Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NormFest!
This is a mixed album for sure, but it is worth the price of admission for me for the title track alone.
In fact, just two seconds of the title track.
In fact just one harmonic pull from Norm 2:35 - 2:37 in

Even if you don't Wilko's voice, or find him a little bit of a one trick pony guitar wise, buy this just for Norms utterly enchanting bass...
Published on 8 Sep 2012 by M.Badger

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Its OK but much prefer Roger Daltry album
Published 1 month ago by Mr. D. Wiffen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NormFest!, 8 Sep 2012
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
This is a mixed album for sure, but it is worth the price of admission for me for the title track alone.
In fact, just two seconds of the title track.
In fact just one harmonic pull from Norm 2:35 - 2:37 in

Even if you don't Wilko's voice, or find him a little bit of a one trick pony guitar wise, buy this just for Norms utterly enchanting bass playing. Get into his playing on this, dial into it, and there is a bass masterclass in there of jaw dropping intricacy, subtlety, flair and invention that surely has to rank Norman as the brightest, if not at least one of the brightest, stars in the bass firmament.

Wilko's playing on this album shows what an actual first class player he is!. I'd place him as an equal with the likes of the great Danny Gatton. Just as with Danny, his effortless style belies the amount of skill behind, and just as with Danny, Rory, Mick et al, there is an awesome intellect behind those eyes too. Different styles, same fire.

Quite why Wilko + Norm are not showered with the praise and plaudits they deserve outside our cadre of fans is a question for others to contemplate as I enjoy the ferocious, feral grooves, or pay slack jawed attention to what I've just heard, knowing I will never be able to write and play to their level. I'm happy these people recorded this for me to enjoy. Such a small price for so many years of happiness two of my musical heroes. It makes me happy to be able to listen to The Blockheads, Dr.Feelgood, Wilko and know these people have lived, are alive, have made, are making cracking good music, and people like me very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to find, but worth the effort..., 2 July 2003
By 
Mr. P. Winters "wintersp" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
This album seems to be almost impossible to find now, but if you are a Wilko fan or just want to hear what the fuss is about,this is the best studio album by Wilko and the boys. As a live act, this band is simply dynamite,and this album is the closet to capturing the "live" energy that the band have. If you can get a copy, and you are a Wilko or Dr.Feelgood fan, BUY IT, you won't be disappointed. The songs and band performance are top quality and Norman Watt-Roy IS the BEST bassist in the world. Listen to this and decide for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
Another album I should have bought years ago.
Anything by Wilko is a classic.
Crisp Sound as Wilko likes to record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wilko rockin, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
wilko and the band doin what thay do best title track and turned 21 and living in the heart of love infact just buy it its fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... I was waiting for 'Going back home' and so glad I did, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
Bought as I was waiting for 'Going back home' and so glad I did, an earlier rawer version of the legend Wilko :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
By 
J. A. Zapart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
a very good music once started difficult to to stop listening to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barbed Wire Blues, 11 Aug 2014
By 
D. J. Wilden "denise7248" (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
Awesome, brilliant, I knew of Wilko from Dr. Feelgood and of course his cancer treatment. Its an amazing album. I bought it as one of the comments was that this was one of the best albums made by Wilko in the studio so I thought that was good enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
Had to wait several weeks for the cd to arrive, however it was worth the wait. Wilco is as fabulous as ever on this cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilco johnson just amazes me, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
Better than I expected, cant stop playing it , but have to have the volume up, iam an old git but really get into this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ex pub rock/blues album!, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Keating (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbed Wire Blues (Audio CD)
shame its not widely availiable on cd, but i,ve still got a near mint copy on vinyl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barbed Wire Blues
Barbed Wire Blues by Wilko Johnson (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews