Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars western martial arts gets the big budget recognition it deserves
A superb documentary film, I really enjoyed this. It spans a breadth of different interests in the sword, without becoming too hollywood in its approach. It starts by looking at swords in film, and actors that used them, then moves on to modern takes on swordfighting like sport fencing, re-enactment and real time fight choreography, to put the use of swords into a current...
Published on 4 May 2010 by sigmund ringeck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reclaiming the Blade
This DVD starts well, detailing the use of swordplay in films & delving into the history of the sword as a weapon.
Interveiws with LOTR star Viggo Mortensen & Karl Urban, mixed in with commentary from sword experts that work with the stars.
It's a tad too long, & I'm afraid i switched off once they started a long piece on re-enactors.
Published 17 months ago by Emsworth Hermit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars western martial arts gets the big budget recognition it deserves, 4 May 2010
This review is from: Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] (DVD)
A superb documentary film, I really enjoyed this. It spans a breadth of different interests in the sword, without becoming too hollywood in its approach. It starts by looking at swords in film, and actors that used them, then moves on to modern takes on swordfighting like sport fencing, re-enactment and real time fight choreography, to put the use of swords into a current context. It then moves on to more historically accurate swordfighting techniques which are now being revived by numerous clubs that are studying the original source training manuscripts and "reclaiming the blade" by relearning what has been lost and forgotten. It shows Western / Historical European Martial Arts in a very positive light, without being derogatory to sport fencing or re-enactors, successfully pointing out some important differences between these disciplines. It goes on to discuss a particularly rare 6 stranded northumbrian sword. The camerawork is very good throughout, and the music sets the right mood. A very well put together documentary and im looking forward to Reclaiming the Blade 2 - A call to arms, which is set to delve deeper into western martial arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] (DVD)
This doesn't go all that much in the details, but as a nicely and entertainingly done introduction to the subject I like it. While there is lots, and easy to find, material about the fighting methods developed in places like China and Japan before the advent of firearms, European swordsmen were no sloughs compared to them and we should, perhaps, pay a bit more attention to them too, at least those of us who are among their descendants. Respect your heritage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting DVD with some equally interesting extras, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this DVD du to my interest in martial arts and stage combat. This DVD shows the evolution of the sword from its origins as a weapon of war to its use in cinema, and the new wave of martial artists seeking to re-establish the sword as form of western martial arts. It includes interviews with legends of the world of dramatic combat, as well as those with a passion for the sword. But there'll jewel in this crown is the extras that include some how-to tutorials with the sword and a short documentary about the growing trend in America of people studying as Jedi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really nice, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] (DVD)
Very well made - the additional material is a bit blown up; could have done with less. But apart from that, very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reclaiming the Blade, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD starts well, detailing the use of swordplay in films & delving into the history of the sword as a weapon.
Interveiws with LOTR star Viggo Mortensen & Karl Urban, mixed in with commentary from sword experts that work with the stars.
It's a tad too long, & I'm afraid i switched off once they started a long piece on re-enactors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like swords then watch this, 21 Jun 2012
By 
R. Moffatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] (DVD)
Nicely put together video with a lot of content I had not seen before. Well filmed and nicely put together makes for entertaining as well as educational viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reclaiming the blade, 12 Sep 2010
This review is from: Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] (DVD)
While it was interesting to a degree, it's a shame the producers opted for the current style of documentary i.e. 'info-tainment' using style over substance. Too much music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Of intereast to those who want to know more, 7 May 2012
By 
Mr. Steven Fynn (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] (DVD)
The disk that is meant to be a film (at least it calls itself this) is no more than a documentary relating to the use of the blade in film and through the ages. It is well put together but really of little intereast to anybody who does not have intereast already. The second disk is full of and at times to numerous shorts on differing types of skills using blades, manufacture, description/catalouging, some short training clips of differing fightig forms, and then in my opinion to many shorts about the making of and direction of the film. If you are intereasted in sword fighting in any form and how it might fit into films then it might be worth giving a chance, if not save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 27 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] (DVD)
I took up fencing recently and I came across this dvd on the website. From the preview I saw, I expected something more but it is ok if you are interested in the history of fencing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WMA at last!, 30 July 2009
By 
I have just watched this movie and I must say at last Western Martial Arts has been given a chance to hold its head high. Well done to all those who helped to bring 'real' WMA to the big screen. I hope this is the start of things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8f7eac)

This product

Reclaiming The Blade [DVD]
Reclaiming The Blade [DVD] by Daniel McNicoll (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: 89.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews