scotty J
And Willam H Macy as the much dumped on Little Bill.
All in all it's s stellar cast and a phenominal movie!

As for the DVD there is one thing that irked me: Why a two disc set for such a poor set of extras?
Disc one has nothing more than a couple of commentaries. The first of which is a brilliant and insightful one by director P.T. Anderson.
The second one is rather boring as it features the cast and the director drunk and simply praising each other for the full 2 1/2 hours!
Disc two has a 10 deleted scenes, Talent profiles (of both the actors and their characters), The john C Reilly files (nothing more than three clips of his improvisations during the shooting of the movie), A music Video of a song that wasn't in the film and....that's it!! No trailers,no "Making Of", nothing.
In a way i'm sort of glad that it is a two disc set though because the film is presented in a much better bitrate and look amazing....but...i doubt it would have suffered much had the extras been moved onto the first disc.

So....if you want my advice....buy this movie...and buy it now!
Peace Out Baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boogie Nights, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
One of my all time favourite movies, a rollercoatser from begining to end. Lots of people have written excellent reviews, so no point in me going into the plot, superb acting etc.

Some people think this was based on John Holmes, although there may be parallels, it cannot be as Dirk Diggler makes comments about Holmes' movies during the film. See "Wonderland", which was based on Holmes's life.

I will add, however the music soundtrack is amazing, one of the best Ive heard. Totally captures the era.

UPDATE 16/5/12

I just bought this again from Amazon after all the reviews of the BlueRay being remstered, I wondered if the newest release DVD was too............and it is !!!!!!! Yay !!

Much clearer, more colourful and sharper picture. Its a pity they dont tell you these things in the review, but my gamble paid off !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film you must see before you die., 7 Nov 2010
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
One of my favorite films of the last 20 years. Funny, sad, wildly brave
visually. This is brash, bold filmmaking, featuring amazing use of
music - both period songs and score.

Somehow this manages uses the world of porn film-making to examine
families, American politics in the 70s and 80s and all sorts of serious
themes while also being a flat out blast to watch.

It was criticized a bit on release for plagiarizing Scorsese, especially 'Goodfellas', but
to me this is homage in the best sense. Taking great work done by
others and building on it to create something new. Indeed, the
excitement I had on first seeing it reminded me of my first falling in
love with Scorsese's kinetic work as a young film fan many years ago.

The Blu-Ray looks terrific (although the US New Line DVD transfer
was nothing to sneeze at), and the extras are everything extras
should be - fun, interesting, informative. A film well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a glut of good performances, 25 May 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Much of Paul Thomas Anderson's Boogie Nights is very amusing, but it does take a surprising turn in the last forty minutes. The influence of Pulp Fiction, made 4 years earlier, is apparent in the amoral tone of bloody scenes, and possibly La Haine in the unhinged, parallel role of Alfred Molina, before a more positive note is reasserted in the final moments. At least this last bit goes to show that porn directors can be capable of kindness, even if Jack Horner (the one shown here) behaved like a thug minutes before. It also serves to give a narrative shape to what could have been too sprawling. At times the film also comes close to mocking the limitations of its characters, particularly Eddie, otherwise known as Dirk Diggler (Mark Wahlberg) and Reed (John C. Reilly). They come across as hapless and usually a bit clueless, even if knowing about sex.

Essentially we follow the path of Eddie after he leaves his unhappy home life and falls in with a sort of surrogate family consisting of all the players in a porn company in San Fernando Valley. Mostly the character is very winning as played by Wahlberg, and the portrayal reminded me a bit of Joe Dallesandro who defined the hustler in the Paul Morrissey trilogy as a charming, footloose figure. This film has a more satirical feel, but there is genuine warmth as well, particularly from Julianne Moore, who elevates the material as she so often does. And William H. Macy is very good in a small but amusing role that brings a certain anarchy in the screenplay to the surface. The soundtrack of the film consists of almost wall-to-wall disco songs of the era which blend perfectly with the neon lights. As for Burt Reynolds, he is spot-on as Horner, and Philip Seymour Hoffmann is very good in a smaller role as a gay, rather gauche assistant. It is a measure of the film's subtlety that it shows the downward pull of this particular line of work, while grafting on an up-beat ending so much at the last minute that it doesn't quite undo the scenes of moral decline that precede it, a bit like Voltaire's Candide. It feels tacked on, as if Anderson didn't want to say that this world inevitably leads to failure and disillusion, but was aware that, without the negative part, it might make the milieu seem too idealised, too much fun with no real downside. (In the novel Voltaire ends by saying we should 'cultivate our garden' but everything that precedes it suggests unstoppable energy to go out into the world). In this sense it is very deft and can be watched in the assurance that it manages to entertain and be thought-provoking. I was also a bit disappointed by the final revelation of Eddie's appendage - having coyly been kept out of view throughout the film, it lacked the thickness to really blow us away, which is absurd when the object was custom-made. It's certainly not Tom of Finland ... a great opportunity missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hip and Cool, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another film which has been highly praised and seems to be a must see, so i saw it..thought it was great..Wahlberg really shows he can act and Burt Reynolds is fantastic.
Obviously not for the faint hearted being about the porn industry but totally engrossing with excellent music throughout really capturing the feel of the 70's.
Please be aware i had purchased before the region 2 single disc edition which was not widescreen and missed parts of views from the sides of the screen, especially the infamous 'money shot' at the end..so i ordered this superb region 1.. 2 disc edition with many more features and great packaging but of course you need a multi-region dvd player to play it.
Maybe not for everyone this film but if you like well acted period pieces and are not put off by sex talk, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic film but the DVD is terrible!, 6 Sep 2004
By 
A. Jones "pan5001" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
1 star DVD but a 4 star film. Just wanted to warn any prospective buyers. For a star 18.99 is quite a rip off. That aside though the dvd is really rushed and poorly put together. Extras are pointless and minimal. The interviews are so short and badly edited its a complete waste of time. I dont think there is directors commentary on there either. If you dont like extras though this wont bother you.
As mentioned already on amazon, the biggest problem with the film is the aspect ratio. I wont get too technical as to be honest I dont fully understand them. Basically the film seems constantly too "zoomed" in. Large sections of the left and right of the screen are completely cut off! Even if you zoom out on your remote it wont help. Sections of the film where text appears have parts cut off. Also scenes where characters are on the left and right of the screen appear almost empty whilst you can only hear talking. It looks ridiculous! Also as its so zoomed in the picture quality isnt as good as it should be and can appear grainy.
In summary avoid the film in this version and wait for a better transition. This version completely spoils the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five star film, one star DVD, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Boogie Nights [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
While there's no doubting whatsoever that the film is a classic, the DVD leaves a lot to be desired. For a start, the widescreen is the wrong shape. While there should be two thick black bars at the top and bottom (2:35 ratio) for some bizarre reason, and unlike the VHS widescreen version, the DVD has two smallish black bars (1:85 ratio). As an example of how this affects the film you need only look at the opening sequence. Instead of 'BOOGIE NIGHTS' the viewer can only see 'OOGIE NIGHT'. Very, very poor. The extra interviews you get with the DVD are so short as to be almost pointless. My advice: Buy the widescreen video and wait until the US special edition of the movie is released in region 2 (I believe it's going to be before the end of the year). The special edition has TWO commentaries from the director, music videos and the correct widescreen ratio. Amazing film, terrible, terrible DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boogie Nights [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free]
Boogie Nights [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free] by Paul Thomas Anderson (Blu-ray - 2010)
6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews