Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awaken the slumbering hippy within you.
I hadn't heard this album since I was seventeen (and I won't say when that was) until I noticed that it was still available on CD, and bought a copy. Well, it was barmy then, and it's barmy now. Anyone who, upon listening to it, isn't immediately transported to a better, simpler, more imaginative and contemplative world needs to make contact with their inner...
Published on 27 Sep 2003 by John Williams

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great music but .....
A bit of a shame there are no extra or alternate tracks etc, but some would say that such things tend to dilute the impact and shape of the original Album. The repackaging is very good with photos, lyrics etc but the ''re-mastering'' is a bit of a disappointment - yes the sound is a bit sharper and some instruments are clearer, but there is still much of the distortion of...
Published on 20 April 2010 by Nick ( Larry )Lamb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awaken the slumbering hippy within you., 27 Sep 2003
By 
John Williams (Apeldoorn, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I hadn't heard this album since I was seventeen (and I won't say when that was) until I noticed that it was still available on CD, and bought a copy. Well, it was barmy then, and it's barmy now. Anyone who, upon listening to it, isn't immediately transported to a better, simpler, more imaginative and contemplative world needs to make contact with their inner child/hippy as a matter of some urgency. Dated? How can it be dated? It's as timeless as Adam and Eve or Winnie the Pooh! Profound? Who knows? Who cares? Just soak in the atmosphere. You may find that it is an acquired taste, being rather slow and lacking in the driving electronic rhythms we've been bombarded with over the past thirty-five years, but do give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable., 11 Jan 2005
By 
R Jess "Raymond Jess" (Limerick, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
They don't make them like this anymore! 'The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter' is a great 60's album filled with a creative openness, authentic feeling and an unrestrained experimentation.
The opening track 'Koeeoaddi There' encapsulates all of these qualities. Williamson tells an evocative tale of childhood, backed with melodic, inventive chord and tempo changes. 'The Minotour's Song' is a startling contrast of music hall and greek mtyhological lyrics, highlighting the ISB's influences. 'Witch's Hat' has a beautiful folk melody, again the song structure packed with incident. Mike Heron's 'A Very Cellular Song' begins as an old gospel hymn before it travels the world in its wonderful array of instruments, an early bridge between western music and world music in general. Heron's Dylanesque 'Mercy I Cry City' is a poetic rant against the unnatural prison of the urban landscape. 'Waltz Of The New Moon' harks back again to the Romantic poets in its ode to the wonders of the natural landscape. Here the harp sound is at once lilting and glorious. Like 'A Very Cellular Song', 'The Water Song' sings a hymn to the evolutionary power of the natural world using strange and unusual instruments to create the onomatopoeic sounds of water. The most Eastern-tinged of the tracks on the album is 'There Is A Green Crown' telling another tale of natural wonder that I can't help thinking would be frowned upon and scorned in today's irony-laden culture. On 'Swift As The Wind' Heron tells of how the grown-ups around him tried to make him give up his childhood imagination, something that has obviously remained with him throughout his musical career.
Williamson's 'Nightfall' closes this adorable album mixing Eastern sounds with the American south, prefiguring Ry Cooder by a number of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still incredible, 18 Sep 2006
I was about 16 when I heard this album at my friend's house shortly after it was released in the 60's. I had never heard anything like it and to this day I love the sheer sense of adventure and the ease with which they mix styles, tempos, key changes, instrumentation. And there is some wonderful imagery: "wearing black cherries for rings" (Witches Hat) and "Nightfall...folding her dark locks around you" - great stuff. What is amazing is the richness of the music, instrumentation and poetry from a duo who were still very young when they made it. Buy it and let it soak in - warm and innocent music which still sounds fresh and adventurous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT JUST ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS EVER, BUT ALSO, 20 Mar 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NUMBER 5 IN THE ALBUM CHARTS IN 1968!!
Now, what about that for an album with lyrics like "If I were a witch's hat, sitting on her head like a paraffin stove" and "I hear that the Emperor of China used to wear iron shoes with ease;We are the tablecloth, and also the table;also the fable of the dancing leaves"?
Just goes to show we baby-boomers had a damn sight more musical appreciation sense than we've been given credit for! This is, granted, the most mysterious, wordy, other-wordly of the Incredibles albums, but it NEVER loses its' way musically, even in the key and tempo changes abounding in Williamson's opening Keoaddii There or Heron's 12 minute A very Cellular song, which, over 15 years on, Talking Heads adopted as a concert closer-now you know David Byrne was no fool either.
The best bit about this is you don't need to be any of these things to enjoy this-stoned/hippy/old/living dead. It probably goes without saying that the duo's instumentational abilities are great on any of their first 4 albums-this being the 3rd-but here the sheer variety of what they play and what they get out of those instruments defies belief. You could almost listen to the album for that alone, or for the poetry of the lyrics.
Better still, buy it & do both together-you'll be unlikely to have a richer musical experience, unless you've got a Mozart-like prodigy in your sprogs, or nieces/nephews! As I'm not selling it, I can't offer you your money back if disappointed, but I can guarantee you won't be!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter', 9 Dec 2009
A classic, classic album that gets in your blood like few others, so the opening notes of 'Koeeoaddi There' always summon a timeless nostalgia, timeless yet constantly changing, and an atmosphere of early childhood where, as Ernst Junger put it, "the dark gate which separates us from our timeless homeland" has only recently been shut, and "the child still understands the language of the runes of Things, which tell of a profound brotherhood of essences..."

Some of the lyrics read like they were written by a child, but this is deceptive - on repeated reading/listening their subtlety and sophistication is revealed. Some songs are serious, others great fun - and some are both. But don't mistake this for a 'serious playfulness' of the type a Steiner school advocate might endorse - it's far more anarchic than that, anarchic to the point of transcendence.

The songs are wonderfully varied, but all feel totally at home on this disc. 'A Very Cellular Song' takes things down to the level of the unicellular organism, while 'Mercy I Cry City' exposes the shallowness and superficiality of modern 'civilisation'. 'Swift as the Wind' tells of the numinous realm of gods and heroes from the point of view of a child who is told to "stop imagining things", "for your own good." But the child resolves not to shut his mind to the numinous, even as he realises he must live on a mundane level from day to day. 'Nightfall' and 'The Water Song' are beautiful tributes to night and water respectively.

I give this album five stars - only awarded when I consider a work of art to be essentially beyond criticism, and where even the 'faults' contribute to the timeless miracle of the whole. Albums like this don't come along every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Few Reservations . ., 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter (Audio CD)
The third album was a significant step deeper into the uncharted forest of folk psychedelia, to the point where things were beginning to get serious.

Under normal circumstances I'd be giving this a full five star rating but I very much regret that I can't give it the whole handful on this occasion. Of all the four issues in this remastered series this is the most disappointing on account of a sound that goes a bit furry on some of the vocal registers, which is a little irritating to be frank. Then there are the first 11 seconds of 'A Very Cellular Song": The action is taking place in just one channel with nothing going on in the other except some low-level leakage which had been barely audible on the original vinyl release. Now it can be clearly heard and that too is a little irritating on repeated plays. I'm pretty sure I've not got hold of a faulty copy here, so I think it a shame that the remastering on this record falls short of matching the stunning quality of Wee Tam & The Big Huge. In all other respects, however, this album is a classic and it's good to see Dolly Collins receive a printed credit for her keyboard contributions- well deserved & long overdue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still delightful after all these years!, 17 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this on Vinyl from the day it came out and must have played it hundreds of times, but that was back then. Because I don't play my vinyl any more, I probably hadn't listened to this for 20 years and felt a little nervous ordering the CD from Amazon. Would it sound dreadfully dated and corny and crush all my fond memories of it and the Incredibles in general?
I need not have worried; it still sounds as fresh and delightful as the day I first heard it and every song on it is beautiful with some delightful and unusual instrumentation, wonderful,evocative and sensitive lyrics and eerily haunting vocals.
I could do without the odd kazoo here and there (now that DOES sound dated!!) but otherwise, the whole thing is a triumph and an evocative intoduction to the work of these two singular and unique songwriters.

Do take a listen and be transported back to a simpler, more energised time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Too, 21 May 2009
By 
Brian Hill (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this was the second ISB album I heard - after John Peel had played them. I suppose people looking at the albums, and hearing the work, might think this is just the first flushes of tree-huggery. But don't dismiss it. There's a lot here that has persisted well and still stacks up today. The songs are not typical now just like they weren't typical then. But they are not mushy, sentimental or naive. Many have a bit of an edge, even a touch of weirdness. I was pleased to rediscover them and find that memory served me well. Well worth a second visit; still well worth a first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Remastering Finally Releases The Music, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. J. A. Smith "thetoot" (Blackwell) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter (Audio CD)
This is not strictly a review of the content of this album, as there are many other excellent reviews on the topic.

However, I wanted to give some praise to the quality of the 2010 remaster which sounds warm and vibrant at last. The previous 1992 release on cd had a tinny thin sound to it, without any of the musicality of the original l.p. This reissue restores much of what was missing from the previous issue. There is a real clarity to the sound which I believe is excellent.

Hangman's has always been quirky but previously it was hard to listen to because of the high top-end to the sound. If you are thinking of upgrading then I would, despite some other review comments on here, really recommend this. It sounds particularly good on decent equipment too, though don't expect to 'get' it straight away if you are new to ISBs work, as they are certainly left-field and a little ahead of their time, even today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing stuff, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Just buy it - if you havn't heard it before it will knock your socks off! I first heard it over a decade ago and it still blows me away every time...has to be one of the all time greatest albums-get hip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter
The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter by Incredible String Band (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews