Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Language Of Birds: Ian Anderson - A well kept secret!, 1 April 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is the third solo album from Jethro Tull frontman and guiding force Ian Anderson. Here we find him in a typically creative and playful mood. The songs are largely acoustic, with a folksy jazzy tinge to them. They are, however, all uniquely Ian Anderson's own personal style, and quite distinct from his work with Tull. This is a delightful album, good natured and full of humour (the double meaning of the album title for instance), and is a really feel good listen. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a delightful surprise - buy it now!, 26 April 2012
By 
Malcolm Alderton "malc20" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a long time Jethro Tull fan, I have always loved Ian Anderson's inventiveness and lyrics but for some strange reason I have never listened to any of his solo albums before now. I bought this following a recent gig where he performed TAAB and TAAB2 and overheard someone raving about some of solo albums. So glad I listened in.

This album is superb and wish I had bought it sooner - very jazz/ folk sound , very acoustic and flute driven and rapidly becoming a favourite album after 2 days!

Buy it , you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UP CLOSE WITH IAN, 24 April 2011
By 
Carlo Matthews "carlo" (Been Moving Around) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally the album fans have always demanded of Anderson -- and he delivers with aplomb, wit, finesse, and endless inventiveness. It's a wonder Birds hasn't become a classic among Tullites, since it easily surpasses Tull's outings from the nineties onwards. While it may not have the flying sparks of "The Witch's Promise" or the cheeky melodies of "LIfe's A Long Song", this acoustic dish satisfies more with each listening. Perhaps its near cult status owes to the fact that it steers away from rock and a heavy band sound, focusing on that folk playfulness Ian masters so charmingly.

The acoustic backdrop brings many treasures to the fore. Anderson's voice, for one. It feels effortless and nimble without the strain of a rock setting. While his enunciation in such a context allows him to bring out more shades of personality, it also evokes both a range of moods and genuine intimacy. Second, the songwriting is freer, jauntier, and often delicate and subtle. And in every song it's top notch. Further, there's a beguiling light touch, carefree yet wise as well as a wryly amused attitude to both the music and Anderson's observations.

My only quibble is with the seemingly digital engineering. The sound is shallow and a tad flat, highlighting how much more depth and roundedness acoustic instrumentation gains from analog recording. Well, one more quibble comes to mind. That's Gidding's orchestration. It veers dangerously towards the 'lite' side and robs the instrumentation of gravitas. Matter of taste, really.

Still, this is Anderson's best solo work (Rupi's Dance has nothing on Birds). Here's hoping a Part II is in the offing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album of accoustic guitar and flute based songs, 6 Dec 2000
On this album you can hear the many influences that are included from his travels around the world .Although primerily a rock/ folk singer Ian ndersons voice has never sounded better.It has a depth and maturity which fits in well with this particular type of album .If you like jethro tull you will enjy this album.if you like folk music you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 May 2014
By 
Ms Z. Braidy (Wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderful cd, well done Ian so proud of you, what more can I say everyone's said it. A MUST to have in your collection will be played lots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful album., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this album lyrically wonderful and as usual from Mr Anderson, his flute playing delightful. I listen to this album nearly every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Anderson review, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This for Tull fans is excellent a mixture of east and west musical instruments combined to give Ian Andersons original progressive rock folk style of music brilliant adoration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 4 Feb 2014
If this was a Tull album it would be up there with some of their best work. Great stuff Ian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Twitter, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Life long Tull fan. A very accomplished piece and a regular in my car CD player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Secret Language of Birds, 2 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent Album, Ian Anderson is great on acoustic type work even better than the Tull days. Strongly recommended BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret Language Of Birds
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews