Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value product
I've purchased this charger for a backpacker friend who's always on the move and he says he works just fine, it's very good for travelling and versatile
Published 24 months ago by lexi

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very dissapointed
I bought this to use when camping and charging my iphone as it seemed good value for money and some of the reviews rated the product well. Unfortunately for me when it turned up I soon realised that despite having lots of various adaptors, not one of them fitted an iphone, ipod etc. Secondly the battery only worked once! After that I couldn't get any charge out of it even...
Published 22 months ago by M. R. Drake


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very dissapointed, 2 Nov 2012
By 
M. R. Drake "Martin Drake" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I bought this to use when camping and charging my iphone as it seemed good value for money and some of the reviews rated the product well. Unfortunately for me when it turned up I soon realised that despite having lots of various adaptors, not one of them fitted an iphone, ipod etc. Secondly the battery only worked once! After that I couldn't get any charge out of it even having left it in the sunshine for a number of days to ensure it was charged up.

In summary, I had to buy another adaptor for it to connect to my iphone and then only got one charge out of it before the whole thing stopped working. Definitely not value for money in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware Motorola Owners, 30 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Firstly, this does do what it says. It stores charge either from the USB input, via the provided mains supply or from a computer, or from a strong light source. In fact according to the LED it seems to charge from almost any internal light source as well as from the sun.

Secondly, it's damn good value for money.

There are a couple of major drawbacks though.

Number one is, despite the impressively wide array of adapters it is supplied with, none of them are the USB micro connector that has been the standard charging socket on almost all mobile phones for more than a year now. You do get a USB A socket so that you can plug in the cable that was almost certainly supplied with the phone, but this does seem to be a bit of an oversight.

Number two, and this is a biggy if you own a Motorola Defy, or I believe other types of Motorola phone. IT WILL NOT CHARGE YOUR PHONE!

This doesn't seem to be through any sort of fault with the charger, it is down to the fact that for some reason Motorola phones will not charge from the straight forward +5 V/0 V connection on the USB socket. After a bit of web snooping I discovered other people have had problems with similar products and a solutions was offered. This is fairly involves and requires you to short out two of the pins in the USB lead you are using to charge your phone. These pins are the Data+ & Data- pins, so obviously this lead is no longer any good as a data cable. That said, ten minutes at work with a Stanley knife, soldering iron and some insulating tape and I have made myself up a little adapter lead and it now charges my Motorola phone. The fact that this product will NOT work with Motorola phones really should have been made available in the product information.

So in summary, great if you do not have a Motorola phone, not so great otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
After a full charge I plugged it into my phone and it added about 1% power to my phone before giving up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars worked first time, only, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
worked well at first, charged a mobile for a while, but when it was left charging in the dark, the in-built battery drained and it started sapping the mobiles battery to charge itself. Even in beautiful blazing sunlight, the phone was draining rather than charging. Not great at a festival when there isn't any other charging options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Portable Solar battery, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
It doesn't have the mini USB connection so it's not compatible with Sony Xperia U and many others phones.
I can't say if that works well or not because I haven't been able to use, but the plastic on top of the solar panel was not okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This charger is no good for modern mobiles, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
It does not work, barely puts any charge into an MP3 or mobile phone, it is not worth buying, look for another product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value product, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I've purchased this charger for a backpacker friend who's always on the move and he says he works just fine, it's very good for travelling and versatile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Portable Solar Battery Charger, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The information given with the charger is very poor. I understood it would charge a mobile phone whilst connected. It does not.This is not made clear in the description or usage information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Its been in the 70s with bright sun here all week and this charger has sat in it. Still wont charge my phone, waste of money and is being sent back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DOES NOT WORK, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portable Solar Battery Charger 1350mAh - For Mobile Phone, Digital Camera, PDA, iPod, MP3 & MP4 Devices - Silver (Wireless Phone Accessory)
To put it simply: don't buy this thing,a waste of money, all the things they said in the description are false. It cannot charge anything, not phone,mp3 or computer, you need to buy a separate AC adaptor, but this thing cannot to any a, don't buy itc adaptor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews