Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the recent re-issues
I have bought 3 of these reissues to date ( Hangman's, Wee Tam + The Big Huge + this one ) and to my ears this has the best re-mastering, perhaps because the original Vinyl was always a bit of a challenge (mainly because of the relatively simple recording equipment and some fairly ''exotic'' sounds I should guess) this one seems to have produced the most obvious...
Published on 20 April 2010 by Nick ( Larry )Lamb

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Guess you had to have been there..?
I bought the vinyl LP version of this recently, primarily because of the really interesting and arresting front cover artwork [so much more impact on a 12" LP sleeve], partly because there's hardly ever been a Joe Boyd production that I didn't find worth at least a few serious listens, and partly on the strength of some of the rave reviews of the CD release here on...
Published on 5 Feb 2010 by Jan J. Mikula


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the recent re-issues, 20 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion (Audio CD)
I have bought 3 of these reissues to date ( Hangman's, Wee Tam + The Big Huge + this one ) and to my ears this has the best re-mastering, perhaps because the original Vinyl was always a bit of a challenge (mainly because of the relatively simple recording equipment and some fairly ''exotic'' sounds I should guess) this one seems to have produced the most obvious improvement in sound quality over previous CD issues - some distortion inevitably remains but overall the sound has been cleaned and sharpened very well. As with all the others, the packaging is very good with some lovely photographs and all the lyrics. If you need a copy of this, this is the one to go for - and unlike the others I have bought, I would say this is a definate improvement in sound quality from previous CD versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars birth of world music, 10 April 2010
This review is from: The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion (Audio CD)
Of all the breakthrough albums of the Sixties, this is surely one of the most innovative and lasting achievements.
Celtic, Renaissance, African, Indian, Appalachian: a fusion of styles and instrumental colours adorn a range of novel structures in song-writing's equivalent to the Cambrian explosion . The wide-eyed energy and confidence of the newly-reformed 1967 ISB is exhilaratingly captured in this beautiful remastered re-issue. Essential for anyone interested in folk, psychedelia or world music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, of course, but ...., 13 May 2010
By 
J. R. P. Wigman "Hans Wigman" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion (Audio CD)
Newly remastered versions of classic ISB albums! Great. Bought 'em all. Like I always do. Anyone more than remotely familiar with the ISB will know that the first albums are simply of must-own quality, and not just for the hippie type - these recordings rank among the most original recordings in the history of "pop" music. Period.

Now to the "but" in my review's title. It may be that my ears lack a certain subtlety or my speakers are way inferior to those present in other people's homes, but comparing the cd's I already owned to the newly remastered ones I was a bit disappointed - soundwise I couldn't hear that much difference.
On the positive side, the packaging of each album is really nice with an informative booklet, each containing an introduction by Clive Palmer (1st album), Mike Heron (5000 spirits), Robin Williamson (hangman's) and Joe Boyd (wee tam & the big huge), nice pictures & photos and lyrics. So I'm slightly mollified. And not really sorry.

With which I'm trying to say to you, weighing up whether to buy or not to buy,that you simply must get these remastered versions if you've got no copy at all, and may think again if you do - see if you can resist the temptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful album, 23 May 2011
This review is from: The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion (Audio CD)
This CD really is the quintessential 60s album.
It covers many of the influences that bands of that era were into, Indian, folk, blues etc.
The songwriting is always interesting and keeps you captured.

I was overwhelmed how great this album was crafted and produced.

It's a real shame these guys lost their zest after each subsequent release.

Hangman's Beautiful Daughter is also a great album but is far more challenging to listen to.

This is as good as they get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iconic album of the 60's, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5000 Spirits [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I first came across this album listening to John Peel's Perfume Garden radio prog. 'First Girl that I loved ' was the track he played and that song was a 'wow' .

Consequently I bought the album and just fell in love with the whole collection of songs and the album cover worth the price just for that!!

Have got it on cd but vinyl is the true way to listen to it. I bought this copy for my son who like me thinks there is something magical about it.
He loves 'The Hedgehogs Song' mainly because I played it to him when he was about 7 or 8.

If you like folk, blues, world music and just good tunes with meaningful lyrics get this album after a couple of plays you won't be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hippydom at its finest!!!, 16 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion (Audio CD)
If you had this album in the 60s you'll definitely want it again and if you didn't then you missed a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 5000 Spirits Or the Layers of the Onion, 8 Oct 2010
By 
Neil Anderson (Tarbert (Loch Fyne) Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion (Audio CD)
You either love or loathe the incredible string band. If you loathe them you don't know what you're missing. If you love them then you may have an idea already that this is them at their absolute best. - along with

Hangman's Beautiful Daughter Hangman's Beautiful Daughter

and

Wee Tam/the Big Huge by Incredible String Band Wee Tam/the Big Huge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion (Audio CD)
I'd have bought this album just for The Hedgehog Song but listening to the whole thing again after some years (I have it on Vinyl) I still love the album. Quirky, sure! But in parts delicate, sensitive and impactful its an album that you listen to, not just have on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'My eyes are listening to some sounds that I think just might be springtime', 28 July 2013
By 
John F (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion (Audio CD)
Released in the summer of 1967 'The 5000 Spirits' stands alongside 'Sergeant Pepper' and 'Piper at the Gates of Dawn' as a psychedelic classic. Highlights are 'Chinese White', 'The Mad Hatter's Song' and 'The Eyes of Fate' which, with their exotic instrumentation, mystical lyrics and unorthodox structures, could be classed as early examples of progressive rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you would expect, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5000 Spirits [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great music, words, fun, with depth and variety. Enjoyed listening to all tracks from first play, Album cover is Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x1173da38)

This product

The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion
The 5000 Spirits Or The Layers Of The Onion by Incredible String Band (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews