Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another exciting adventure with Ms Stackhouse and friends...
This is the third book in the Sookie Stackhouse Southern Vampire Mystery series. When reading the previous book 'Living Dead In Dallas' I wondered if Charlaine Harris would be able to find realistic ways of writing Sookie's boyfriend Vampire Bill out of the action. This is necessary because his powers would otherwise leave Sookie redundant. I didn't imagine Charlaine...
Published on 22 Sep 2005 by Stuart Moses

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but a little lacking in storyline
I am enjoying these Sookie Stackhouse mysteries but found this particular story, despite being well-written, to be a little lacking in storyline. Having said that,the characters are developing well (especially Sookie and Eric) and there are fresh characters being introduced all the time, which is nice. I'm looking forward to reading the next instalment.
Published on 3 Mar 2008 by Nicola


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another exciting adventure with Ms Stackhouse and friends..., 22 Sep 2005
By 
Stuart Moses (Epsom, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the third book in the Sookie Stackhouse Southern Vampire Mystery series. When reading the previous book 'Living Dead In Dallas' I wondered if Charlaine Harris would be able to find realistic ways of writing Sookie's boyfriend Vampire Bill out of the action. This is necessary because his powers would otherwise leave Sookie redundant. I didn't imagine Charlaine would have his disappearance as the central mystery. By concentrating on Sookie's perspective this book is a quick read, which is something to be pleased about, but sometimes I felt as if some of the most exciting stuff happens offstage. I like Sookie as a central character, but I can't quite see why she is quite so attractive to everyone, I'll be generous suggest it is a side effect of the vampire blood she has ingested. The closing stages of this book are the most exciting in the series so far, also the most horrifying as we glimpse at the darkness where a vampires' soul should be. There are some moments of great humour, particularly when Sookie takes a wonderfully mundane approach to solving a particular problem. It will be interesting to see if Sookie's morality clashes further with that of the vampires as she is dragged further into their world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cosy vampire mystery, 4 Jun 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Dead (Mass Market Paperback)
In Sookie Stackhouse's world, vampires and shapeshifters have become a part of her life, whether she likes it or not. Following on from two previous Southern Vampire novels, Dead Until Dark and Living Dead In Dallas, Sookie has had to face vampires (newly outed from legend) and shape shifters and other mythical creatures who are still secret from humans and waiting to see how vampires are treated by humans before making any moves for publicity. Her lover, a vampire called Bill Compton (they can't marry since technically he is still dead) has gone missing - leaving Sookie to worry about things like wondering why he was acting distant before he left and making ends meet. Bill's boss, another vampire, the rather sexy and powerful Eric (boss of Area 5 - each US state is ruled by a king or queen is spilt up into areas!) has an idea how to find him. Eric believes that Bill has been enthralled by an old flame and, oh yes, he might also be dead - as in terminally dead - not the best thing to tell a worried girlfriend - but then Eric has a fancy for Sookie himself. However, Eric is under pressure by the Queen of Louisiana to produce Bill who has been working on something secretive and Sookie is the perfect person to seek him out. Sookie has a special skill at reading minds, whether she wants to or not and so is ideal for a spot of undercover work. Thus she is persuaded to go to Jackson, Mississippi to mix with the underworld at Club Dead, an exclusive den for vampires to chill and sip their favourite beverage, 'type O' and to discover what happened to Bill. To keep her cover and help her into Club Dead, she is followed in tow by a werewolf pretend boyfriend and before long, she finds herself, not only mixed up with vampire politics, but also some werewolf disputes. Will Sookie find her beloved, and if she does, will she want to save him or stake him? Sookie Stackhouse is remarkably still a very human character (despite her self proclaimed disability of mind reading) amidst a cast of very otherworldly creatures and new experiences. She worries about human things - like paying the bills, keeping her job, when can she spend time with the one she loves and oh yes, staying alive. Book three delves deeper into the the world of the Southern Vampires with more details of their social system and heirarchy and mentions the activities of certain man from Memphis who has become part of this society. This is a very light hearted book compared to other vampire novels, yet it is still incredibly witty, full of intrigue and above all conveys Sookie's bittersweet feelings such as love, lust, anger and jealousy rather well. Its another excellent cosy vampire mystery novel - more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Simply Delightful Preternatural Tale, 30 April 2005
Sookie Stackhouse, the attractive, telepathic barmaid from Bon Temps, LA, makes her third delightful appearance in "Club Dead." This novel marks a turning point in the relationship between Sookie and her heretofore adoring boyfriend Bill, Civil War veteran and vampire. He's got a cheatin' heart, along with other unfaithful body parts. This is unfortunate because Sookie thought she had found the man of her dreams, at long last. Not only is/was Bill intelligent, kind, considerate, tall, dark and handsome, (if somewhat pallid), but most importantly, Sookie is not able to read his mind. Folks in her backwater northern Louisiana town always treated her as if she had a disability. They made her feel ashamed of her "gift." The major disadvantages to her telepathy had always been her inability to keep the voices at bay, even though she has learned to shield herself somewhat. She had been unable to have a relationship until Bill came into her life. How can you fall in love when you know everything your boyfriend is thinking?

Bill has been ignoring Sookie for some time, seemingly unable to focus on anything but a computer project he is totally immersed in. He tells her he is working on a secret assignment for the Queen, (vampire), of Louisiana and will be traveling to Seattle at her request. Sookie knows he is lying to her about something, if not many things. Shortly after Bill leaves, Eric, owner of Club Fangtasia and vampire boss of Area 5, which encompasses Shreveport and Bon Temps, sends Bubba, (the late, great King of Rock and Roll, thought to be dead for decades by fans worldwide, but really a vampire), to guard her. Since being turned into the undead, Bubba's voice is still golden, but his mind is dim. On Bubba's watch, Sookie is attacked by a biker werewolf at the bar where she works. Then Eric pays her a personal visit to inform her Bill has met with foul play - he has gone missing. Since the secret project concerns the Louisiana vampire community, it is imperative to find him before he can be tortured into giving away information. The charismatic Eric, who has always had the hots for Sookie, happily tells her that Bill has plans to leave and move-in with a former girlfriend, the vicious vampire Lorena - if he is still alive. He also gives her another assignment, which she is obligated to accept.

Alcide Herveaux, a really nice guy who happens to turn into a wolf when the moon is full, will accompany her to Jackson, where she is to investigate Bill's disappearance. The only clue she has is that Mississippi Vampire King Russell Edgington's Club Dead might be a good place to begin her sleuthing.

"Club Dead" has a fast paced plot, filled with humor, suspense, vampire lore and politics, new characters and excitement - not to mention Sookie's depression at being betrayed by Bill. I must say, that for a dumpee, she certainly gets plenty of male attention, although the men aren't human. Author Charlaine Harris also gives more depth to Sookie, Bill and Eric. I really like Alcide as a character and hope to see more of him in future novels. I also enjoy Sookie's downhome attitude. She is proud but not pretentious, feminine but no shrinking violet. She has got great instincts and her sense of humor is downright wicked! This is light, escapist reading at its best.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first two., 2 Feb 2005
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Sookie Stackhouse was only interested in one vampire and that was Bill, her boyfriend. However, Bill seemed to be putting some distance between them recently. Then he disappeared to another state! His sinister and sexy boss, Eric, said that Bill had been summoned to Mississippi by Lorena. She was a lady vampire Bill had lived with for some time before. That was enough for Sookie. She was on the way to Mississippi.
Alcide Herveaux was to be Sookie's contact/guide. He was a werewolf. With his help, Sookie could enter places that mere mortals seldom dared tread, such as Club Dead. The vampire king of Mississippi (yes, readers, you read that correctly) was Russell Edgington. Russell took interest in Sookie very quickly. Eric arrived on the scene, in disguise as usual. Several attempts were made on Sookie's life and Bill was caught in an act of serious betrayal against Sookie's love. Sookie was not sure whether to save Bill or sharpen a few stakes of her own!
***** Much better than book two. Again, this mystery could be read as a "stand alone" book. But the main and secondary characters remain the same. The love triangle between Sookie, Bill, and Eric gets much rougher. That triangle is enjoyed more by those who have read the first two previous books though.
This entire series, thus far, is humorous, fun, very sexy, and highly recommended! *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coming to life, 7 Aug 2007
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This third book in the series is quite an improvement on the second. I started this one, hoping that the idea of Sookie and her vampire, Bill, would be able to develop their individual characters. They can and they do.
No-one can accuse Sookie of being a dumb blond and in this story her resolve is tested to the full. Built into the storyline is the usual mysterious murder (actually, quite a few murders) and, thanks to the ability of vampires to heal themselves (usually but not always) Sookie's injuries sustained in the line of duty are also treated in the same way. Having suspended belief in the whole concept of these novels, the reader should allow the author her freedom to build on the almost 'superhero' status of the girl.
I think it works. The book reads well and is easy to go through. Entertainment value is high so what more do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead until Dark, 25 Feb 2005
I have read the three Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris. I enjoyed them so much that I couldnt put them down and it only took me two days to read the three of them. These books are exciting and mysterious and you are kept in suspense to the very end. These are amazing books from an amazing writer and I highly recommend you read any of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Club Dead-Sookie and Bill take a U-turn in their relationship, 7 Nov 2009
This is the third installment of the Sookie Stackhouse series. To summarize what this book is about, all I can say is relationships and relationships. On the other hand, Charlaine also expands on the supernatural world that Sookie is slowly getting herself involved into. Remember in the last book, Sookie was saved by shape shifter and werewolves. Well, in this book, we see more of them, I quite like the way Charlaine introduces new characters-you get a brief glimpse of them in the previous installment.

The story starts off with Bill who has become missing and Sookie finds herself in grave danger. Sookie, with no choice, sets off to Jackson in Mississippi, with the help from Eric, one of his acquaintances Alcide, a werewolf and most of all, Bubba, the vampire who was turned under unusual circumstances, as her bodyguard.

Eric believes that Bill has been kidnapped because of a project he is doing for the Queen of Louisiana. Pretending to be a couple with Alcide as disguise, Sookie mingles and picks the brains of the human customers in Club Dead(name among werewolves) or Josephine's (name among vampires), a bar owned by Russell, the King of Mississippi. They find out that Russell has taken Bill. It also turns out that Bill initially went to Jackson at the request of his old flame, Lorena (you'll find out more about who she is in book 4).

An unexpected accident landed Sookie and Eric (in disguise) in Russell's place and Bubba discovers the hiding place of Bill. Sookie rescues Bill during the daylight and stakes Lorena in the process. Still furious about Bill's betrayal, Sookie leaves with Eric, only to get further attacks from werewolves along the way back to Bon Temps, and Eric again saves her again.

Overall, Charlaine has not disappointed me; it is a good read, packed with action and fun. In this book, we see more of Bubba, the vampire who has been passed around within the vampire community for various tedious jobs. Bubba first appeared in book 1 but we don't know much about him apart from the fact that he used to be someone famous. In this book Charlaine gives us the answer. It turns out that he is "the man from Memphis"-well I am sure you will be able to work this out. I like the way how Charlaine merges the urban legend together-some people still believe that he is alive. Though he is a bit naïve, Bubba gives quite a few funny moments in the story.

Another thing I enjoy about this book is the introduction of werewolves and the extra information on shape shifter. In other works such as Twilight, there is only one type of shape shifters, the werewolves. However, Charlaine takes it differently and in her world, there are many types of shape shifters changing into various kinds of animals, werebats, werepathers etc. However, the term "were" is reserved for werewolves, the supreme class of shape shifters. We also get to know a bit more how the different kinds of supernatural creatures coexist together from the account of Club Dead.

The most interesting part of the book, however, is Sookie's relationship with not just Bill, but also Eric and the new comer Alcide. While her relationship with Bill is going downhill, Eric has become more pro-active in winning her heart, and he has become closer to Sookie. The chemistry between the two is getting quite intense and there are a few juicy moments for readers to enjoy!! And if you enjoy their interactions, you have to read the next book as there are more stormy moments to look forward to. Being with Alcide, a supe who can come out in the daylight, has given Sookie the opportunity to think about what it would be like to be with a normal guy, she can think about who she wants to be with, what kind of partner she wants. Initially, I did hope that Alcide and Sookie would end up together as he can perhaps give her a more normal life. However, this does not seem to be the case as the story goes, kind of a bit disappointed on this. Well, this is something you will find out in the later books.

Last, but not the least, the main characters represent different kinds of people searching for love. Eric is the playboy or bad boy who finally wants to be serious for once. Bill is the normal good guy who may not be what he seems to be. Alcide is the kind of guy who just cannot get over with his previous relationship and move on. Debbie, Alcide's ex-girlfriend, is the kind of girl we see a lot, possessive and controlling, though she is already engaged, she just would not leave Alcide alone, still getting into various aspect of his life. Sookie, the normal girl next door, and all she wants is to find "the one", someone she can be with despite her "disability".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favorite in series so far!, 14 Sep 2009
By 
M. K. Burton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Sookie's vampire boyfriend Bill has a secret. He's been spending all his time hunched over the computer and lately doesn't even pay Sookie attention when she gets home from work. Sookie is even more confused and upset when Bill tells her that he's going away for a while, to Seattle, which she automatically knows is a lie. When Eric approaches her a few days later and tells her that Bill's been kidnapped, Sookie doesn't know what to think, but she goes along to save him, teaming up with a surprisingly attractive werewolf along the way, at a creepy club the likes of which she'd happily never see again.

It seems to be about the third book of an urban fantasy series that everything clicks for me and I just want more. That is definitely the case here. All of a sudden, I really just want more Sookie. I loved her voice in this novel; it felt very distinctive and southern and perfectly pitched to what was going on. I could completely sympathize with all of her money woes, her relationship woes, and even her physical pain (luckily I've never been beaten up, so I can't empathize, but I felt so sorry for her). I felt like she was my friend and I wanted to make her happier.

Something I really like about this series is that the relationships are not infalliable. I could sense in the last book that Bill and Sookie weren't necessarily going to stay together, and while she was certainly hurting for it, I think it takes the story in a much more interesting direction if she's not tied to one particular person (or vampire). Bill has proved the dangers of falling in love with a vampire and part of me wonders where Sookie is going to go next. I hope she doesn't go back to Bill. I think I know where she'll go, but I can't tell you how much I wish I had Dead to the World right now! Unfortunately my library's copy is out, my new library doesn't have a copy, and I don't really have the money to spare to go buy the whole series, but when I do, I'm really looking forward to continuing.

Anyway, that is besides the point. I think that Club Dead is my favorite of the three I've read so far. It's easy to love a book when you love the narrator. I hope that Sookie finds the confidence and love she needs and I will totally continue reading to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sookie Rules!, 2 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Club Dead (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third installment of the Sookie Stackhouse books (A southern Vampire Novel) and if you liked the first two books this is a keeper. It's an excellent adventure filled with humor and intrigue as you follow Sookies and her "boyfriend's" troubles. As a fan I read it in one sitting so don't plan on doing anything else. Enough said READ IT and let it will speak for it self. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably Better Than The Last 2 In The Series, 16 May 2003
This review is from: Club Dead (Mass Market Paperback)
The plot to the third book in the series was what i was waiting for - Less of Bill, more of Eric! Bill was starting to annoy me, plus i didn't like the fact that he would just feed off Sookie whenever he felt like a snack. This book is slightly darker than the last two. There's more sex and violence, plus Bill does something to Sookie which makes me hate him even more. Sookie seems to have a lot more fun in this one, plus she travels to the city and we learn that there are vamps and werewolves everywhere and they even have a hierarcy. If you liked the first two books, i would definitely recommend this one. Also, if you are interested in the likes of Laurell K. Hamilton, try this book out, you'll probably like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews