Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of their better ones
As far as the limitations of a comedy by the Broken Lizard group go this is pretty good.

I didn't warm to it immediately - initially i felt ready for dissapointment - i cant quite put my finger on it, but I often feel like this with all of their films.

It sounds stupid saying this with the films being so silly, but I tend to enjoy Broken Lizards...
Published on 7 April 2011 by Mr. D. Thompson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars bah
waste of money... simply that.
it's not that the movie is expensive but really...

should have checked it first in imdb...
Published 17 months ago by miguel costa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of their better ones, 7 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. Thompson "dan" (leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] (DVD)
As far as the limitations of a comedy by the Broken Lizard group go this is pretty good.

I didn't warm to it immediately - initially i felt ready for dissapointment - i cant quite put my finger on it, but I often feel like this with all of their films.

It sounds stupid saying this with the films being so silly, but I tend to enjoy Broken Lizards films more once the plot actually starts to develop. After all without the plots it is just a bunch of stupid slapstick jokes....I suppose that is what I am fearing - that it is just going to be an hour and a half of aimless jokes.

Fortunately this film does have a plot - as bizzare as it is! I have no idea how someone can make up a whole film from this odd concept.

Anyway - the film delivers the usual oddball characters we have seen before - and similar gross out jokes, but it never seems tired or overworked coz these guys appear to have so much fun in the production of it - it makes it hard to not laugh at their over the top tomfoolery.

As with most of their films - best enjoyed with alcohol and firends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Broken Lizard fans, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] (DVD)
Another hilarious outing from the broken Lizard boys. Not sure why it didn't get much publicity in the UK but definitely worth watching. Genuine laugh out loud moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars bah, 4 Feb 2013
By 
miguel costa (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] (DVD)
waste of money... simply that.
it's not that the movie is expensive but really...

should have checked it first in imdb...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the Broken Lizard collection, 18 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] (DVD)
iIt has some great laughs throughout it. The other cast out-with the Lizard crew are great. Other will say it isnt as good as Supertroopers or beerfest however it stands strongly on its own. Go on, look at the price. What have you spent that money on before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This place would make you Nutso!, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] (DVD)
I was slightly dissapointed by The Slammin Salmon, but that's only because I love the other Broken Lizard films so much and this one seemed a little under ambitious. However I still enjoyed the movie and am certain I'll like it even more upon repeat viewing and will probaly appreciate it's minimalist setting more. I hope they bring out another film soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :D, 4 July 2011
By 
H*28 "H" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect condition, arrived in good time. I have to say it may be THE funniest film I have ever seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Broken lizard return, 11 Oct 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] (DVD)
The Slammin' Salmon is an upmarket and very desirable Miami restaurant owned by 'the Champ' (Michael Clarke Duncan - The Green Mile) a former heavyweight champion of the world. After running up $20,000 of gambling debt to the Yakuza, the Champ has no option other than to force his waiting staff to raise the capital from the clientele. This puts them in a difficult position as they try to up-sell everyone onto the lobster and champagne, flirt outrageously and backstab each other in the pursuit of the promised $10,000 dollar prize to the top-selling waiter and avoid the 'broken-rib sandwich' to the lowest-selling. Hilarity ensues, but will the Champ get his cash in time to save his beloved restaurant?

After 2006's shockingly poor Beerfest, I was a little hesitant to pick up the latest offering from Broken Lizard (Super Troopers& Club Dread). However the Slammin' Salmon is a true comeback for the troupe, whilst the level of comedy delivered might not be complex or intricate, it does what you might expect from any of the Broken Lizard films - a concerted stream of laughs in the form of one-liners, physical comedy and solid acting. Featuring cameos from many of the usual suspects (Will Forte - MacGruber - amongst them) the Slammin Salmon is sure to star someone you will recognize.

All of the actors play their roles fantastically with no one really hogging the limelight, although it is difficult for favourites not to develop, think of this as Waiting but in a much classier restaurant and with a plot. If you're OK with lowbrow humour and approach this with low expectations, this film will deliver 90 minutes straight of laughs. Well worth a watch!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great! Funny movie, 30 July 2010
By 
Lucinda (NEWTOWNABBEY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] (DVD)
Another hit from Broken Lizzard! This movie is a welcomed addition to the collection! Not on par with Supertroopers but definately a hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 14 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] (DVD)
Exactly what I expected from Broken Lizard. Rudely funny. Possibly not as good as Super-Troopers but definately close. A good, no brains, comedy that would be perfect with some mates and beers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Slammin' Salmon [DVD]
The Slammin' Salmon [DVD] by Kevin Heffernan (DVD - 2010)
5.94
Usually dispatched within 7 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews