Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's that sound?
For the record, "Ghost Hunt" is an anime series based on a manga series based on a novel series. Surprising, it doesn't suffer in translation.

And "Ghost Hunt: The Complete Series" does an excellent job bringing home elaborate and genuinely eerie scares, based on curses, possessions, psychic powers and the occasional roaming ghost. It can be rather slow-moving...
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it's alright
I found the book a while ago and started reading, found this and as not very expensive thought I would give it a try. Each episode is 25 minutes long, and as it's a manga it is up to the usual standard. For anyone new to manga it's well drawn and written, although I did prefer the book as it is currently out of print, this works
Published 13 months ago by Helen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's that sound?, 24 Mar 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
For the record, "Ghost Hunt" is an anime series based on a manga series based on a novel series. Surprising, it doesn't suffer in translation.

And "Ghost Hunt: The Complete Series" does an excellent job bringing home elaborate and genuinely eerie scares, based on curses, possessions, psychic powers and the occasional roaming ghost. It can be rather slow-moving at times and some questions are left unanswered (just who is "dream Naru"?), but it has a winning mixture of comedy, horror and suspense.

After she destroys his camera and injures his assistant Lin, the icy "ghost hunter" Kazuya Shibuya (aka Naru) allows Mai Taniyama to work with him as his assistant -- he's investigating a haunted part of her school. They're soon joined by some professional exorcists: slinky Shinto priestess Ayako, renegade Buddhist monk Hosho, psychic Masako, and Catholic priest John Brown.

The little group soon find themselves dealing with many strange cases: a house oppressed by an evil doll and the ghosts of tormented children; a high school whose students and teachers are being tormented by strange apparitions; a Christmastime visit to a haunted Catholic church, and a ghost who likes to drench parkgoing lovers with water.

Then things take a darker turn when the gang is called in to deal with a school haunted by horrifying specters and fires; a vast labyrinthine house with a bloodthirsty secret; and finally a seaside hotel whose inhabitants have been possessed by vengeful spirits determined to stop any spiritualists who come around. Even worse, Naru has become possessed.

The supernatural stuff in "Ghost Hunt" is pretty intense stuff -- howling ghosts, haunted wells, curses, onmyodo, exorcisms, fox spirits, zombies, ouija, and a creepy possessed doll. Those who like a lot of action and melodrama will undoubtedly find all this to be rather slow, since every episode is a sort of supernatural detective story.

The overall series has a nice haunted house atmosphere, although the last couple arcs get flashier horrorwise (bloodbaths! Zombies!). There's a general atmosphere of overhanging dread, psychic/supernatural trivia (wooden effigy dolls) and eerie Japanese spectors (a buggy-eyed ghost that pulls a scythe out of its mouth). But fortunately the writers keep it from getting too grim with regular doses of humor, such as the rock'n'roll monk, or a romantic rivalry popping over Naru.

The big problem is that the otherwise satisfying open ending leaves some questions unanswered, such as Mai and Naru's budding relationship and the mystery of "dream Naru." Just what is going on there?

Mai is a likable heroine -- she's hardworking, honest and resilient, and seems to have some hidden psychic powers; Naru is a chilly, sarcastic teenage genius, but he has a lighter side that comes out in less stressful circumstances (his "talking pet coin"). And the supporting cast is a fun bunch -- the mellow, sweet Aussie priest, the strong-willed Ayako, the devious stalkerish Masako, the enigmatic Lin, and finally the hilarious rock'n'roll Buddhist cleric Hosho. And as the icing on the cake, all the voice actors are perfectly suited to their roles.

Ghosts, curses and bizarre occurrences abound in "Ghost Hunt: The Complete Series." It moves rather slowly at times, but has the right balance of comedy, suspense and horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, chilling, awesome anime., 9 April 2011
By 
Emma Moore (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Mai Taniyama was your average high school freshman, until one day after school she meets Kazuya Shibuya (who she nicknames Naru the narcissist)as she and her friends exchange ghost stories. The next day, curious to look inside the old school house, which is rumoured to be haunted, she causes Naru's assistant Lin to be injured. Unable to replace the camera that was broken during the accident, Naru asks Mai to be his temporary assistant while Lin recovers to pay of the debt.

Mai is soon pulled into the mystery behind the school house hauntings and makes some new friends along the way. Including a monk, a shrine maiden, a medium and a priest. Ghost Hunt incorporates the perfect mixture of suspense, intrigue, humour, romance and horror. Naru, is truly a narcissist, with a huge amount of pride, but you can't help but love him, as well as the good natured Mai, who finds herself thinking of her friends as her own little family, something she previously didn't have. Each case the team works on spans 3 to 4 episodes, though one case is only one episode long, allowing each story to be extremely well developed and slowly revealed.

The English Dub, is also of a great standard, with the voices of Todd Hakerborn as Naru (also known for voicing Watanuki in xxxholic, Death the Kid in Soul Eater) and Cherami Leigh as Mai (Himawari in xxxholic, Patty in Soul Eater). Other well known actors include J. Michael Tatum as Lin (Kyoya in Ouran Host Club) and Collen Clinkenbeard as Ayako (Yuko in xxxholic). If you like stories about spirits and haunted houses, this is the anime for you. Some of the cases Mai and Naru investigate are truly chilling, and others extremely sad; you are sure to be gripped to each episode, eager to know what will happen in the end. I highly recommend this anime to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it., 20 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. J. Lunn (Barnsley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I got this bought for me by a friend who knew i liked the series.
I havent read the manga books but i know that the anime is excellent.
Honestly, its as scary as any real life scary movie, even if it is a cartoon! The second to last 'file: The Bloodstained labyrinth' is so scary i couldn't watch it alone.
The characters are mysterious and the backgrounds for each aren't revealed straight away, which is suppose is the only downfall because i would've liked to know more.
Also the romance between the two main characters; Naru and Mai, is thrilling, i really want them to get together!

Cant wait for a series 2! :)
Sophie Lunn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Late Game Save, 15 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
It is a sad truth that nowadays it is very hard to find a really good horror TV show and this goes double for the world of Anime, so along comes Ghost Hunt that has a quote on the back cover calling it "Ghostbusters meets Most Haunted" and that is pretty apt since most of the series involves the characters taking pot shots at one another and thing falling over whilst no-one is around.

So I will get the biggest (and some would say fatal) flaw of this series out of the way right now. The show isn't scary...most of the time. The thing it really puts me in mind of is kids shows like Goosebumps and Are You Afraid of The Dark and as I was watching most of the show I kept thinking that if I where 12 years younger I would be hiding behind the cushions for sure.

The complete lack of gore or any real horror (or any swearing for that matter) will make you wonder exactly why this show is rated 15. The answer to that is also my biggest compliment of the show in that once it does pick up it really does become a great little piece of horror, with The Bloodstained Labyrinth being the only one to really crank up the horror and actually get my blood pumping.

Sadly though that arc doesn't begin until 18 episode in and as soon as the show seems to be growing some teeth and really utilising its subject matter and medium (movies like Paprika have shown exactly how disturbing animation can be) it ends and you are left feeling cheated out of more good horror.

Luckily the main cast of the show are generally a likeable bunch and they actually go to surprising lengths to keep the visuals varied by constantly switching out the clothes that Mai and few of the other main characters wear from day to day and whilst most of the stories are not scary they rarely dip in to unbearable tedium( first arc notwithstanding) and can get the odd moment of unease going.

So in conclusion this is a mostly toothless little Supernatural series with a little sting in its tale that is great value for the price it being offered at. Well worth a look if you are needing to scratch that ghost story itch...just not scratch it too hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hauntingly fun, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I feel no shame in admitting I love manga at the ripe old age of forty..erm...something, having got hooked on it as a teenager and followed it ever since.
This is one of my more recent purchases and is great fun. As with most manga, the girls speak either as though they've inhaled too much helium or eaten too much sugar, Mai (the lead female) especially, while the men monotone or camp their way through the action.
The basic premise is that a teenage girl, Mai, becomes involved (through breaking a camera and injuring someone) with Naru the Narcissist, a teenager himself but who runs a ghost hunting bureau. Like a lot of the better manga series, a lot of time is given over to character developement (I'm a girl therefore I scream an awful lot; I'm a boy, therefore look out sullenly from under spiky fringe) and the first actual 'haunting' isn't that exiting. And the first episode, without argument, is so totally cheesy and flinch-able that it falls into that rare genre of "so bad its good!".
As the characters settle down, more emphasis is given to storytelling. The labyrinth episodes especially, might not be for the younger viewer, though up until this point it wouldn't be out of place on children's TV.
I gave it a 4 because there a a couple of duff episodes in there, no denying. The Park episodes are to be avoided at all costs.
But the fantastic theme music, as the opening to a Ghost Hunting TV series, is so suited to the series its ... well ... creepy!
A real must for family halloween viewing, and such a shame there is (at the moment at least) no second series, because there is such potential for it to develope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An odd series, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This was an odd series but i loved it! If you like Anime go for it! You will not be disappointed...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Hunt review, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Im still watching this anime and up to now i have enjoyed it, the episodes are well written and thought out and their are also elements of humour and comedy in this anime as well.

The overall animation is briliant, i give this anime 4/5 and would reccomend it to anyone who is is a fan of paranormal science fiction or anyone who just enjoys stories about ghosts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woah!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is some scary doodah! Excellent stories, good overall plot and characters that have strengths and flaws. I hope there's a series two coming soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The anime is short yes, but for the price as well as the fun and genuine scares involved, it's totally worth it. There's a little bit of everything and I would fully recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it's alright, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I found the book a while ago and started reading, found this and as not very expensive thought I would give it a try. Each episode is 25 minutes long, and as it's a manga it is up to the usual standard. For anyone new to manga it's well drawn and written, although I did prefer the book as it is currently out of print, this works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD]
Ghost Hunt: the Complete Series [DVD] by Rei Mano (DVD - 2010)
£18.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews