Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini Camcorder
The Veho Muvi camcorder is the smallest camcorder I know of that takes serious quality SD film. I use these camcorders for filming both Off and On road cycling events and and it really is an excellent camcorder for this purpose. It's size and weight mean that it's not going to cause any weight problems or obstructions while fit on the cycle. I use a heart rate monitor...
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by M Carroll

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK cam, poor audio nice features, OS support sucks.
I bought one of these cameras to use as a helmet cam. Let's start with the pros and cons:

Pros:
- OK, image quality in daylight (720p).
- Clip mounting included.
- It's very small size makes the cam easier to carry than a GoPro.
- Decent range of accessories including various types of mounts (requires optional sports pack).
-...
Published 3 months ago by Kristjan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini Camcorder, 9 Jan 2011
By 
M Carroll - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
The Veho Muvi camcorder is the smallest camcorder I know of that takes serious quality SD film. I use these camcorders for filming both Off and On road cycling events and and it really is an excellent camcorder for this purpose. It's size and weight mean that it's not going to cause any weight problems or obstructions while fit on the cycle. I use a heart rate monitor bike mount to secure the camcorder to my bike and 'O' seal rings (available from car suppliers) to secure the camcorder to the heart rate monitor mount. I have used this camcorder to film Road Races, Cyclo Cross, Mountain biking and Time Trials and not had a problem with the adapted bracket (HRM Mount) yet. The film quality is not up to broadcast standards but if you are using it with a standard definition camera it's fine. I have tested several of these and on average the battery will last about 70 minutes on a full charge I match this with a 4GB micro SD card which will record about 80 minutes of film on the camcorder so they are well matched. The camcorder is not waterproof but it does come with mini rain cover that has protected my camcorders in very light rain so far. There is an actual waterproof casing now on the market that can be purchased for full water protection as an after sales item, but I have not test one. The camcorder is supplied with a bundle of mounts which are useful, but I tend to adapt cycle light mounts and other rigours mounts for mounting the camera to my cycle. When Veho make a true HD camcorder of this size I'll be the first to buy one but for now if you don't mind SD quality this little gadget is about the best camcorder of it size and price out there for cyclists (My opinion). The included software is not really needed to use the camcorder all you need is a usb cable (included) for charging the camcorder and transferring files. I use a micro SD card reader to transferee files as it's simple, just drag the files onto the hard drive once open and view the files in windows or in Quicktime if using a Mac computer. I use these on both Mac and PC's with no problem. Only thing with a Mac it's best to reformat the micro SD card after transferring the files to your hard drive otherwise you tempoarily loose the storage spacetaken up by the video files on the card until you do. A HD version at this size would be perfect, but for now this camcorder is about as good as they come in SD format for it's size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veho Muvi Pro, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
I've had the device for over a month now.
Pros:
-good workmanship
-metal case
-good picture quality in good light conditions
-voice activation mode (can stay in standby for a very long time, gives you more recording time)
-records and saves till battery runs out
-pc camera mode

Cons:
-low picture quality in low light (blurs the edges)
-small resolution
-price
-missing frames with lower than class 6 card
-sound quality
-no white balance (seems to be balanced for daylight)
-short operating time (app. 70 mins)
-long charging time (between 1-2 hrs)
-does not take photographs
-does not support USB2 (you will need a card reader as downloading time without is very long)
-does not record while being charged
-weight
Overall: would recommend due to good workmanship, good picture quality in good light conditions, reasonable operating time, although the price is a bit to high in comparison to other similar devices.Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK cam, poor audio nice features, OS support sucks., 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
I bought one of these cameras to use as a helmet cam. Let's start with the pros and cons:

Pros:
- OK, image quality in daylight (720p).
- Clip mounting included.
- It's very small size makes the cam easier to carry than a GoPro.
- Decent range of accessories including various types of mounts (requires optional sports pack).
- Waterproof housing available (optional item).
- Can record approximately 2 hours and 30 minutes of video (8GB card)
- The sound activated recording feature is actually pretty cool and works reasonably.
- The cam comes with a Standard USB to Mini USB adapter and a little bag that is just big enough for the cam with clip attached, a Micro SD card adapter and the USB adapter.

Cons:
- The cam only comes with a 4Gb card even though the cam can handle an 8GB one.
- Would it have killed Veho to include a Micro SD to SD adapter? It is *WAY* faster than the cable connection.
- The cam will only work as a webcam with Windows (which sucks for Mac/Linux users like me).
- Transferring files over the included cable is sloooooooooow.
- Audio quality is poor (full of noise).
- The software that was included was underwhelming to say the least.
- It does not seem to be possible to change the default sound triggered recording time (2 min).
- As far as I know the cam cannot take snapshots without external software.
- It would be kind of cool to be able to hook the cam up to an external sensor for use as a critter cam (wildlife observation).

My €0.02:
It's a nice cam if, like me, all you want to do with it is stick it on your head and film yourself charging down a mountainside on your bike or strap it to your shotgun during while dusting clay pigeons in which case the poor audio quality won't matter so much since you'll probably dub over the soundtrack with heavy metal music anyway. I also use this camera an improvised dash cam in my car. The non removable timestamp is a bug if you want this cam for civilian uses but a feature if you want it for professional reasons (i.e. you are a cop, security guard, etc.) since you get evidence quality recordings. The OS support just plain sucks, the camera will not work as a webcam with anything other than Windows which is a major bummer since hooking it up to an embedded computer like Raspberry PI would open up all sorts of possibilities (such as multiple dash-cams with GPS data overlay, using the cam with Robot OS to convert your RC plane/car into a robot or a drone... and that's just what I can think of in 3 seconds). The sound triggering feature works well enough even if one does not seem to be able to lengthen the default recording time of 2 minutes (longer if another spike of 65 db or more is received before the 2 minutes are up). Testing this feature by putting it on a table in my living room filming the wall I found that after over 12 hours the Camera was still reacting to sound triggers which makes this cam potentially useful for trapping thieves and trespassers (human or animal). I recommend buying this cam with a Micro SD to SD adapter, especially if you, like me, have a Laptop who has a built in SD slot since it shortens the time it takes to download videos off the Micro SD card by a factor of 10. Downloading 1.2Gb of video took 18 minutes over a cable, using the below Micro SD adapter (which comes with an 8Gb Micro SD card) it took about a minute: Kingston 8GB Micro SD HC - Class 4

P.S. As others here have pointed out you can set the time by creating a file named time.txt containing the time in this format: 'YYYY.MM.DD hh:mm:ss'. Put the file in the root of the Micro SD card's file system and restart the device. The file should now be gone and the camera's internal clock should be set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Cam, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
Small, good quality, take good footage in day light. I cycle in London with it on my helmet, very good insurance. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veho feedback, 20 Sep 2010
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
Excellent clarity for such a small piece of kit , used for all purposes both work and home,
A small item but packs detailed clarity.
Simple to use - point and shoot.
Well worth the money would highly recommend to anyone contemplating in purchasing such this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Veho VCC Pro, 21 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
Everything Good but one thing for me and that's the Date and Time stamp on your video cannot be switched off,meaning everything you film ends up with relatively large green numbers in bottom right of screen,if you can live with this all is good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad... I would like to see an upgrade, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
Quality of recording is okay, if left recording inside in total silence there is a hissing noise form the sensitive microphone but who buys this to record an empty room?
I just wish this had a longer battery life, it needs to be charged every 90minutes or so but it works fine as a quick small back up to any other recording units you have. Probably best for discreet recording of altercations such as car crashes, protests, police interactions etc. It is discreet enough that most people wouldn't notice it if you position it correctly.
I don't like the crocodile clip at back, it isn't strong enough to hold the unit upright on your jacket and spins and comes loose too easily.
Considering trying the muvi Veho VCC-005-MUVI-HD10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For its size, its a brilliant camera, 22 Feb 2013
By 
J. Mackenzie (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
This camera is not only brilliant for discrete recording and for sports, this camera also functions as a web cam which is also of good quality. Overall a good camera for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit pricey for what it is, 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
Although a great little toy, I wouldn't use this camera for anything serious. The picture quality is quite poor considering the number of mega pixels it has. I have an old 800 kilo pixel camera that takes far better pictures, and my phone takes far better movies with the same number of mega pixels.The main attraction for me was the small size and built in battery for easy charging. Also the fact that it uses standard micro SD cards and has voice activation.

The first one I received had a battery life of under two hours, nowhere near the three hours advertised, so I contacted Muvi and they were happy to swap it out for me. I must say that their service is very good. The next camera still didn't last three hours, just over two and a half hours it powers off. I decided to keep it anyway because I can't see myself filming for that length of time without being able to charge in between.

Having got used to it now, there are a couple of things that really bug me and that is when the battery dies it loses the last chunk of footage, plus I often get movies that can't be read because they are corrupt. I have tried using different cards and I have tried using video repair software but the videos are well and truly lost so I have to delete them. These are the main reasons I call this a toy rather than a serious product. There are similar items out there for a fraction of the price that seem to produce the same results. They are also compatible with the Muvi kits (which are really excellent!), so have a good look around and a good think before you buy. Muvi does have a very tough casing, so I think it will take a lot more punishment than the very cheap plastic cased ones out there.

The voice activation isn't bad but for my own purposes I really need video activation.This brings me to another little problem, there is a constant background noise on the footage. The noise gets louder as the battery goes down. It's ok for a toy though, you can still hear what is said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Veho VCC-003-Pro - Muvi Pro Micro DV Camcorder with 4GB Micro SD (Electronics)
If you got this in a cheap Christmas cracker you might be mildly amused. If you paid good money for it (as I did) you'll feel cheated.
It randomly cuts out while recording, although there is plenty of memory and battery life remaining. So, if you think you've captured the moment when that car pulls out in front of your bike ... you probably haven't!
Also, it actually takes longer to upload the footage to my computer than it does to shoot it!!
Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews