Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another exciting adventure with Ms Stackhouse and friends...
This is the third book in the Sookie Stackhouse Southern Vampire Mystery series. When reading the previous book 'Living Dead In Dallas' I wondered if Charlaine Harris would be able to find realistic ways of writing Sookie's boyfriend Vampire Bill out of the action. This is necessary because his powers would otherwise leave Sookie redundant. I didn't imagine Charlaine...
Published on 22 Sep 2005 by S. P. Moses

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but a little lacking in storyline
I am enjoying these Sookie Stackhouse mysteries but found this particular story, despite being well-written, to be a little lacking in storyline. Having said that,the characters are developing well (especially Sookie and Eric) and there are fresh characters being introduced all the time, which is nice. I'm looking forward to reading the next instalment.
Published on 3 Mar 2008 by Nicola


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably Better Than The Last 2 In The Series, 16 May 2003
This review is from: Club Dead (Mass Market Paperback)
The plot to the third book in the series was what i was waiting for - Less of Bill, more of Eric! Bill was starting to annoy me, plus i didn't like the fact that he would just feed off Sookie whenever he felt like a snack. This book is slightly darker than the last two. There's more sex and violence, plus Bill does something to Sookie which makes me hate him even more. Sookie seems to have a lot more fun in this one, plus she travels to the city and we learn that there are vamps and werewolves everywhere and they even have a hierarcy. If you liked the first two books, i would definitely recommend this one. Also, if you are interested in the likes of Laurell K. Hamilton, try this book out, you'll probably like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this book!!!!, 24 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Dead (Mass Market Paperback)
this is the 3rd book of a series by Charlaine Harris - the first being Dead until Dark, 2nd Living Dead in Dallas. What can I say? I just adore this series and can't wait until the author writes another!!!!! This series is so easy to read and I just love the author's writing style. Buy it, you won't be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real people (if supernatural), 23 July 2003
By 
K. Newman "krazykmcd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Club Dead (Mass Market Paperback)
Club Dead is the third in the Sookie Stackhouse series for Ms Harris, following Living Dead in Dallas and Dead After Dark. I think it can be read on its own, as references to earlier books are fully explained, but why not read the earlier two – they will deepen your enjoyment of the third in the series.
Sookie and vampire boyfriend Bill have been together for almost a year now. Although things between them are by no means perfect – even asside from the fact they’re not the same species – Sookie loves Bill. But one night he announces that hes about to take a trip, and she just knows he’s lying to her, even hampered by her inability to read his thoughts (and those of any vampire, which makes them a restful race to Sookie for that if nothing else). Things go from bad to worse as Bill goes missing, suspected dead. Finally dead. And he’s betrayed her in the worst way – lie upon lie.
Sookie is drawn by events and by her own feeling for Bill to search for him, undead or really dead. And here she enters ever deeper the life of vampires, Were and Shifters. She’s seemingly constantly in danger, surrounded by those she doesn’t know if she can trust (okay mostly Eric) and bombarded by badness. Yet Sookie seldom looses her sense of humor, her ability to self deprecate, and I find this very engaging in her. Her own telepathic abilities clearly make her attractive to a class of people where for most of her life she’s simply been regarded as crazy.
New Alcides is one that adds his own attractive flavour – in the unnatural world, he offers a possible future to Sookie that she finds almost irresistible. This very human ability to be attracted by options, even while wishing to remain ‘faithful’ is also very appealling to me as a reader – Sookie is by no means a perfect heroic figure, altough she does very heroic deeds she’s not without fear, and possibly getting it wrong.
If you’re into Vampires, gothic, mystery or humour, give this book a read. I think that something in it will appeal to almost every reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It ++++++, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it great book ,will be recommending it to all friend`s ,great author love her style of writing will be looking for more books by this author +++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Dead: A True Blood Novel (Sookie Stackhouse Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
love this book - can't seem to put it down. It was finished within 2 days! Love love love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 3 - meet the werewolves, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Dead: A True Blood Novel (Sookie Stackhouse Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Yummy. Big Trueblood fan. Couldn't wait to meet Alcide and was not let down.
Loved how it introduced you to the Mississippi Clan and how Russells personality is explored. Meeting a new breed of Supes in the Werewolves and their packs. Again takes things a little darker and meet alot more violent personalities and again everything new is brought to the table. Not your average Vampire, Werewolf dynamics and it mixes it very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping read, 4 Nov 2013
By 
D. King (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Club Dead: A True Blood Novel (Sookie Stackhouse Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
So far I'm gripped on this series. I've watched the tv shows and love them. The books are slightly different to the tv series but that's good. You don't know what's coming up :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Dead: A True Blood Novel (Sookie Stackhouse Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely love the stack house series, love the characters great storyline, have the whole set and would really recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You run out of headlines with this series!, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Dead: A True Blood Novel (Sookie Stackhouse Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
the third great sequel to what has gone before, and just as unputdownable. Five stars for 'Sookie Stackhouse'! And, of course, her creator Charlaine Harris (How does she do it?!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received this book quickly and in good condition. It was very reasonably priced. I love the series and this one was a great as the rest. Love it loads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews