Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Extremes
From the opening line "I Want Your Soul!" - this album makes some serious statements. The opening track is full of anger, fast cuts, and heavy breakbeats. On arrival at track 2, the extreme nature of this mini album becomes clear, the soft, flowing analogue nature of "Flim" is in stark contrast to the assault that is Track 1. On Progressing through...
Published on 4 Mar 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars for aphex twin... meh
the title track is the only real thing that sticks in my mind after several playthroughts, although i am a great admirer of Aphex, i must admit that he has a reputation for mucking about, and the majority of tracks on this album are testament to this.
Published 5 days ago by Ruaridh Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Extremes, 4 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
From the opening line "I Want Your Soul!" - this album makes some serious statements. The opening track is full of anger, fast cuts, and heavy breakbeats. On arrival at track 2, the extreme nature of this mini album becomes clear, the soft, flowing analogue nature of "Flim" is in stark contrast to the assault that is Track 1. On Progressing through the album your ears are treated to awesome experimentation of sound, changing and evolving all the time, heavy and soft, hard and harsh - all at once, in a contradictive way. Funny Little Man needs a mention as perhaps one of the strangest tunes I have ever heard, For those with the determination to sit out the heavy stuff... The final track IZ-US is excellent - purposeful, rhythmic and laid back. Almost Aphex Twin at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 19 Jun 2007
By 
A. Weaver "Thing Witch" (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
Before I bought this album I had only ever heard three Aphex tracks. One of those tracks was Come to Daddy and I purchased this album on the strength of that awsome song. The rest of the album did not dissapoint.

While Come to Daddy is the main attraction here and probably the best track, the rest of the album is not to be overlooked. Every single song is brilliant, especially the last one, which in my opinion is just as good as Come to Daddy and the other major reason for buying this album.

The tracks on this album are evil, beautiful, twisted, terrifying and wonderful all at once. This is brilliant and I am definitly going to be buying more Aphex Twin stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check this s**t out., 2 July 2003
This review is from: Come to Daddy [12" VINYL] (Vinyl)
This was the first piece of Aphex Twin I had ever heard, and to say that it's a great single really doesn't do it justice. Richard D James's aggressive drum programming and use of surreal samples are true to the Warped label's consistently quirky form.
The presence of an eternal metallic scream, giving the track it's title, adds weight to the effect this work has. Haunting? Indeed. Uplifting? Maybe. Certainly not for anyone who doesn't appreciate a broad spectrum of musical styles and backgrounds. Teeny boppers, leave your 'crazy' school disco outfits at the door.
Seriously cool people will appreciate 'Come to Daddy', but don't stop at this track. Do check out more of Aphex's work, along with other Warped signings - namely Squarepusher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 29 July 2013
By 
Mr. J. Birkett "Birkett" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
Richard has done an ace job on this album, with creepy and sadistic synth sounds and humorous bits from time to time that make you giggle and really indulge yourself in the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless electronica, 15 April 2013
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
Aphex Twin is a man of eccentric genius and his electronic music, whilst definitely not chart worrying, is something that should be experienced and appreciated. It is definitely not of instant appeal but stick with it and you are taken on a mindscape odyssey.

Come to daddy is a mini album whose title track is one of Aphex Twins best known tracks. The other tracks in here, indeed even the remixes of come to daddy, are incredibly eclectic, ranging from straight up ambient to quirktronica through jagged edged dance music with iceberg sized beats.

Definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 2nd Of 3 Classic EP's By Aphex Twin., 12 Dec 2010
By 
P. J. Shaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come To Daddy (MP3 Download)
Coming after the "Donkey Rhubarb" and before "Windowlicker" this is the 2nd in 3 legendery EP's released by Aphex Twin. Rather then releasing a studio album, EP's were made instead and while there is less material the quality is no worse then most studio albums. You could buy this one for "Come To Daddy" & "Flim" and forget about the rest. They represent 2 completely different sides of Aphex Twin. "Come To Daddy" is a death-metal/industrial riff with scary lyrics and one of the most famous music videos along with it. "Flim" is a lot softer and is one of Aphex Twin's best tracks. Short, sweet and beautiful it stands out.

Admittedly you could say the rest is all a joke by Aphex Twin at our expense. But what a joke it is. Bucephelus Bouncing Ball & Iz Us are also worth listening too. All in all not his best but worth 5 stars purely for the 1st 2 tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars buy it for 'Flim'....., 30 July 2008
This review is from: Come To Daddy (Audio CD)
....you won't be disappointed, trust me this one track is probably RDJ's most beautiful track ever.

Heard it on a live DJ mix by Venetian Snares with no way of knowing who made it or what it was called, so imagine my joy at finding it on here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the daddy of Hard Electronica!, 6 Jan 2004
Quite simply one of the best Hard Electronica recordings you will ever come across! I don't usually like vocals, but these are awesome, if not a little scary. If you get the opportunity to see, or buy, the video do not hesitate - one of the best music videos ever produced. Buy, listen and enjoy, but do not listen to alone late at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the daddy of Hard Electronica!, 6 Jan 2004
Quite simply one of the best Hard Electronica recordings you will ever come across! I don't usually like vocals, but these are awesome, if not a little scary. If you get the opportunity to see, or buy, the video do not hesitate - one of the best music videos ever produced. Buy, listen and enjoy, but do not listen to alone late at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aphex Twin + Samples = Sheer Brilliance, 5 Aug 2001
Having heard some of Richard D James previous works, i stumbled accross this little jem, and a jem it is too. On first listening it seems like a "quiet" Aphex Twin record, bar the first track, but even though it is quiet - it still rocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come To Daddy
Come To Daddy by Aphex Twin
Buy MP3 Album6.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews