Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£2.37
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2006
Opening with a noise that sounds suspiciously like someone belching into a microphone, Windowlicker opens into one of the most strange and brilliantly inspiring songs ever. It has the ability to sound all over the place, yet still stick to a tune and pattern, which is a pretty hard to do. I can't stand Formula (hence the 4 stars, otherwise it would have 5), its just unlistenable. Nannou is really fascinating. Its like a music box dancing accross a table top in the middle of the night.

I think the cover sort of defines it. Richard D James has invaded music, made it swallow a bomb and given the detonator to a monkey.

Inspired.
11 comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2001
Windowlicker is probably one of Aphex's most accessible tracks of recent times, starting with an almost R'n'B tinge, it proves to be a lot more chilled out than anything on his previous output, the RDJ album. The second track is an absolutely stunning piece of audacious electronica, reminicent of something from the Come to Daddy EP having gone through a food processor a few times. Truely madcore. Finally Nannou is a refreshingly melodic piece not dissimilar to Flim. I would definately recommend this single and envisage the first track appealing to quite most people while two and three specifically to those who liked Come to Daddy (Also, I think this version may contain the highly witty Chris Cunningham video which is also worth checkin out.)
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2007
I can't recommend this highly enough. The cartoonish electro sleaze on the actual track Windowlicker is Aphex Twin at his best. Formula is perhaps an aquired taste, it crosses over more into digital art rather than music (the face embedded in the sound waves) but is one of my personal favs of his. Nannou is an incredibly tranquil tune, the music box sounds remind me alot of what Sigur Ros did on Takk six years later.

Jist is, just buy this, it will be the best purchase you ever made.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
This vinyl is definitely a must for any Aphex Twin fan. The three tracks are Windowlicker, (Equation), and Nannou. All three songs are incredibly different, yet so much alike.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Awesome and interesting album. my only qualm is that the abrasive 2nd track, 'equation', is now stuck in my head, and is gradually degrading my sanity...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2007
This is a great starting place for anyone new to Aphex Twin. If you are already an Aphex fan then you've got this. Unless... well, then, you better buy this one quickly and not tell anyone that you didn't own it at one point.

If you know anything about Aphex Twin then you already know what the music on this single is going to sound like. Also, unless you don't own a TV, you have probably seen the video to the title track late at night. If you haven't, then, it's like the front cover but moving. Also, if you don't know anything about Richard D. James and his wonderful music then the songs sound like that cover.
The title track is his usual mix of genius electronic music, loud and abrasive drum - I'd like to say beats here, but, really it's less of actual beats and more of just beating the drums - and weird and terrifying sampled (I assume) vocals. It sounds simple enough but after Richard D. James gets his hands on anything, instead of turning to gold, it turns to Windowlicker.
Formula is weird, good; I like it anyway, but is basically just horrible noises for five minutes.
Nannou is a great song that's simple but not in anyway simple. I know you get me so don't pull that face. ... Actually, I can't even be bothered to write about it. It's just a really catchy music box tune.

Anyway, buy this now. It is worth it for Windowlicker and Nannou.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
Album as expected, delivery and price top notch. Thanks!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
a great tune, love this crazy guy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
worth owning on CD and never ever convert to MP3 its a crime.........this kinda dynamic quality is acheived only on CD
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Once again Amazon MP3 Download came to the rescue . I had the original whole album on CD , but wanted it on my computer- unfortunately this particular track was scratched and un recordable/un playable . SO recorded all the other tracks from the CD then Downloaded this track from Amazon .RESULT have now got the whole CD on my Computer Ready for all our wild Transexual Sex parties - Gay Vicar, Labour MP`S ,Chief Mason of the Grand White Buffalo Order, Police Commisioner,Top Coppers & City Coucillors included . NICE !
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.