Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, entertaining and lots of shocks
Nothing new in the storyline but I enjoyed this as the charcters were all cool and the story has lots of twists. Just when I thought it had finished it continued to make a great finish, something most films are unable to achieve. Lots of gaps, unexplained happenings but overall this film had me interested to the end. Never a boring minute.Its fun, entertaining and I liked...
Published 18 months ago by A. Murphy

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Send you to an early Grave
Bill Moseley and Tony Todd were enough to get my attention here, never mind the talents of Clare Grant and Jillian Murray as the Graves sisters. Brian Pulido has pulled together quite a cast, but it seems he didn't have a plan once he'd got them. A basic plot of cat n mouse set in the Arizona desert sees the two sister hunted by the crazy religious hicks.

Has...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Geoff Woodbridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, entertaining and lots of shocks, 3 Mar 2013
By 
A. Murphy (Dorset, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Graves [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing new in the storyline but I enjoyed this as the charcters were all cool and the story has lots of twists. Just when I thought it had finished it continued to make a great finish, something most films are unable to achieve. Lots of gaps, unexplained happenings but overall this film had me interested to the end. Never a boring minute.Its fun, entertaining and I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Send you to an early Grave, 7 April 2010
By 
Geoff Woodbridge "365horror" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Graves [DVD] (DVD)
Bill Moseley and Tony Todd were enough to get my attention here, never mind the talents of Clare Grant and Jillian Murray as the Graves sisters. Brian Pulido has pulled together quite a cast, but it seems he didn't have a plan once he'd got them. A basic plot of cat n mouse set in the Arizona desert sees the two sister hunted by the crazy religious hicks.

Has it all been done before, and have we anything original here? Hills have Eyes, Texas Chainsaw. What's the real point here? OK, so there is a supernatural element thrown in for good measure, but for me, this didn't really work. The religious emphasis is what carries this film, although it takes a good hour to really get to the point at which stage Tony Todd steals the show, with the help of a swarm of flies and a gas which turns people into crazy things, demonically possessed.
Moseley is brilliant, but it doesn't seem like he's getting any kind of direction. He's read the script, wind him up and let him go, and he's excellent. I can't say as much to Grant and Murray who fall at the first hurdle. I'm not blaming the girls as they show real presence, but without the encouragement, we have a stage school performance from the pair. Actions and reactions from the Graves are crazy at times but mostly unrealistic. This is a problem with plot, and direction more than their ability which is misguided.

Misguided is a word which not only sums up the direction towards the actors, but also the plot as a whole. It's all over the place. It could have been quite an interesting piece if kept a little simpler, more along the lines of Wickerman meets Chainsaw with Christianity. But, take Todd and Moseley out of this film and you have even less. Never mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Average horror but still entertaining, 23 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Graves [DVD] (DVD)
No one plays unhinged quite like Bill Moseley. He absolutely steals the film and makes it his own. His character is very close to his Otis character from House of 1000 corpses and Devils rejects. He has all the best lines, scenes and to be forthright saves this from becoming just another b-movie. Clare Grant and Jillian Murray play a pair of sisters on a road trip; all is well until they visit the Skull City abandoned mine tourist attraction. But the mine and the folks of Skull City harbour terrible, worrisome secret. Will the girls get out alive? I can't really decide if the film wants to be a ghost film or straight up hillbilly slasher? I enjoyed the old school stalk and slash but not so much the reason why the crazy religious locals were killing outsiders. I don't want to give away too much, let's just say a demon God is involved. There are some conspicuous plot holes but the plot is thin to start with so I guess you can over look it. Though this is an average played by numbers horror. I still thoroughly enjoyed it. Some nice gory deaths and half decent special effects for a film on a small budget. Look out for Tony Todd in one of his latest cameos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead and Buried., 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Graves [DVD] (DVD)
There really isn't any reason for this movie to have been made. I don't really expect the average horror film to actually be scary, well made, or very original, but it should find some way to entertain. The Graves was just SO clichéd and uneventful, that not only would I recommend against watching it, but I really don't want to watch anything else by the writer or director ever. The story follows the two Graves sisters as they embark on a road trip which is supposed to broaden the little sister Abby's horizons before the big sister Megan goes off to start a new life in New York. Stopping off at a diner on a stretch of dusty highway, they soon realise that they're lost and are persuaded by a local waitress (A Nightmare On Elm Street's Amanda Wyss) that they should visit Skull City Mine instead of their intended destination. Once they arrive, their sightseeing trip turns into a fight for survival, as the occupants of Skull City want them dead.. The story is very flimsy but I figured how hard can it be to mess up a run-of-the-mill horror plot which also features some very attractive ladies? The Graves is a laughably bad experience. The acting, particularly from Clare Grant is shockingly awful and as the movie picks up speed, any semblance of realism is left firmly by the roadside thanks to an array of poor performances from all involved. Only the charismatic Bill Moseley offers anything approaching a decent character and he relishes his part as a murderous hick. The Candyman himself, Tony Todd is at his hammy worst, playing a ridiculously over-the-top Preacher and leaving any self respecting horror fan wondering where he might have misplaced his talent. As for the gore, some of it was make up fx while the rest was fake looking cgi and since nothing scary or interesting happens on the Graves B-movie road trip, it's not worth watching. The Graves can be skipped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't mind the other reviewers,but this is a Superb Movie!, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Graves [DVD] (DVD)
I don't care about Bill Moseley or who he ever might be,it are Clare Grant and Jillian Murray,who play the real stars,especially as one of them,got in the hands of one of the" skull miners",Clare Grant shows so much energy and willing to fight,for her sister and herself,that's what I call
persistence to the enemy,the biggest question,what are these persons in that,old skull mine,because they disappear in smoke and with a screaming noise,as soon as they are death,picked up by a sort of swarm,which seem to be the demon.
I can't remember a movie,where you see so much running,the both girls run for there lives,and the best part they both make it alive out of this nest of skull miners,so,another great A Plus,see for yourself,I really can this film highly recommend to everyone,who likes to see girls,who fight back and kill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful!, 18 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Graves [DVD] (DVD)
Not even a stellar performance by Tony Todd (candyman fame) can save such an underwhelming horror film where the plot for me was hard to fathom out, it lacked a good plot, a decent cast, and gore as well as the thrills and spills of what makes a good horror film.

and the other problem was the villains had too much of a short screen time meaning it was hard to get into why they where killing people for the sake of it, thought the theme should have just centred around pig man who was possibly the most scary and pyshcotic of murderers in the film.

BEST AVOID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Graves [DVD]
The Graves [DVD] by Brian Pulido (DVD - 2010)
4.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews