Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, moving addition to series
Harry Bosch, now officially retired, has time on his hands. But, he still feels the pull of the job, and knows deep down that finding justice for the dead is, for him, not just a job, but a life. And so, he begins to look into a four year old unsolved case that has fallen by the investigatorial wayside, the vicious murder of Angella Benton, a film production assistant,...
Published on 19 Feb 2004 by RachelWalker

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable but not as good as early Bosch
Bosch retired, opens up a cold case which still frustrates him. This leads to an investigation to an actresses murder, its tie in to a robbery on the set of the production, the shooting of 2 investigating cops, and a missing FBI agent. It also has ties to terrorist activity and a deeper investigation by the NSA. All good plot markers, but unfortunately it became quite...
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, moving addition to series, 19 Feb 2004
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
Harry Bosch, now officially retired, has time on his hands. But, he still feels the pull of the job, and knows deep down that finding justice for the dead is, for him, not just a job, but a life. And so, he begins to look into a four year old unsolved case that has fallen by the investigatorial wayside, the vicious murder of Angella Benton, a film production assistant, killer just a few days before a daring $2million robbery on a movie set. Bosch gradually uncovers new information, throwing the case into an entirely different light, and finds that, even though he’s now left the LAPD, trouble still won’t leave him alone…
This is a tremendously successful Bosch novel from Connelly, surely the finest American exponent of the gritty cop thriller. It’s plot may not be entirely engrossing, but this book has so much in it about Bosch – no doubt helped by the fact that it’s told in the first person – that that doesn’t matter. Indeed, I don’t think Connelly has ever dug quite so deep, or shined his light quite so far into the mysterious dark cavern that is Harry Bosch, which makes this book a real delight for all fans of the series. To be honest, I feel that this book is primarily about Bosch, Bosch and Bosch (oh, and maybe L.A. too), so if you want a novel with a strong plot, maybe pass this by just for now. Although, I’d certainly recommend Lost Light to all those who are already fans. But, as the plot isn’t Connelly’s best (even though it does turn into something quite special at the books fascinating climax) those looking to just try the series out, should probably try an earlier one.
It’s fresh, it’s very well written, it’s engaging, and it even has another final page revelation to shock the reader, making this another gem among the treasure-trove that is Connelly’s work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to Put Down, Highly Recommend, 14 Feb 2004
By 
C. J. Hale "monkeysofdoom" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
I'm not usually one for a crime novel, and after hearing good things, i gave this book a go. From the start you get pulled into the world and mind of Harry Bosch, and the mystery of his case unfolding.
The plot is based on an unsolved murder case which Bosch felt attached to and after retiring as a cop wants to complete it for peace of mind. However, the case is much deeper and dangerous than he thought!(dont want to give anything away!)
Great charectors, No cheesy bits, Fab ending, No need to skip a few pages when nothings going on in the book! My first encounter with Micheal Connelly and i hope to find another of his just as good as this. Even if crime novels arent your key passion you'll still get hooked on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the strongest books in the series; You can easily start with this one, 6 Jun 2006
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
Harry Bosch has always been on a mission: to speak for the dead, especially those who other people seem to forget about. Now retired from the LAPD, Harry can't forget about one case where the murdered woman's hands seemingly reach out to him. After investigating more, the mystery involves the heist of 2 million dollars from a Hollywood movie set, the shooting of two cops, and the disappearance of an FBI agent. Without his badge, Harry runs into the problems of most P.I.s--access to evidence and witnesses. The strongest part of the story is when Harry butts heads with an elite counter-terrorism unit of the FBI. Connelly's superior writing talent is on display in this book, where he seamlessly tells stories within the story to provide background for characters and add color to particular scenes. What I like most is the way Harry uses silence and draws out the information he wants from people. His indirect approach is clever and refreshing. My only criticism is that with the constant reminders of the victim's hands, the title doesn't seem apt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever Harry Bosch thriller full of twists, 25 July 2007
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
Michael Connelly has given us a series of crime thrillers featuring the eccentrically named detective Harry (Hieronymus) Bosch. I've never read a duff one yet. In "Lost Light", Harry must solve the murder of an innocent girl with the help of a detective left paralysed by an apparently unrelated shooting, while holding at arm's length the combined forces of post-9/11 FBI and Homeland Security. This is clever, intriguing stuff, with Connelly's usual level of convincing detail and Bosch himself as brilliant, right-on and - where necessary - as tough as ever, even if a water bottle does come to his aid at a key moment. The only downside for me was that that FBI/Homeland Security angle did not ring as true as Connelly's more usual detective stock-in-trade. If you like this, try "A Darkness more than Night"; "The Poet" or "The Black Ice", all reviewed here.

Summary: enjoyable page-turner with solid plot, slightly less convincing when dealing with terrorism-related issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great one from the Master, 22 Dec 2006
By 
Linda Oskam "dutch-traveller" (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
Harry Bosch has finally done it: he has turned in his batch and retired. But even after eight months there are still a couple of unsolved murder cases that keep nagging him. He has made copies of the files and decides to work on the murder of a young woman working at a film company. When he starts digging into the case he gets more attention then he bargained for, especially from the new Anti-Terrorism Squad of the FBI. It takes all his skills and perseverance to bring this case to a good end. And what are the roles of a paralyzed ex-cop, a former DA-turned-lawyer and Harry's ex-wife? And the biggest surprise of them all is right on the last page and it makes you wonder what will happen to Harry. Another highly entertaining book by my favourite detective author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bosch is back, 21 Dec 2006
By 
Marc J. Nellist (South Shields, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
Bosch, having resigned from the LAPD, decides to investigate an old case where a film production assistant was murdered during a $2m robbery on a movie set. Bosch took the file with him when he left the LAPD and finds himself on a mission to discover the truth which puts him in conflict with some of his former colleagues and leads him to confront an elite counter-terrorism unit. Bosch discovers that things aren't so easy when you are not carrying the 'badge' but his ultimate desire to seek out the truth and avenge the dead drive him on regardless.

Connelly has a knack for writing compelling crime fiction which renders you incapable of putting the book down. He has again produced another great Bosch novel and I found it a truly engrossing read which carries on from Bosch's previous outings and develops the character even further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Bosch Novel With A Fantstic Ending!, 11 April 2007
By 
Scottish Dave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
This is one of the better Bosch novels that I have read. He is now retired and working on the unsolved murder of a woman that has haunted him for 4 years. As he investigates things get complicated including the fact that a secret anti-terrorism arm of the FBI don't appreciate his interest. The ending to this book is amazing with lots of action, and twists and turns. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shine a Light, 21 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
Harry Bosch has finally left the police and is now trying to enjoy his retirement at home. Unfortunately for Harry not having the badge any more does not mean that his sense of justice is also gone. During his time on the force there were cases that he failed to solve and one particular killing still haunts him. After being asked by a bed ridden friend to look into it Harry once more sets out as a lone wolf on the trail of a killer. Little does he know that his investigations go far deeper than one murder - there is millions of dollars at stake and perhaps even terrorism.

`Lost Light' is probably the best Harry Bosch book to date and is at least as high a standard as the excellent first two novels. By allowing Harry to become a PI of sorts author Michael Connelly can distil the very essence of what it is to be Bosch. With no one to back him up and only his hunches to rely on we get to see Harry in his element. With a fantastic central character it is a bonus that the actual story is also of top Connelly quality. With various well thought out threads including suspects, red herrings and politics, any reader is in for a master class in crime noir. After the disappointing `Chasing the Dime' it is a joy to read Connelly once more at the top of the crime writer pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid read, 22 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
Harry Bosch, now in retirement, takes on a case which remained unresolved while he was still on the force. But he meets with a great deal of resistance and no co-operation from former colleagues and the FBI.

This is an easy to read crime novel with twists and turns although, as another reviewer has observed, one does wonder why Bosch wasn't as astute while still on duty as he is now. Also, one promising thread became irrelevant so this took a little of the shine off for me.

Nonetheless, the book provides a good, relaxed read built around a plausible plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 14 Dec 2003
By 
Ms. J. Coles "Jooles23" (UK + Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost Light (Paperback)
Having only recently stumbled across this author, I have found his style to be easy to read, entertaining and absorbing. Chasing The Dime was excellent and led me to buy this book.
The plot does not come to light until nearer the end and there are a couple of twists and turns to keep you guessing. The characters are well described, although I still can't picture the main character Harry Bosch - maybe I haven't read enough in the series yet?
The story was good enough to have me looking forward to bed time so that I could have time to pick the book up again.
I won't say any more about the plot because I don't want to give the game away, but suffice to say, I think most crime fans will call this a good read.
I'm off to have a look at his others now and treat myself to some more books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Light (Harry Bosch Book 9)
£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews