Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alpha Angels anyone?....this book sold them to me!
Angel's Blood is the first Nalini Singh book i read and i loved it. It took a little while to get used to her world, with angels being the unknown factor for me as i havent read any angel books. However, they are not the sickly sweet kind, they are strong and can be vicious. The death scenes are kind of gore actually. The romance between the 2 main characters was strong...
Published on 13 May 2009 by Elle L

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More focus on the storyline pls!
I picked this book because the storyline had a good twist on the usual supernatural books out there.

The basic plot: vampires are created by angels, who are contracted to work for them. When the vamps go astray, vampire hunters are responsible for returning them to their masters/ hunting them down. The world is divided into regions and the 10 archangels rule...
Published on 13 Mar 2010 by Silver


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alpha Angels anyone?....this book sold them to me!, 13 May 2009
By 
Elle L "of the Dark Woods" (Belly of the Beast (Athens)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Angel's Blood is the first Nalini Singh book i read and i loved it. It took a little while to get used to her world, with angels being the unknown factor for me as i havent read any angel books. However, they are not the sickly sweet kind, they are strong and can be vicious. The death scenes are kind of gore actually. The romance between the 2 main characters was strong too and had a few twists and turns. overall, a great read!!! i strongly recommend to Ward-Kenyon-Cole-Showalter fans comme moi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have a problem I can live with :), 4 Mar 2009
Nalini Singh is one of my favorite authors. I'm already addicted to her Psy-Changeling series, where she has managed to create a thoroughly original and engaging world, that develops more and more in each book.

When I learnt that she was going to write a new urban fantasy series, I couldn't help but think "Oh, no, Nalini will have less time to write the books I like!". All the same, I'm very curious, so I couldn't help buying and reading "Angels'Blood", the first novel in the Guild Hunter series.

Now, I have a problem: a new addiction that joins my previously existing ones to chocolate and Nalini's Psy-Changeling series. I simply loved "Angels'Blood", its characters, and the new world it introduces. The main character is Elena Deveraux, a plucky guild hunter that tracks down vampires that break their contracts with angels, the immortal beings that create them in exchange for a period of servitude. Elena is the best at her job, and due to that she attracts what might end up being the mortal attention of Raphael, probably the most dangerous and beautiful archangel in existence. Raphael demands Elena to do the unthinkable: track a rogue archangel. Elena cannot say no to that request (or rather order), that will involve working closely with Raphael, and bring unexpected developments.

On the whole, I can say that "Angels' Blood" is the beginning of a series totally different from the Psy-Changeling series, but, strangely enough, just as good. Highly recommended :)

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manhattan under the wings of angels, 25 Aug 2012
By 
C. Manning (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Elena Devereaux is the best vampire hunter in the world, but even she may not be good enough for her latest assignment. She has been hired by the dangerous, and beautiful, archangel of New York Raphael to track down an archangel gone bad. This job will place Elena at the centre of a killing spree unlike any other...and put her at risk of falling for her employer's charms, either of which could mean her death.

This is the first book in the Guild Hunter series and, as a big fan of the author's Psy-Changeling series, a book I expected great things from. I definitely wasn't disappointed as the world building is just as unique and complex as that of her other books, taking vampires and angels in innovative new directions. Angels are the creators of vampires and as such own them for the first hundred years of their existence. Elena's job is to retrieve those who attempt to break that contract.

The storyline is cleverly plotted and well paced, although at times the density of the world building made it difficult for me to stay caught in the storyline. Unlike the Psy-Changeling books, this series stays with Elena and Raphael for more than a single book so their backstory isn't covered fully leaving lots undiscovered. I was a little annoyed that only snippets of Elena's history are revealed which means that the storyline will continue in the future books, but ends up being frustratingly incomplete in this installment.

Elena is an interesting lead character. As I mentioned before her traumatic past isn't fully revealed which leaves the reader only able to partly understand her, although her relationships with her friends (good) and family (bad) do explain a lot about her motivations. Likewise Raphael is fascinating and it is great to see him both acting normally and within "the cold", a side effect to a method of angelic communication. The cold removes all traces of humanity from Raphael and leaves him as a very scary being.

There were a few background characters that managed to steal scenes throughout the book: Raphael's right hand vampire Dmitri whose seductive scent keeps Elena on her toes, and Elena's bad boy hunter friend Ransom who adds a cute sideline as he realises he's fallen in love with his latest fling. The other character I loved was Illium who is the most accessible angel introduced in the book.

The villain of the piece Uram is incredibly disturbing and leads to some particularly horrifying scenes that place this book a lot closer to a gritty urban fantasy than a romance. Some of the scenes are quite graphic which I wasn't expecting, although they do fit within the storyline and aren't excessive.

The ending is outstanding and entirely not what I was expecting at all. I can't wait to see where the storyline goes next!

All in all this was a great read and I'm looking forward to Archangel's Kiss.

Plot: 9/10
Characters: 9/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 9/10
Cover: 7/10

Overall: 44/50
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!, 22 Aug 2013
I bought this book from amazon purely because I hadn't read anything in a while and it was 'recommended' for me. I honestly had no idea what to expect.
Thank God for Amazon's recommendatins because this book was amazing. It is fast paced, intricate, totally original with a strong female lead and unusual plotline I could not put it down. The male lead is dominant, sexy and not the typical hero but alluring and fascinating nonetheless.
Whilst the romantic story is not typical and is in this sense more about lust than love to begin with, the development of the relationship between the two characters is realistic and interesting.
The only thing I would warn against is that this book has a lot of gore so for those of you with weak stomachs this is probably not the book for you, but for those of you who have no poblem with a little action I advise you to dive right in.
I have bought this entire series and have loved each one. Nalini Singh is a captivating writer and will hold your interest until the last word. I am hooked on her writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great novel, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I read the synopsis of this book and saw it was about Angels, I had to give it a try and I am so glad that I did. This is the first book I have read by Nalini Singh and I am hooked.

The depiction of the Angels, Vampires and Guild Hunters were so different and the story flowed so well that there was never a dull moment. Raphael is the best Archangel, I have come across (in books) and Dmitri, the vampire is such an interesting character, I couldn't help but love him. Ellie, the Guild Hunter is such a natural and strong character too. Loved this book and am now a fan of Nalini Sighn. Really looking forward to her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Angels' Blood, 19 Sep 2009
'Angels' Blood' sees vampire hunter, Elena Deveraux, hired by the dangerous Archangel of New York, Raphael. Guild Hunters work for the independent governing body that keep vampires adhering to their Contract -- after they're Made, vampires are to complete 100 years of service to the angels. After this period of time is complete the vampire is released from their Contract and can live their immortal life in peace. Guild Hunters, therefore, track down those vampires who break their Contract and attempt to elude the stated clauses. When Raphael hires Elena, she assumes its just for another wayward vampire. However, it's much worse than that. For Raphael needs her to track a rogue blood thirsty archangel.

I really enjoyed this novel. It was very dark and somewhat perverse and awesomely gory. The prose was lush and I enjoyed the story arc and the characters very much. The romance was okay, but I didn't expect to care very much for that angle anyway. I thought there was a good balance between the romantic plotline and the rogue archangel one. They received about the same amount of page time... if I were going to try and describe the genre of this book, I'd say it's either a very well written paranormal romance, or that it's half urban fantasy and half paranormal romance. Elena and Raphael are two interesting individuals -- I enjoyed all the titbits that hinted at their pasts, and the relationships with their parents. I loved the other characters: Elena's friends Sara and Ransom especially.

I've never read any of Nalini Singhs other books because I dislike paranormal romance and avoid it like the plague. But I decided to bite the bullet and read this one because I enjoyed the novella in the Must Love Hellhounds anthology. Said novella told the story of how Sara and Deacon met (two characters in this novel), Sara being the new Guild Director and Elena's BFF. In fact, I think Sara is my favourite character -- one who I wish had had a full novel written about her. I felt her pain a great deal at the end of this book; so much so, she almost made me cry!

I'm definitely going to read the next book, although it remains to be seen if I'll keep this copy. I'm not sure I really want to read it again -- even though I enjoyed it, some books are not there to be re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guild Hunter, Book One. Compelling!, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Elena Deveraux is a Guild Hunter. She mainly hunts runaway vampires. Those who sign a contract with an angel to Make them know that their first one hundred years is spent in the angel's servitude. Should a vampire run, he is hunted down and returned to his angel for punishment or death. Elena is the best. She is hunter-born. She did not choose the dangerous career of a hunter, it chose her. Born with an ability to smell and track vampires, Elena became shunned by her family.

The Archangel of New York is the legendary Raphael. He hires Elena to hunt someone for the Cadre of Ten. Anyone Elena dares to tell anything about her assignment would be instantly killed. Elena is to hunt one of the Ten, an archangel who has gone insane. She needs only to locate her target and Raphael will do the terminating. But Elena would have no outside help; she is basically on her own.

The more secrets Elena learns about angels, vampires, and archangels, the more those powerful beings wish her to be permanently silenced once her job is done. And as much as Elena and Raphael clash, they are also attracted to one another.

***** FIVE STARS! An intense story set in a fantastic world where mortals and immortals live among each other. I will never think of vampires or angels the same way again. This compelling tale immediately grabbed me by the throat and refused to let go! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'll be following this series now., 17 Aug 2010
By 
Bookaphile (Lancashire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Although this book had a solid start--and definitely had an interesting premise: angel-centric novels are rare, and I've never before seen the likes of the specifics of this series (wherein angels are the creators and masters of vampires)--at around page 65, it took a sharp turn toward the realm of soft-core porn. I was uncertain about continuing, not wanting to read simple porn when I'd been promised urban fantasy, but I kept with it, and was rewarded for such.

The storyline ebbed and flowed, occasionally buried under sex (and tension around it), but that was made up for enough by the strong mythologies created within the novel. The concept of angel dust--no, not the drug--was highly interesting, and executed well, as was the majority of the novel.

Of the broad range of characters, I felt only one of the archangels (Michaela) and the protagonist's (Elena's) human friends to be flat and awkward. Elena spends barely any time with her friends, and the time she does spend with them is generally overshadowed by her (rightful) fears and desires in regards to the supernatural world around them. Michaela, on the other hand, is presented as just another petty, shallow and vindictive woman, adhering to the apparent general trend. Michaela's actions, though, can be somewhat excused: she is not human, and therefore not bound by human social customs and conventions.

One thing that struck me especially was the presentation of the supernatural-imbued world as fact. Although Singh did spend some time going over the details of the world, this could be forgiven due to the need for back-story, and for the fact that the novel is not written in direct first-person, but in the more removed third-person. The mythologies of this series, as previously stated, were strong, and quite gripping; now that I've finished the novel, I look eagerly forward to the next in the series, to sate my desire to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new series, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Angel's and Vampires rule the earth in this offering from Nalini Singh who made her name in the Paranormal Romance genre with her original Psy Changeling series. OK its book one and whilst the Vamps are actually the underlings in this offering it really does open the readers eyes to the potential within as Nalini blends the two biggest things in current Urban Fiction together.

If you love paranormal romance, want a fast moving plot with some pretty bloody murders then this is the way to go. I suspect that Nalini will create a good many fans with this first outing for her new characters and with a romantic lead that's so scary he's tempting well, she definitely know's how to push the readers buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower..!!, 14 May 2009
By 
SER (London, UK) - See all my reviews
I was intrigued with the whole concept, but at the same time a little disapointed with this book on my first read. I think that may have been because I was expecting something similar to the Psy books.

However, I found my thoughts drifting back to the story a couple of months later and decided to give it another go.

On second reading, I aboslutley loved it!!!! Without my previous expectations it was an excellent read - Nalini Singh really does know how to write a good book.

My recommendation to anyone unsure about reading this would be - buy it.. and then make sure you cast any thought of making comparisons to the Psy books from your mind. It really is a completely different concept, but wholly enjoyable and absorbing once you get involved in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angels' Blood: A Guild Hunter Novel
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews