Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star item
I now have 3 of these in use as backup drives. A pleasure to the eye, simple to use and a reliable piece of equipment
Published on 23 April 2012 by Michael Howard

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Startech 2.5" enclosure
The item is pretty rugged and smart looking. Downside is the Firewire cable provided don't fit my macbook pro. (different shape). You would think they would standardise these:-(
Otherwise not bad bit of kit.
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by Mr. J. K. Shields


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star item, 23 April 2012
By 
Michael Howard (Newark, Notts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech.com 2.5 inch USB FireWire SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
I now have 3 of these in use as backup drives. A pleasure to the eye, simple to use and a reliable piece of equipment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Startech 2.5" enclosure, 18 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. J. K. Shields (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech.com 2.5 inch USB FireWire SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
The item is pretty rugged and smart looking. Downside is the Firewire cable provided don't fit my macbook pro. (different shape). You would think they would standardise these:-(
Otherwise not bad bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's meant to, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech.com 2.5 inch USB FireWire SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
No issues. Works well. I've now bought a second one. I recommend this product. USB and FireWire flexibility at a good price was my reason for purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars USB Solid, FireWire problematic, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. G. Staniforth (Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech.com 2.5 inch USB FireWire SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
I was replacing my MacBook Pro's original HD with an SSD so I bought one of these cases to hold the new drive while I duplicated the current drive to it. I tried three times to do this with the case connected via FireWire cable and each time SuperDuper! failed with less than 5% copied over. I switched the connection to USB and the duplication went fine.

I thought the problem might be an incompatibility between the FireWire controller and the SSD but I having tested with the original internal (spinning platters) HD in the case and found the same problem.

Odd thing is I bought the same case in August 2012, put a terabyte 2.5 inch drive in it and it has since been working fine as a FireWire connected Time Machine external on my mother's Mac. Different firmware/chipset maybe?

With USB 3 enclosures much cheaper it's hard to see a reason to buy this if you can't rely on the FireWire functionality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech.com 2.5 inch USB FireWire SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
I replaced my MBP 320GB HDD with an SSD and wanted to continue using the old drive as an additional drive, and this enclosure server as the perfect one.

Use it on a day-to-day basic and have had no issues so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SATA Enclosure, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech.com 2.5 inch USB FireWire SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
Used the enclosure to clone a HD to SSD from my 2008 Macbook. Easy to install the SSD and made the cloning process much easier. All leads came with the enclosure and so no additional items to purchase. Construction is of a high quality which provides good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech.com 2.5 inch USB FireWire SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
Well made case , simple to set up I would definitely buy this again. Screws can be fiddly, but using the right screwdriver resolved this problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars whats not to like?, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Andrew D. Hart "andyroo77" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech.com 2.5 inch USB FireWire SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
Good enclosure with both firewire 400 and USB 2. Not rock solid but solid enough. Buy it, it does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped for, but at least it works., 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Startech.com 2.5 inch USB FireWire SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
I bought this to provide a firewire connection which would allow me to add to a 'daisy chain'. As it only has one Firewire 400 connector it has to be at the end of the 'daisy chain', or of course used on it's own.
It does work, and to be fair all enclosures which provide a Firewire connection are more expensive than the USB only enclosures.
Having said that, it does not have a quality feel, at least not to me personally. The main disappointment was that it was a very tight fit when the drive was added. Without the drive, the enclosure appears to assemble absolutely fine, but adding the drive makes everything a much closer fit, and there is a single component on the underside of the enclosure's circuit board which is in very hard contact with the outside of the case, and it is only after you tighten the assembly screws that it all looks OK from the outside. The fact that I know that there is a component hard against the inside, makes me a little concerned. Perhaps it's meant to be, but there is no mention of it in the instructions, so I don't really know.
As I said, it does seem to work well enough, but I wish I'd spent more now and got a higher quality enclosure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews