Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knight Rider, Airwolf & now, Street Hawk!!
The 80's were a great time to watch television. There was such a great diversity which has carried on or varied in the present.
As a teenager, there were so many shows to view, one would never claim that there was never anything to watch.
Just a quick trip down memory lane for some of us: we had The A-Team, Stingray, The Greatest American Hero, Wiseguy, Knight...
Published on 30 May 2010 by Krishna Jaipersad

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series but poor implementation
I've been wanting this series on DVD ever since I started collecting television boxsets. I remember years ago a site that offered unofficial bootleg DVDs mastered off VHS tapes, and I remember being tempted to get them since they were the only way to get this series at the time. I just wanted this series that bad. But, for good and ill, an official DVD release finally...
Published on 16 Mar. 2013 by Samy Merchi


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knight Rider, Airwolf & now, Street Hawk!!, 30 May 2010
By 
Krishna Jaipersad "slyjai" (Port of spain Trinidad and Tobago) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
The 80's were a great time to watch television. There was such a great diversity which has carried on or varied in the present.
As a teenager, there were so many shows to view, one would never claim that there was never anything to watch.
Just a quick trip down memory lane for some of us: we had The A-Team, Stingray, The Greatest American Hero, Wiseguy, Knight Rider, Airwolf, Street Hawk, Remington Steele, Hillstreet Blues, St. Elsewhere, Automan. I should stop here because I will just go on & on!!
Nonethless, tv was never boring. We had a talking Trans Am, an attack helicopter, a motorcycle with immense firepower & capable of speeds in excess of 300 miles an hour! I would love to see all of this in actuality today!
This series, even though short-lived, was quite enjoyable back in the day.
It was only available by those sites who claimed to have "public domain" to release them on DVD-R at outrageous prices!
I waited patiently over the years that someone would release this officially! & here we are, the complete series with a few extras to help us re-kindle the memories of this series. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's, Street Hawk On Dvd At Last, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
13x 50 episodes.
4 dvds.
690 minutes total running time.

Extras.
Making of Street Hawk a 41 minute Documentary, Extended pilot, Stills Gallery.

Trivia.
1)George Clooney was screen tested for Jessie Mach but ABC didn't want him, He appears in the series second episode.
2)Rex Smith was a skilled motorbike rider & rode the bike in many scenes barring the dangerous stunts.
3)The original title for the show was Falconer but was changed to Street Hawk due to a show existing with that title.
4)The role of JessDvd Info.
13x 50 episodes.
4 dvds.
690 minutes total running time.

Extras.
Making of Street Hawk a 41 minute Documentary, Extended pilot, Stills Gallery.

Trivia.
1)George Clooney was screen tested for Jessie Mach but ABC didn't want him, He appears in the series second episode.
2)Rex Smith was a skilled motorbike rider & rode the bike in many scenes barring the dangerous stunts.
3)The original title for the show was Falconer but was changed to Street Hawk due to a show existing with that title.
4)The role of Jesse Mach came down to Rex Smith & Don Johnson, Rex Smith said we know who's the best actor for this role so let's make the deal & we can all go home.
5)The bike was designed by Andrew Probert.
6) Christopher Lloyd appeared as the villian in the pilot episode, Lloyd is better known as Doc Emmet Brown in the Back To The Future Trilogy.
7)Tangerine Dream did the shows main title theme & incidental music.
Review.

When street motorcycle cop Jessie Mach is crippled by a truck that killed his best friend Marty, Jesse is deemed unfit for motorcycle patrol & given a public relation's job.

However secretly filmed by the US government he is chosen to ride Street Hawk an advanced state of the art motorbike with extreme firepower & caperable of a top speed of 300 miles Mph which the bike is partly computer assisted by it's creator Norman Tuttle.

Jesse excepts the deal to become Street Hawks test pilot & is given new advanced surgery to repair his knee but keep up the facade of being handicapped to avoid suspicion.

Norman Tuttle works via Street Hawks command centre & sees everything Jesse sees via a video link in Jesses helmet as Norman aids Jesse on his adventures to more than just assist the police force & helps to fight urban crime becoming the man, The machine, Street Hawk.

Timelord Thought's.

Street Hawk was a well made decently budgeted series with great character's & welk directed action scenes so why it lasted for just 13 episodes is a mystery.

Rex Smith is excellent as Jesse Mach a ex motorcycle cop how becomes Street Hawk & carrys the role with great charm & charisma.

Joe Regalbuto is the computer genius & creator of Street Hawk named Norman Tuttle who unwittingly allows Jesse to go beyond just merely assisting the police force as the duo build up an unlikely friendship.

The bike was obviously the main draw of the show with it's vertical lift & hyperthrust gadgetry giving the bike a boost to jump very high while the other allows the bike speeds of up to 300mph.

With a great theme by Tangerine Dream this show had all the elements to run & run but alas it wasn't meant to be.

This is a cult classic 80's tv series that's a worthy nostalgic purchase.e Mach came down to Rex Smith & Don Johnson, Rex Smith said we know who's the best actor for this role so let's make the deal & we can all go home.
5)The bike was designed by Andrew Probert.
6) Christopher Lloyd appeared as the villian in the pilot episode, Lloyd is better known as Doc Emmet Brown in the Back To The Future Trilogy.
7)Tangerine Dream did the shows main title theme & incidental music.
Review.

When street motorcycle cop Jessie Mach is crippled by a truck that killed his best friend Marty, Jesse is deemed unfit for motorcycle patrol & given a public relation's job.

However secretly filmed by the US government he is chosen to ride Street Hawk an advanced state of the art motorbike with extreme firepower & caperable of a top speed of 300 miles Mph which the bike is partly computer assisted by it's creator Norman Tuttle.

Jesse excepts the deal to become Street Hawks test pilot & is given new advanced surgery to repair his knee but keep up the facade of being handicapped to avoid suspicion.

Norman Tuttle works via Street Hawks command centre & sees everything Jesse sees via a video link in Jesses helmet as Norman aids Jesse on his adventures to more than just assist the police force & helps to fight urban crime becoming the man, The machine, Street Hawk.

Timelord Thought's.

Street Hawk was a well made decently budgeted series with great character's & welk directed action scenes so why it lasted for just 13 episodes is a mystery.

Rex Smith is excellent as Jesse Mach a ex motorcycle cop how becomes Street Hawk & carrys the role with great charm & charisma.

Joe Regalbuto is the computer genius & creator of Street Hawk named Norman Tuttle who unwittingly allows Jesse to go beyond just merely assisting the police force as the duo build up an unlikely friendship.

The bike was obviously the main draw of the show with it's vertical lift & hyperthrust gadgetry giving the bike a boost to jump very high while the other allows the bike speeds of up to 300mph.

With a great theme by Tangerine Dream this show had all the elements to run & run but alas it wasn't meant to be.

This is a cult classic 80's tv series that's a worthy nostalgic purchase.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once a week in the mid 80s, I used to look forward to watching this on ITV, 26 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I was really disappointed when this series ended on ITV but I'm glad it's being released on DVD.

When the last episode of Street Hawk was broadcast it ended with "...and that was the last in the current series of Street Hawk" from the voice that used to introduce the next programme, I was expecting it to return for a new series but it never did. That was one of the worst things to be told after watching your favourite tv show week after week, because you didn't want it to end but you knew in the back of your mind that it was only a matter of time.

I used to be baffled by how it was possible to predict the road conditions ahead and each time he accelerated through the streets I wondered if he'd need to jump over a car that was being driven erratically by a drunk driver.

I thought his shiny black reflective crash helmet made it look very futuristic and reminded me of Darth Vader.

...and the Tangerine Dream theme, which was a perfect match for the tv show with the brief intro narrated by a voice that seemed to start off at normal speed and then speed up with each sentence as if to emulate the speed of the motorbike...or was that just my old VHS recording where the tape was starting to wear out?

Strange how many of the tv shows in the 80s had very good theme tunes (like Knight Rider, Airwolf, A-Team, etc) unlike today's tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining slice of 80s retro TV, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
While the series "Knight Rider" remains a classic example of 1980s retro TV, it's two-wheeled relative "Street Hawk" remains relatively ignored in comparison. A pity really, as the series has a lot going for it. The 70-minute pilot lays the foundations for this short-lived crimefighting series of only a further twelve, 50-minute episodes.

Jesse Mach (Rex Smith) is an ex-motorcycle cop switched to light duties following a serious 'accident' which left him badly injured. Mach is then identified and recruited by a top-secret government department to fight crime while riding the newly developed hi-tech motorcycle "Street Hawk" after receiving an advanced prosthesis. The series is a nod towards the likes of "Batman" and "Superman" in a sense, with Mach now leading a double life - hopping between his office desk & his new secret role as the mysterious crimefighting avenger, with only one person, Norman Tuttle (Joe Regalbuto) aware of his secret identity. Tuttle is the designer of the advanced motorcycle, a shy but warm-hearted computer geek. The motorcycle has a top speed of up to 300mph and is equipped with numerous concealed weapons including machine gun & laser fire, while also able to leap over high obstacles.

The rider wears a blacked-out crash helmet which transmits everything seen through the visor back to the secret HQ run by Tuttle. The series has such a 80s feel, with familiar ingredients such as explosive action & gadgets, along with some cheesy dialogue & warm humour. Having missed the series first time round, the characters & performances eventually grew on me, with my fave being Joe Regalbuto's portrayal of Norman Tuttle, who when not finding himself awkward around women, can usually be found sitting in front of his computer screen fretting over his two-wheeled pride and joy.

While the series may not be top heavy with Hollywood A-list guest stars, you do get an appearance in the pilot from Christopher Lloyd, who plays a particularly nasty piece of work, while a mullet-coiffered George Clooney also later appears as an assassin. Good fun - good series!.... Mustn't forget to mention the ecstatic theme tune provided by German techno-wizards, Tangerine Dream - fabulous stuff! (The show also brought the band welcome publicity in the US).

While there are no subtitles, the picture & sound quality is good though not great. The sound level of the action & incidental music occasionally rises considerably higher than the dialogue, which had me keeping a finger on the volume button of the remote. I was pleasantly surprised by the extras which are as follows....

***SPECIAL FEATURES***
*UNBROADCAST ORIGINAL 73-MINUTE PILOT... Featuring different Street Hawk firepower. (Picture quality is inferior to rest of series).
*STREET HAWK 'THE MAKING OF A LEGEND'... A 40-minute documentary on the series, with interviews with Rex Smith, Joe Regalbuto & Jeannie Wilson.
*STILLS GALLERIES.
*BIOGRAPHIES... Featuring Rex Smith, Joe Regalbuto & Jeannie Wilson.
*EPISODE & SERIES SYNOPSIS.
*8-PAGE BOOKLET... With episode synopsis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the show, NOT the DVD!, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. J. G. Thomas "Jash" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Finally, that awesome show that clashed with BBC's Top of the Pops every Thursday night has arrived on DVD, and - even after twenty-five years - it's still far more entertaining than Peter Powell or Dave Lee Travis!

Street Hawk followed the exploits of Jesse Mach, an ex-motorcycle cop injured not in the line of duty (as the dramatic voice over would announce in the opening reel of each episode), but in a chance encounter with a drug dealer, with a penchant for hit-and-run assassination, whilst on a two-week suspension from the force. Subsequently relegated to a desk job, poor Jesse emerges from the attack a broken man, his passion for fighting crime on two wheels now nothing more than a distant memory.

Enter Norman Tuttle, a geeky Federal agent with a knack for designing high-tech motorcycles and having damaged policemen patched up with a revolutionary "new prosthesis", making Jesse an offer he can't refuse.

Cancelled after only thirteen episodes due to lacklustre Nielson ratings in the US (a direct result of it's graveyard spot in the Stateside TV schedule), the show went on to win itself a healthy audience in the UK, and throughout much of Europe, resulting in both a Street Hawk annual and four tie-in novels - how's THAT for heady success!

The announcement of this long overdue release will, I'm sure, make many nostalgists as happy as I was when I first got wind of this box set - It's always fun to satisfy one's nostalgic cravings with a dive into the comfort viewing of yesteryear, and - when all is said and done - the show holds up very well indeed! Granted, the cheese factor occasionally spikes off the scale, the hardware doesn't look as hard as it used to, and George Clooney (appearing in the second episode) delivers one of the most excruciating performances of the decade, but it's all delivered with a naïve sense of fun, and accompanied by a dazzling score from the legendary Tangerine Dream, which, even today, makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand to attention.

My only criticism regarding this release is its NTSC mastering. In an attempt to lower production costs, it would seem that the distributor has exactly duplicated its American release for all territories around the world, resulting in a slightly disappointing product for us Brits, who are more accustomed to the far smoother and more accurately coloured 25fps PAL standard. Fabulous Films, hang your cheap-skate heads in shame. Oh, actually I do have one more gripe - the pointless 8 page collector's booklet, which presents no insight into the conception, design or history of the show. What it does offer is a criminally underwritten episode guide and a pointless centre spread, featuring a badly cropped section of Universal's blueprint for the bike. It would seem that the booklet's only purpose is to fool the DVD buying public into thinking they're getting more bang for their buck when they read of its existence in the special features list on the case. All is not lost, however, since the uncropped blueprint appears in the stills gallery on the fourth disc, along with some rather amusing publicity shots and a number of great US newspaper ads.

The documentary is fun too, with three of the show's key players - Rex Smith, Joe Regalbuto and Jeannie Wilson - waxing lyrical about their time on the project, and hinting that there may yet be more to come! Looking at how little they've aged over the past quarter of a century (Has it really been that long?), the idea doesn't seem as ridiculous as one might imagine, and it would be great to see the Hawk in action one last time!

So, overall, not a perfect package, but an acceptable release for the price. Maybe they'll get it right on Blu ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and about time, 24 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
What can i say i used to love this show back in the 80s and now its on dvd i can watch and enjoy it all over again.
Just wish it ran for longer then it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great action but predictable story lines, 16 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr D H Smith (ST Andrews, Fife) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
It's billed as the motorcycle version of another eighties classic 'Knight Rider' and it lives up to the hype. Yes, it's cheesy but it was hi-tech when it first came out. My mission, is to collect the tv series I grew up with as a kid and this was one of them. Great action but predictable story lines. Loved it and it brought back fond memories. The only moan I have is that in the extras section, there is a previously un-broadcast pilot episode with different weapons on the bike. Great but there's a copyright on screen throughout in the bottom middle of the screen. Annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'd think it would be a bad rip off, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
With Knight Rider & Airwolf you had two action adventure series with high tech vehicles. Then someone must have thought hey lets make one for a motorbike. You'd think it would be a bad rip off, I did as a ten year old back in 1985. What we got was a very entertaining series, with a fantastic theme tune from Tangerine Dream. The two main leads Rex Smith and Joe Regalbuto are great together and make the series very watchable. Look out for an early apperance of George Clooney, and Christopher Lloyd playing a heavy in total contrast to his Doc Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STREET HAWK on DVD. WOW! Listed Extras..., 4 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Amazon forgot to include what the EXTRAs on the Box Set are on this occasion...

* Never-before-seen US 'Pilot' episode featuring different Street Hawk firepower (73 mins)
* "Street Hawk, The Making of a Legend" - A brand new documentary featuring Rex Smith, Joe Regalbuto and Jeannie Wilson (41 mins)
* Stills Galleries
* Biographies
* Episode descriptions
* 8 Page Collectors' Booklet
* Stunning Motion Menus

Kudos to Fabulous Films for being first-to-market.

All we need is the 5 hours of the official soundtrack that were produced for the show to be released by Tangerine Dream (finally!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all round, 1 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
The best series of the 80's and probably of all time. This box set is a must have for your collection, even if you're not a fan of the 80's as this series is as good as any modern TV crime action programme.

This box set will make a great gift, fully recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Street Hawk - The Complete Series [DVD] [1984]
£18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews