Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Extremes
From the opening line "I Want Your Soul!" - this album makes some serious statements. The opening track is full of anger, fast cuts, and heavy breakbeats. On arrival at track 2, the extreme nature of this mini album becomes clear, the soft, flowing analogue nature of "Flim" is in stark contrast to the assault that is Track 1. On Progressing through...
Published on 4 Mar. 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars for aphex twin... meh
the title track is the only real thing that sticks in my mind after several playthroughts, although i am a great admirer of Aphex, i must admit that he has a reputation for mucking about, and the majority of tracks on this album are testament to this.
Published 7 months ago by Ruaridh Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Extremes, 4 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
From the opening line "I Want Your Soul!" - this album makes some serious statements. The opening track is full of anger, fast cuts, and heavy breakbeats. On arrival at track 2, the extreme nature of this mini album becomes clear, the soft, flowing analogue nature of "Flim" is in stark contrast to the assault that is Track 1. On Progressing through the album your ears are treated to awesome experimentation of sound, changing and evolving all the time, heavy and soft, hard and harsh - all at once, in a contradictive way. Funny Little Man needs a mention as perhaps one of the strangest tunes I have ever heard, For those with the determination to sit out the heavy stuff... The final track IZ-US is excellent - purposeful, rhythmic and laid back. Almost Aphex Twin at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 19 Jun. 2007
By 
A. Weaver "Thing Witch" (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
Before I bought this album I had only ever heard three Aphex tracks. One of those tracks was Come to Daddy and I purchased this album on the strength of that awsome song. The rest of the album did not dissapoint.

While Come to Daddy is the main attraction here and probably the best track, the rest of the album is not to be overlooked. Every single song is brilliant, especially the last one, which in my opinion is just as good as Come to Daddy and the other major reason for buying this album.

The tracks on this album are evil, beautiful, twisted, terrifying and wonderful all at once. This is brilliant and I am definitly going to be buying more Aphex Twin stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check this s**t out., 2 July 2003
This review is from: Come to Daddy [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
This was the first piece of Aphex Twin I had ever heard, and to say that it's a great single really doesn't do it justice. Richard D James's aggressive drum programming and use of surreal samples are true to the Warped label's consistently quirky form.
The presence of an eternal metallic scream, giving the track it's title, adds weight to the effect this work has. Haunting? Indeed. Uplifting? Maybe. Certainly not for anyone who doesn't appreciate a broad spectrum of musical styles and backgrounds. Teeny boppers, leave your 'crazy' school disco outfits at the door.
Seriously cool people will appreciate 'Come to Daddy', but don't stop at this track. Do check out more of Aphex's work, along with other Warped signings - namely Squarepusher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stop making that big face!!!, 18 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
It's amazing how Richard D. James makes such a contrast in his music. To most people (excluding me) most of his music is barley listenable due to being very absract. Although nearly on every album he has made, there are delightful melodies which make you float around the room. This Mini Album is a perfect example. 'Come to Daddy' is a very disturbing rock/dance track, with the repeated lyrics "I WANT YOUR SOUL, I'LL EAT YOUR SOUL!" blasting from your speakers, you will be cowering behind your sofa. Then, all of a sudden, the next track 'Flim', takes you on a journey beyond the stars. The most abstract track on the CD has to be 'Bucephalus Bouncing Ball', which is the longest track on the album, which tells you that Richard must love playing with weird sounds and noises. Then, the Album ends with another heavenly melody 'IZ-US', making you thirsty for more of this musical genuis' work. A must buy for fans, if you're not a fan.... buy it anyway!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 29 July 2013
By 
Mr. J. Birkett "Birkett" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
Richard has done an ace job on this album, with creepy and sadistic synth sounds and humorous bits from time to time that make you giggle and really indulge yourself in the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars weird, scary, yet wonderful, 15 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
having played this album to friends during those early hours of the morning after the night before, I have to say that it has succeeded in completely freaking out every person who has ever heard it in my presence. And that has nothing to do with me. This album is experimental music at its best - and it will also show off your hi-fi's capabilities, due to the incredible range of different sounds that this album emits. Try listening to 'Becaphalus bouncing ball' and I think you will see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i will eat your soul, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
the styles on this CD are all over the place, butapart from "Come To Daddy (Little Lord Faulteroy Mix)" it flows perfectly. Come To Daddy is one of Aphex's most known tracks and this album has enough different styles of aphex's that someone buying this for the title track is in for a pleasant surprise musical journey through the mind of richard d james
contains brilliants such as "Film" and of course the title track "Come To Daddy (Pappy Mix)"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the daddy of Hard Electronica!, 6 Jan. 2004
Quite simply one of the best Hard Electronica recordings you will ever come across! I don't usually like vocals, but these are awesome, if not a little scary. If you get the opportunity to see, or buy, the video do not hesitate - one of the best music videos ever produced. Buy, listen and enjoy, but do not listen to alone late at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the daddy of Hard Electronica!, 6 Jan. 2004
Quite simply one of the best Hard Electronica recordings you will ever come across! I don't usually like vocals, but these are awesome, if not a little scary. If you get the opportunity to see, or buy, the video do not hesitate - one of the best music videos ever produced. Buy, listen and enjoy, but do not listen to alone late at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars post modern or prehistoric?, 21 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
i have found that a lot of the people i have played this ep to commented that it didn't really have a tune/beat/any sort of structure. these people are lazy. on first exposure to the work of richard d. james it is hard to fathom exactly what the listener is supposed to gain from the mix of off kilter percussion, vicious white noise and atmospheric keyboard noodlings. yet perseveerance will reward. those who don't understand will argue that music needs to have a tune or at least a constant rhythm yet this is like claiming that poetry must rhyme or art must perfectly resemble the subject, a neo-classical attitude which has generally been made redundant in art and poetry yet still restricts the music industry to an extent. however, labelling aphex twin's work as post-modern may be doing it a disservice as it is a term often associated with the phrase 'weird for the sake of weird'. and there is certainly a lot more influences to the structure of his work than random psychological creative processes. although these processes are strong, yet perhaps not so random. the apparently sporadic beats are the heartbeat of most tracks and only seem random when compared to the static thud thudding of most chart dance music. the range of sounds used also challenges the listeners sense of rhythm as melodies are created by percussion sounding instruments confusing the layers of the compositions. closer attention reveals strong pulses and drum ostinatoes running through most tracks. yet these overly complicated weaving structures are uderpinned by an instinctive feeling of modern primitivism. the obvious delight richard d. james takes in every beat or sound in a track mirrors a tribal, even prehistoric joy in his music, which the listener cannot help but appreciate. but despite his percussion fetishes james comes across as an accomplished composer, lacing intricate and beautiful piano melodies into the harsh electric backdrop. with each track as breath taking an example of intellectual electronica you are ever likely to experience. this disc resembles the most complicated quadratic equation, the most inspired work by picasso or the darkest most soul touching piece by poe rather than simply another cd single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come To Daddy
Come To Daddy by Aphex Twin
Buy MP3 Album£6.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews