Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars141
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2012
This does the job very well - very happy, but note that because the drives are stacked vertically you'll need straight connectors for both drives - not right-angle connectors. I went for these 45cm SATA II (Serial ATA 2) Cable (3Gb/s) ~ Straight to Straight ~ Latching Lock (Lead cannot become loose disconnect) ~ Male to Male (M-M).
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
I purchased this bracket to use in my Corsair Obsidian 650D case, the fittings being tool less, I found it to fit well with no issues at all. I would recommend this bracket to anyone, I should add that the package contains fittings (screws etc) for the standard case type of fit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
Very compact and light, excellent design made for easy installation. Well packaged and quickly dispatched, prompt delivery time.

Smooth installation of the 2.5 inch SSD into the dock, and smooth installation of the dock into desktop's case frame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Once you have used this to install either your new SSD or a 2.5 inch drive you will never go back to using brackets that need screws to hold in place. I build and repair a lot of PC's and this is a real time saver, squeeze the ends and in she goes. Holds 2 drives which is a bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
What more can I say: does the job well. Only downside is that separate power cables are needed: if the drives share a power cable, I've found I can't bend it enough without it putting pressure on each drive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Bought this to mount an SSD in a new PC build. Comes with instructions but to be honest if you can't figure out how it works just looking at it you shouldn't be inside a PC to start with. Like the fact I can add an extra 2.5 inch drive later on without buying another bracket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Brilliant bit of plastic - made the fitting of a 2.5" ssd drive a two minute job. Simply slide your drive into the cage and a put the latch on and then slide the cage into place. There's no need to use any screws as the side are spring loaded with metal studs jutting out of the side which line up with the screw locations of a regular 3.5" drive. The spring loaded sides make it very easy to fit and remove whilst holding the cage firmly in place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Good product, save you space inside the PC. You can fit to 2.5" drives on it and use a 3.5" slot for them and there is no need for screws. However I think the instructions that come with the product could be clearer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
The ICY DOCK MB990SP-B hits the sweet spot that will allow you to install up to two SSDs in your system with little effort and is relatively cheap.

However, it can be too clever for its own good. Question whether if this is the device for you if you just want to stick a drive or two in there once, and never touch it again. This dock is very quirky in terms of how it works. Especially if you have an unintentional or lazy cable jungle going on.

The screwless fit, for me, is very loose. If these weren't SSDs, that would be a deal killer for me. However, mine aren't mechanical drives. My computer is not mounted in a roller coaster or a cruise ship in choppy water. So for me and my SSDs, the loose fit is acceptable.

As a summary, if you like "easy in and out" for computer tweaking including changing SSD arrangements, or even if you have to do it once in a while, it's a quirky unit you can learn to really like.

If you just want to lock and load, and be done with it forever, however, consider a different means of mounting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
this dock is easy in use. It's very easy to add a drive (or two, since it's a dual dock).
installing the dock inside your computer is easy and screwless (though you can add screws if you want).

If you want to use a 2.5 inch drive in your computer this dock is the way to go... Cheap and easy to install.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)