Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Man can do NO wrong
I have seen Dennis live on his own, with Bill Wyman and the RK's and with a backing group - he is sensational, his energy is boundless and he is a joy to see. Post Cool is certainly different from his previous CD's and maybe needs a couple of listens then it just takes off - now I can't stop playing it.
Published on 5 April 2010 by D

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Saw Dennis on stage in Durham last week and he was awesome! Like others I did not purchase the albume at the show but got a better deal on Amazon. Seeing that nine of the tracks on the album had been performed live I could not wait to hear it. I'm disappointed. On a number of the tracks the vocals are overshadowed by the music, stifling Locorriere's excellent voice. The...
Published on 28 Sept. 2010 by Del Boy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Man can do NO wrong, 5 April 2010
By 
D (England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Post Cool (Audio CD)
I have seen Dennis live on his own, with Bill Wyman and the RK's and with a backing group - he is sensational, his energy is boundless and he is a joy to see. Post Cool is certainly different from his previous CD's and maybe needs a couple of listens then it just takes off - now I can't stop playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY COOL!, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Post Cool (Audio CD)
I have not heard the album yet, but I did see Dennis Locorriere in concert at Liverpool's Philharmonic Hall, where he played many of the songs from Post Cool and all I can say is I CAN'T WAIT TO HEAR IT!
The lyrics are, in turn, poignant, deep, funny, romantic and very philosophical and the music perfectly compliments each song.
He has a wonderful band with him this time - DL says they are the same musicians that are on the album - and, together, they make the old songs and the new sound current and of a piece.
DL on stage is something special to behold. His voice is as strong as ever. Dare I say it, maybe even better than it was in the past.
His stage presence is awe-inspiring and commanding.
Many of today's artists could learn a few things from seeing and hearing this man.
See Dennis Locorriere in concert and BUY THE NEW ALBUM!
You'll be thrilled you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dennis Locorriere - The Voice, 9 April 2010
By 
R. Pearl (worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Cool (Audio CD)
Most of you reading this will know that DL was the 'voice of Dr Hook' however with this album I think that Dennis should now just be known as the 'voice'. It's a unique instrument, like Presley, Lennon, Orbison or Springsteen you never mistake DL for anyone else. Post Cool is a great album, superb songwriting great arrangements and the band are hot. 'Ask Her' is a wonderful track, scathing, amusing and it rocks. If you are a Hook fan, buy it. If you are a DL fan buy it. If you are a music fan who likes honest well written material, buy it.Post Cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Post Cool Is Cool, 12 April 2010
By 
P. WHITFIELD (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Post Cool (Audio CD)
This CD is absolutely superb, stand out tracks on first hearing are Dance On Daddy's Feet and Ask Her. But on further listening the other 11 tracks raise their heads and let you know they're just as good. Those who remember Dennis from Dr. Hook will not be disappointed in his voice or the songs those who don't know him will not be disappointed as his voice is superb and the songs are superb. If you only buy one album this year make it this one, and if you get the chance to see him then do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Dennis Locorriere, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Cool (Audio CD)
The Dr. Hook Voice.....can't be topped....
Different from a full band but strong emotion and song writing makes it special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical genius, 12 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Post Cool (Audio CD)
1st solo album from Dennis that I have bought, and it didn't disappoint. Don't think there is one song I didn't like. Even my 15 year old son, who is hard to please, loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fab!, 28 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Cool (MP3 Download)
I just love this album, this is Dennis alone at last and doing the thing he does best, writing and performing.
I see him live when ever I can and he never ever disappoints, and often performs some of these songs and of course Different Faces and Sinking Ship are poems in his brilliant book Whatever's Burning Now.
He has always had the sexiest voice ever and gets better with age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never disappoints, 4 May 2010
By 
Barry Spall (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Post Cool (Audio CD)
If you like Dennis, you will love this.
Lots of ballads and simple tunes, played beautifully.
Vastly underated person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Post Cool is COOL!, 21 April 2010
By 
Ian Pattenden "BOF5" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Post Cool (Audio CD)
An excellent album from a talented singer song writer with a distinctive voice which is now better than ever, in my view a must buy if you are a Dr. Hook fan or like that genre of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
M. Jennings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Post Cool (Audio CD)
Its a brilliant new album with a twist to his usual music love the addition of the clarinet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Post Cool
Post Cool by Dennis Locorriere (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews