Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars516
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2013
Well, probably not a good thing!
Small, neat and effective and with it's little pouch attaches to the camera strap.
Yes it is Infra Red, no it is not WiFi..Exactly as described.
Works well for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
The remote is great. Does exactly what I want and need it to do. It allows me to remotely fire my camera while it is mounted on a tripod, thus minimising the chance of motion blur.

What is disappointing is that I bought this to replace an RC-1, which I lost - my own fault - in a field somewhere in the Scottish wilderness.

The RC-1 had the exact same functionality as the RC-6 but was a much smaller form factor and was provided with a clip to attach it directly to your camera strap. Up until I lost the RC-1 it was always available when I required it. Now I need to remember to pack the RC-6 as it is not practical to attach to the camera long term.

If you need a remote, you can't go wrong with this. It is just a pity Canon stopped producing the RC-1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
This is tiny. I was amazed at how small and inobttrusive this was.
The case clips to your camera strap and does not impede or get in the way.
For those occasions when you want be adjust other things while still taking the shot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I have used this control with my Canon EOS 5D Mark III and it does a pretty good job. The remote comes in a tiny protective case, it has got a battery and the two modes allow for single shot and for a timer function. Although I have not used it frequently, it has been of great help when I have needed it! Let's face it, for this rather low price, the remote is simply a must-have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
This product worked straight out of the box. Its obviously not so useful if you need to be behind the camera in terms of activating the shutter but I have another gadget for that purpose.. Its really light, compact and easy to use. The supplied pouch means it can be attached to your strap and forgotten about until needed so less likley to go astray in a bag or backpack..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
Pretty small device (the main picture in the corner isn't far from being actual size!) but does what it needs to. Has a little switch on the back which toggles between immediate shot and a two-second delay (check that your camera supports it) which works a treat on my 550D.
Comes with its own little pouch which can attach to the camera strap.

Cool little device...

also, it can be used to start/stop video recording, assuming you've put the camera into video mode first :)
55 comments|129 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
At first I wasnt sure if it was going to work, but nevertheless, I was wrong, as it's perfect. Connects easily and does the job. Range is perhaps a little short, (10m ish approx) . It's a great buy. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
Ideal little piece of kit. you can clip this in its bag to your camera strap or place in one of the small pockets of your camera bag. its ideal use is for when the camera is on a tripod, set for animal/bird pictures or small baby photos when everything is set up and you are away from the camera waiting for the that perfect moment. Very well made as you would expect from Canon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
This unit is really, really compact. As another reviewer has said, it's only just bigger than the product photo! It's a simple enough design with a single shutter release button on one side, and a tiny switch on the back that selects either single shot or 2-second timer release. Note that even if you set your camera to 10-second timer release, having the 2-second option selected on the remote will override it.

The remote comes with a tiny pouch that has a loop for threading it onto your camera strap. It also has a small eyelet near the bottom corner for attaching a wrist cord, should you wish to do so. It features a bumpy top surface with a raised shutter release button, so you can operate it without needing to look away from the camera. Finally, it takes CR2032 batteries which are cheap and easy to find.

The main issue I have with this remote, as do many others, is that it's infra red. This reduces the effective range in many situations, particularly outdoors on sunny days. Also, the infra red receiver on many EOS cameras is bizarrely located in the recess of the hand grip. This means that from camera left the lens can block the infra red signal, and from camera right with wide angle lenses the hand grip can do the same. Users need to be aware of this limitation when planning shots, and use a more appropriate piece of kit like a cable release or radio trigger if need be.

For the situations this remote is suited to, it works well. It's consistent, reliable, and discreet.

I'm taking off one star for the fact that the usefulness of the remote is hobbled by its reliance on infra red communication, and because it should be supplied with compatible models as standard instead of being used to gouge even more cash from loyal customers. Neither of those things is worth a whole star in its own right.
22 comments|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
very easy to use, very responsive. works a wonder with tripod. You can take perfect picture if you set your camera on a tripod, without help of a stranger. didn't test for long distance yet.

especially useful if you use tripod, and this on a beach holiday to Maldives or any place similar. as there are not many people there to help you, or they dress too less to help you. also the sand can be easy for you to set your tripod to any position for a perfect photo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 88 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)