Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PRODUCT - BUT be warned.......
The NEW Tiger1 Tank is awesome. The engine start up sound and running sound are really impressive.
The detailing on the body is superb. The recoil action is A1. The track suspension looks and works good.
The pellet firing is powerful but needs to carry a health warning. If a pellet hits your skin close up it will sting for a while. It shoots out at speed for a...
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by Ian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mix fealings!
Unfortunately the wheel was faulty and came off due to a lose nut. This happened only 5 minutes into using it. However, I must say, the seller was fantastic and offered us a refund once we had returned it...
Published 15 months ago by Joe Zerafa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PRODUCT - BUT be warned......., 26 Dec 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Heng Long German Tiger 1 Radio Control Tank with BB, Smoke and Sound (Toy)
The NEW Tiger1 Tank is awesome. The engine start up sound and running sound are really impressive.
The detailing on the body is superb. The recoil action is A1. The track suspension looks and works good.
The pellet firing is powerful but needs to carry a health warning. If a pellet hits your skin close up it will sting for a while. It shoots out at speed for a fair distance.

Almost all the Tiger 1's for sale on the web do NOT have sound or smoke - only the very latest, which look the same but will cost more - so check before buying. I bought it for LESS than many are selling the old model for. You need to search the web carefully.

The BUT in the title refers to the instruction manual - These are the essential changes needed:

1. A BIG warning about the pellets - NOT safe to be left with children unattended, unless all pellets are hidden away.(they will scare the s**t out of your cat/dog and damage your eyeball. These fire much faster than kids toy guns - you have been warned!)

2. There is NO battery charging information whatsoever (That's criminal with high current batteries)- just look at the number of requests on the web asking for this information.
The charging time is, in fact, 4hours 15 minutes using the supplied battery and charger, and the battery should be fully discharged (run down) before each charge.

3. An explanation of how the **** you are supposed to fill the smoke system with the oil.In manufacture, they have cut the two filling tubes too short and kinked them. Users on the web suggest trying a syringe etc etc. - Best of luck.

4. Big warning - If oil runs out the smoke unit will fail. PS.There is no way of seeing when the oil has run out!- Best of luck.

5. The manual is comprehensive (except for 1-4 above) BUT is printed in both English and Chinese on all pages - it looks a mess and is uncomfortable to read. They should print an English only version since the UK and USA are it's biggest markets.

6. The English grammar in the manual is very bad. Why do some companies still persist in this?
All they have to do is send the proof to their UK/USA importer and ask them to correct the grammar and spelling. What they probably do is give it to an English speaking Chinese person instead of an English speaking English person.

So definitely buy this beast, but take account of all the above when it arrives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Radio Control Tiger, 14 Mar 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Heng Long German Tiger 1 Radio Control Tank with BB, Smoke and Sound (Toy)
Having read other reviews of this product, I have to say that there seems to be an element of chance if you get a good one or not.
The tank feels quite robust and has taken a few knocks in its stride, the 'engine' noise can be a bit loud but there is a volume control to turn it down. The smoke generator is rather noisy, drowning the engine sounds unless you turn up the volume.
The speed is controlable from an absolute crawl to quite fast and the gun is commendably powerful.
On the down side, not long after I received the tank it developed a fault, one of the circuit boards inside failed but Howes were superb in sending a replacement and so far it's been fine.
Taking the tank apart was easy but you do then get to see the real chinese build quality. Least said about that the better!
Other reviewers mention the difficulty of filling the smoke generator, this is an issue as the pipes are hidden down the side of the models exhaust stacks and are clear plastic. I took the opportunity while it was apart to cut some of this pipe away and put a small bit of metal car brake pipe in its place. This now gives a nice 'spurt' of smoke as well as making it much easier to fill. The gearbox has nylon cogs and definitely benefitted from a liberal dose of silicone grease.
Can't say much more really, to be fair, even if you do get a duff one, if my experience is anything to go by, Howes will sort it out for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars huh?, 28 Dec 2010
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Heng Long German Tiger 1 Radio Control Tank with BB, Smoke and Sound (Toy)
I dont actually own this tank but have had a go of it as friends have it so worth a review, Heng Long tank says it all, If your looking to buy a model tank like this then make doubly sure it does what the advertisment says it does, there are older models of this tank that are being sold advertised that they have smoke and sound effects! The early models dont.So double check with supplier, also check the suppliers website as for some reason thier products are cheaper then they are on here!
~Overall these tanks are great fun! they shoot bb balls aswell and are very well detailed and also can be upgrqaded with spare parts, metal tracks etc... you cant go wrong with a Heng Long. Just keep your eye out for suppliers selling older tanks for the same cost of the newer ones! Suppliers beware us Reviewers are watching, for the pen is mightier then the sword.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works a treat., 31 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. David Pepperday "Pep Miester" (Sutton In Ashfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heng Long German Tiger 1 Radio Control Tank with BB, Smoke and Sound (Toy)
Love this RC Tank. Works great. Smoke generator is a bit noisy but keep sound level up and it's hardly noticeable. Don't even need to be painted if you like it as it comes (I like it in this grey) battery lasts about 20 mins of continuos use but longer lasting batteries are easy and cheap to buy. The standard charger is the only drawback as it does not auto switch off and has to manually be turned off at four hours as battery should be fully charged t that time. I brought an NiMh longer lasting battery and better NiCd/NiMh auto charger for less than £20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Oct 2013
By 
P. H. Jones "dragonfly" (SWANSEA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heng Long German Tiger 1 Radio Control Tank with BB, Smoke and Sound (Toy)
A good size model for a person of my age to modify works well and there are many upgrade parts available to make the tank more realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mix fealings!, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heng Long German Tiger 1 Radio Control Tank with BB, Smoke and Sound (Toy)
Unfortunately the wheel was faulty and came off due to a lose nut. This happened only 5 minutes into using it. However, I must say, the seller was fantastic and offered us a refund once we had returned it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good fun, 3 Jan 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heng Long German Tiger 1 Radio Control Tank with BB, Smoke and Sound (Toy)
This tank is great, it is made well looks great and fires hard ! My little boy loves it. It is a little bit too noisy, but it is a tank !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars german tiger !, 11 Feb 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heng Long German Tiger 1 Radio Control Tank with BB, Smoke and Sound (Toy)
Come on Dad you know that you really want this but it's so expensive and is it going to fall apart after a week? Well you are right you really do want one of these and I'm really glad that I bought this one for me...I mean my son.It's great fun. It's really controllable, the transmitter works wonderfully and the firing mechanism and the smoke coming out of the exhausts are just brilliant. I've weathered mine with some humbrol enamal paints and it looks great. Don't worry about the power of the bb shots. I don't think they're powerful enough to go through the cat and if you don't trust your eight year old not to shoot you in the eye you can turn it off independantly with a little hidden button.Will it fall apart? At first the driving wheels for the tracks were a little loose but it was no problem as the tank is quite well made and you can just prize off the hub? cover and tighten the screw back up. Ive not had a problem since. Stack some playing cards up put some airfix soldiers on top and shoot the hell out of them and PLAY WITH YOUR KID like we used to play before computer games made the family disfunctional! No really these are great fun, indulge yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor construction and even worse suppliers., 1 July 2014
This review is from: Heng Long German Tiger 1 Radio Control Tank with BB, Smoke and Sound (Toy)
A warning first - be very careful assembling these tanks, the parts are substandard and break very easily, especially the rear mud flaps. Try the tank before you start sticking bits on. Simply for the fact I have had so many I can honestly say the success rate of getting a working tank let alone complete one seems hit and miss. I can only assume companies are throwing these faulty items back out as the tanks I have had so far all look to be opened or used beforehand. My first tank ended up costing me £20+ P&P in which the company wouldn't refund as the tanks are so large and heavy.

I have now had three of these Tiger tanks and each one has been sent back. The first two outside amazon. One had a failed controller, damaged crystals and loose parts. The second didn't even start and also had parts missing.

Now on to the third. The controller and the tank didn't even light up. Parts missing again (smoke oil, bullets and aerial for the controller). I visited my local model shop that had a second hand one available for an expensive £70 - unfortunately it was the bulldog model and had some wear and tear but at least I could see it running.

If you are going to get one get it from amazon - pain free returns!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews