Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.32
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2000
From the opening line "I Want Your Soul!" - this album makes some serious statements. The opening track is full of anger, fast cuts, and heavy breakbeats. On arrival at track 2, the extreme nature of this mini album becomes clear, the soft, flowing analogue nature of "Flim" is in stark contrast to the assault that is Track 1. On Progressing through the album your ears are treated to awesome experimentation of sound, changing and evolving all the time, heavy and soft, hard and harsh - all at once, in a contradictive way. Funny Little Man needs a mention as perhaps one of the strangest tunes I have ever heard, For those with the determination to sit out the heavy stuff... The final track IZ-US is excellent - purposeful, rhythmic and laid back. Almost Aphex Twin at its best.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
the title track is the only real thing that sticks in my mind after several playthroughts, although i am a great admirer of Aphex, i must admit that he has a reputation for mucking about, and the majority of tracks on this album are testament to this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
Before I bought this album I had only ever heard three Aphex tracks. One of those tracks was Come to Daddy and I purchased this album on the strength of that awsome song. The rest of the album did not dissapoint.

While Come to Daddy is the main attraction here and probably the best track, the rest of the album is not to be overlooked. Every single song is brilliant, especially the last one, which in my opinion is just as good as Come to Daddy and the other major reason for buying this album.

The tracks on this album are evil, beautiful, twisted, terrifying and wonderful all at once. This is brilliant and I am definitly going to be buying more Aphex Twin stuff.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2003
This was the first piece of Aphex Twin I had ever heard, and to say that it's a great single really doesn't do it justice. Richard D James's aggressive drum programming and use of surreal samples are true to the Warped label's consistently quirky form.
The presence of an eternal metallic scream, giving the track it's title, adds weight to the effect this work has. Haunting? Indeed. Uplifting? Maybe. Certainly not for anyone who doesn't appreciate a broad spectrum of musical styles and backgrounds. Teeny boppers, leave your 'crazy' school disco outfits at the door.
Seriously cool people will appreciate 'Come to Daddy', but don't stop at this track. Do check out more of Aphex's work, along with other Warped signings - namely Squarepusher.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2001
It's amazing how Richard D. James makes such a contrast in his music. To most people (excluding me) most of his music is barley listenable due to being very absract. Although nearly on every album he has made, there are delightful melodies which make you float around the room. This Mini Album is a perfect example. 'Come to Daddy' is a very disturbing rock/dance track, with the repeated lyrics "I WANT YOUR SOUL, I'LL EAT YOUR SOUL!" blasting from your speakers, you will be cowering behind your sofa. Then, all of a sudden, the next track 'Flim', takes you on a journey beyond the stars. The most abstract track on the CD has to be 'Bucephalus Bouncing Ball', which is the longest track on the album, which tells you that Richard must love playing with weird sounds and noises. Then, the Album ends with another heavenly melody 'IZ-US', making you thirsty for more of this musical genuis' work. A must buy for fans, if you're not a fan.... buy it anyway!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2010
Coming after the "Donkey Rhubarb" and before "Windowlicker" this is the 2nd in 3 legendery EP's released by Aphex Twin. Rather then releasing a studio album, EP's were made instead and while there is less material the quality is no worse then most studio albums. You could buy this one for "Come To Daddy" & "Flim" and forget about the rest. They represent 2 completely different sides of Aphex Twin. "Come To Daddy" is a death-metal/industrial riff with scary lyrics and one of the most famous music videos along with it. "Flim" is a lot softer and is one of Aphex Twin's best tracks. Short, sweet and beautiful it stands out.

Admittedly you could say the rest is all a joke by Aphex Twin at our expense. But what a joke it is. Bucephelus Bouncing Ball & Iz Us are also worth listening too. All in all not his best but worth 5 stars purely for the 1st 2 tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Richard has done an ace job on this album, with creepy and sadistic synth sounds and humorous bits from time to time that make you giggle and really indulge yourself in the music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 1999
having played this album to friends during those early hours of the morning after the night before, I have to say that it has succeeded in completely freaking out every person who has ever heard it in my presence. And that has nothing to do with me. This album is experimental music at its best - and it will also show off your hi-fi's capabilities, due to the incredible range of different sounds that this album emits. Try listening to 'Becaphalus bouncing ball' and I think you will see what I mean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
the styles on this CD are all over the place, butapart from "Come To Daddy (Little Lord Faulteroy Mix)" it flows perfectly. Come To Daddy is one of Aphex's most known tracks and this album has enough different styles of aphex's that someone buying this for the title track is in for a pleasant surprise musical journey through the mind of richard d james
contains brilliants such as "Film" and of course the title track "Come To Daddy (Pappy Mix)"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2004
Quite simply one of the best Hard Electronica recordings you will ever come across! I don't usually like vocals, but these are awesome, if not a little scary. If you get the opportunity to see, or buy, the video do not hesitate - one of the best music videos ever produced. Buy, listen and enjoy, but do not listen to alone late at night!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)