Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
Superb playing. Superb recording. A masterpiece. Excellent value. I play these discs endlessly and never tire of them. What a remarkable young man.
Published 14 months ago by Skylark

versus
4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange acoustic
Much as I love and adore my old Rubenstein recordings i thought it time to add another interpretation of the Nocturnes to my collection.
Listening to the samples here, it sounds as if the recording were made in a vast empty steel chamber - this has very much put me off this interpretation.
The Nocturnes were written to be performed for small gatherings in cosy...
Published on 15 May 2010 by P. G. Rolfe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Superb playing. Superb recording. A masterpiece. Excellent value. I play these discs endlessly and never tire of them. What a remarkable young man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He is Chopin, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin Nocturnes (MP3 Download)
Li Yun Di is a true genius who interprets Chopin in the way which shoud be. Highly Recommended to any one who loves classicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yundi Li is amazing!, 7 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Just two words: Love it!

There are lots of pianoist out there, I just enjoy listening to his performance. It is not all about technique, he can really capture one's heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Yundi's performance is of such a magical enchantment that i just couldn't stop listening to it until late night !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Yundi music is perfect!I like this CD very much! I am looking forward for the Beethoven and other nice works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must-have recording, 27 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Yundi has the most exquisitely tasteful rubato needed for Chopin Nocturnes. While he played the lyrical part of each Nocturne elegantly and serenely with poetic sensibility, he gave the most powerful playing for the stormy dramatic sections of these Nocturnes. After hearing six other pianists playing these Nocturnes, there is no doubt that those played by Yundi are the most satisfactorily played in all aspects such as rubato, phrasing, articulation, interpretation, technique and tonal shadings.

As Op 27 No 1 was very unfairly criticized by someone, I shall give my opinion here about this particular Nocturne to reveal the fact that Yundi always studies and understands a piece thoroughly before he brings it to the public. This is another Nocturne very well played by Yundi when he played the first part of this Nocturne faster so that the left hand accompaniment would not become sectional and hence was able to serve as a sea of waves to carry the dark and sometimes tension filled right hand melody. Rubinstein was too slow for this part of the Nocturne and therefore the left hand accompaniment had become fragmented. Yundi also played the first part of this Nocturne softly throughout as required but when the music reached the more triumphant mood in the middle part, he increased the volume gradually until it reached its glorious maximum. The way Yundi had played it, the two different moods - inner dark mood for the first part and triumphant mood for the middle part - were distinctively brought out by his good control of volume. Maria Joao Pires had as usual, played the first part of this Nocturne sometimes too loud with too much contrast in volume, resulting in some inconsistency in trying to express the somber mood for this part of the Nocturne. Again, technically, Yundi was in supreme command throughout the whole Nocturne.

This is a must-have recording.

By Kee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Lovely crisp tone & piano playing .Remembered many of the pieces from a childhood recollection Altogether very enjoyable ,moving & relaxing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Yundi is for me the best romantic pianist in the world. His Nocturnes interpretations are "sublimi". Best gift for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange acoustic, 15 May 2010
By 
P. G. Rolfe "Pete" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chopin: Nocturnes (Audio CD)
Much as I love and adore my old Rubenstein recordings i thought it time to add another interpretation of the Nocturnes to my collection.
Listening to the samples here, it sounds as if the recording were made in a vast empty steel chamber - this has very much put me off this interpretation.
The Nocturnes were written to be performed for small gatherings in cosy surroundings, this intimacy is lost on this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chopin: Nocturnes
Chopin: Nocturnes by Yundi (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews