Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the best game on the ps3
I got this for my birthday and absolutely love it. For me it has a nostalgic vibe to it as the narrator reminds me very much of Geoffrey from Rainbow.

In the game, you're a poor bear, called Naughty, who is turned on by the other bears on the island and this makes Naughty rather demented and hell bent on tormenting the other bears before either driving the...
Published on 18 Dec 2010 by hil humby

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun ... to begin with
After reading some of the other reviews of this game i was torn as to whether i was going to buy this game or not. Curiousity got the better of me in the end and i bought it with suitably low expectations meaning it would either be as bad as i thought it would be or better.

To begin with it is reasonably original, i haven't seen any other games about a serial...
Published on 31 Aug 2010 by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun ... to begin with, 31 Aug 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
After reading some of the other reviews of this game i was torn as to whether i was going to buy this game or not. Curiousity got the better of me in the end and i bought it with suitably low expectations meaning it would either be as bad as i thought it would be or better.

To begin with it is reasonably original, i haven't seen any other games about a serial killing stuffed toys. You basically play a stuffed bear who, after being mocked by his fellow bears once too many times, decides to go on a killing spree getting revenge on all those bears who dared to mock him. I must say the concept behind the game does sound intriguing.

My biggest problem with the game is that after a few levels it does begin to lose its appeal as things start to get repetitive. There is very little variation in the scenery, it's all woods and houses. Therefore levels became a bit samey after a while. Also there is only a certain number of times you can watch a bear die in a certain way before that too becomes boring and repetitive. Particularly seen as your weapons are limited to begin with and the maps are not overly big so there aren't that many on it to begin with. I must also say that the storytellers voice is very annoying. It is suppose to sound partonising like the voiceover in young childrens programs but it just grated on me.

In my opinion it is not as bad as some people have made it out to be. Ok it is not brilliant but i don't think it was ever meant to be. The graphics are not great but are tolerable and you wouldn't buy this game for the graphics anyway. However the game does grow very repetitive quite quickly. Therefore i would recommend that anyone who buys should play it in small doses alongside another game and this should stop it from becoming repetitive so quickly. I think that in the end all it boils down to is being in the right sort of mood/mindset to play it. Also if you are looking for a good indepth storyline and character development then i would definitely look elsewhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the best game on the ps3, 18 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this for my birthday and absolutely love it. For me it has a nostalgic vibe to it as the narrator reminds me very much of Geoffrey from Rainbow.

In the game, you're a poor bear, called Naughty, who is turned on by the other bears on the island and this makes Naughty rather demented and hell bent on tormenting the other bears before either driving the other bears insane, killing them or both - it can be especially fun if you make them kill themselves. There are a variety of weapons and objects for special kills which adds some variety and creativity. There are also different costumes you can unlock which give you different attributes so you can challenge yourself more or make a level that bit easier. There are at the time of writing three downloadable expansion packs (one of which is free) so the fun just keeps expanding. Naughty Bear 2 has been announced and I for one cannot wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Naughtyrificness!, 8 July 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
Naughty Bear won't be winning game of the year, but it certainly doesn't deserve the harsh reviews critics and gamers alike are giving it. Yes, the camera is a bit shaky, but this is something that skilled gamers can adjust to. Yes, the graphics are nothing to write home about. Yes, the play area is essentially the same for each level, but this takes little away from what the game is - a strategic, bear-slaughtering gem.

The game sees you tackling 7 levels, each with a similar goal of punishing a particular bear because they are trying out a new way to get rid of your character, Naughty Bear. There is a different set of enemies for each level, and further to the story missions there are 4 other ways to play the same level (35 missions overall), ranging from friendly (using no weapons to kill the bears), stealth (where you must not be seen more than 5 times), and untouchable (one hit and you fail), among others. The meat of the game boils down to high scores - can you get enough points to unlock the platinum cups, or to be on top of the leaderboards? The strategic element to playing the game is key to getting these high scores. Smash and sabotage objects, scare bears, trap bears, injure bears and drive them crazy. Keep your multiplier up high as you cause more and more chaos, slowly driving them all insane, until they're all completely bonkers! Then use the freeze power-ups to lock your multiplier up high and take them all out one by one. Stringing together multiple combos ending up with a very high score is a satisfying experience, and one you simply won't achieve by rampaging around like a bull in a china shop, which is why Naughty Bear is a satisfying strategic / high score experience.

This brings me to the trophies. If you like to collect them, this game doesn't fall under the category of easy. Getting a platinum cup in 28/35 levels calls for some serious dedication and strategic skills. If you're up for the challenge and are looking for a game which rewards strategy over brute force, then this is the underrated game of 2010 for you. Pick up your copy now before the Naughtycorn escapes!

For sheer fun I'd give this game 4 stars, but I can't deny that there are flaws that would have made this game better, so overall I'd give Naughty 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mythical Elimination!, 7 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
I was given this game for my birthday last year. I'm still playing it now. Maybe my boredom threshold is higher than others here; but I've yet to tire of the wonderful game. Stuck on the DLC Vampire Bear untouchable challenge at the moment, but I keep going back to it!

Love the graphics, love the "voice acting" from the bears. Some of the sounds of panic or anger get me in stiches every time - don't think I'll ever tire of sneakily shooting a police bear through a window and hearing him curse!

It's an easy game to get bored of, I guess, if you just play it through and that's that. The challenge is in getting all costumes, and a platinum on all stages; that's where you have to learn some strategy and plan your next moves to get the necessary scores. And I guess for me it's not the actual Platinum Cup I want; it's the "You NUTTER!" that goes with it :D

Can't wait for Naughty Bear 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars gane, 30 Aug 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
bought this for my grandchildren. it's not very inventive it goes over the same sequence over and over again they were bored within the first hours. never been played since
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naughty Bear, 13 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
I love this game and its a great game for all ages and hours of fun doing missions while being a teddy bear running around trying to kill the other teddies and causing caos lol. hours of laughter i bought this game for someone else who played mine for christmas as they fell in love with the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sooo Good! x, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
Love this game only played it twice because i got it for Christmas but very funny not gory at all!!! all you see is loads of stuffing coming out of the bears! it can be quite difficult you have to be very sneaky! i would defiantly recommend this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sellers, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Petford (Drimoleague) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
I got the game in record breaking times compared to any other online site i have used and the quality to the game was above expectations i really hope to use this seller again
Thanks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars IT WOULD STILL BE OVERPRICED AT A FIVER..., 1 July 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
Let's make this as short an execution, I mean review, as possible. I dived into the first level of naughty bear with an eager grin and an open mind. Right so here's a step by step account of my experience:

1. It's bright it's colourful and has a fitting `kid's TV' narration - that's the up side. The down side is it looks like vomitsville as far as texture and model work goes. Even Mario Galaxy on the graphically inferior Wii could muster some fur effects but Naughty Bear's texture work looks like the morning produce of a heavy night on a certain black alcoholic beverage.
2. Naught bear wanders about well enough, the controls being the usual back and forth and a few button presses churn out attacks from picked up weapons. However more bad news comes in the form of the horrendously touchy camera. It's like trying to control a rabid dog in a sausage factory. Oh well I seem to have some sort of handle on it so on I go.
3. Instantly I'm smelling a cross between the canny animations of EA's early megadrive offering `The Haunting' and the darkness-creeping uberkills of Rockstar's gruesome brainchild `Manhunt'. This could be fun.
4. So now I've set a bear's face on fire in a barbeque and ground another one's face into a fluffy mess using a set of DJ decks. It seems like quite a giggle but the graphics are off-puttingly atrocious and the camera is still annoying me and making me miss some kills. There is a little box at the top that shows the kills but it's not massively adequate.
5. First level done - not a massive score but I've seen some funny kills and caused quite the riot. Let's see what the next level has to offer.
6. Oh right it's the same environment - a little grassy place split into three areas full of bears in huts.
7. The police seem to be called with more urgency this time round but a quick kill sorts that out - if you can make it to the bear on the phone in time. It seems pretty much the same apart from a different scenario though.

FAST FORWARS AN HOUR AND 2 LEVELS LATER:

8. Right so it is all the same apart from some different bears with different but equally horrendous textures on them. I've unlocked some hats that make me stronger and stuff but it's not really worth seeing these blasted animations for the 50th time just to get another badly rendered hat.
9. Yup it's all the same and this is going back to the shop A.S.A.P. Let's get on with the conclusion so I can wash my hands of this stinking nightmare.

CONCLUSION:
The first time I set foot in naughty bear's world it was a wobbly affair -then the kill animations set in and the score system raised a smile...but the hundredth time you slice and dice a bear into a fluffy pile on the dirt of perfection island (a very small and boring place indeed) and the whole thing is far more unpalatable. This feels like a total rush job, shoddy visuals and extremely, painfully, repetitive gameplay all adds up to a hair greying experience the likes of which I have rarely experienced this side of a hand held lcd game from the 80's. If this had been a little downloadable title I'd still be shocked at its vapidity, but seeing as it's going for actual monetary notes from any given videogame outlet it just reeks of daylight robbery set in the laziest game world ever imagined. I can't tell you how appalling this is - serious gamers should steer clear, and people who think hitting teddies with golf clubs over and over again is fun I'd still say stay away and buy yourself a real teddy a and golf club - it'll cost you a lot less and you'll feel a hell of a lot less ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Horribly repetitive., 31 May 2012
By 
Jared "Jared" (East Midlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Naughty Bear (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is fun for about the first level. After that you soon realise that every level is identical. Each level follows the same format and same maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Naughty Bear (PS3)
Naughty Bear (PS3) by 505 Games (PlayStation 3)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews