Customer Reviews


8 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Treasure of Golden Musical Memories, 26 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. Carl Gresham "greshstyle" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wakey! Wakey! (Audio CD)
I wanted to present an hour of Billy Cotton on my radio show "Carl Gresham & Friends" broadcast worldwide on [...] Sundays at 11-00am; repeated Mondays at 1-00pm and again on Tuesday Mornings at 9-00am. So I bought a few of these rather magnificent releases and this one stands out because of the wonderful tunes that have lived on so so many years, yet presented in the Billy Cotton way that makes them a great listening pleasure. Musical Memories including "After You've Gone" with Teddy Foster on vocal; "What a difference A Day Made" featuring Alan Breeze; "Shine" featuring Teddy Foster; "Avalon"; "The New Tiger Rag" with Nat Gonella; "She was only somebody's Daughter" with the Western Brothers; "Rolling Round the world" featuring The Bandits; "'S Wonderful"; "Day In, Day Out" and so on. There's something for everyone on this CD and modern mastering brings out clearly the original style of Billy Cotton and his Music Makers. Just relax and listen to the 24 Tracks offered for your pleasure, it was certainly my pleasure to play!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band Show, 5 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wakey! Wakey! (Audio CD)
Great memories from the 1950's when my dad listened every Sunday to the Band Show. I bought this album for one track, Avalon, but the whole 24 tracks are so good that I played it three times in the first week I owned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mother/Father-in Law loved it., 18 April 2012
By 
M Belle (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wakey! Wakey! (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift for my in-laws and they are very pleased with it. They make long car journeys and like to listen to CDs as they're driving. One thing they did say, though, was...nowhere on the CD does Billy Cotton actually shout 'Wakey wakey!' and they were kind of hoping he would, so it would bring back all the memories of the original radio show. Even so...they were still very happy with it and for the price, I really can't grumble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the Billy Cotton band, 30 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wakey! Wakey! (Audio CD)
This CD is one of the later ones even I remember watching good old Billy Cotton on the TV on Saturday nights in the sisters, he had a favorite saying which was wakey wakey he said this at the start of all his shows.his tunes are a favorite with the older generation as they are good to sing along to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wakey! Wakey! (Audio CD)
This brought back many happy memories of Sunday lunches in the sixties.
I missed the banter which used to occur between Billy and the band but the music was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COTTON-ING ON AGAIN, 23 Aug. 2007
By 
Gerald Reek "GOLDEN OLDIE" (STOCKPORT, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wakey! Wakey! (Audio CD)
My third Billy Cotton purchase off Amazon.

I was a little sceptical about this CD as it is on the Pegasus label (mostly associated with non-original recordings) so I presumed the recording quality may not have been up to scratch (pardun the pun) transferred from 78s.

However, full marks to the company for the very good recording transferrals from what are older (pre-Decca main label) records. There aren't any sleeve notes as such apart from the titles, therefore I assume they are REX recordings from the (mostly) late 30s/40s. Someone else may confirm this at a later date.

A good variety again, some comedy songs, some "straight" songs all done in the well recognised Billy Cotton way.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Jun. 2015
By 
K. R. Clements "Sapper" (Kesgrave;Suffolk,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wakey! Wakey! (Audio CD)
Excellent CD and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wakey! Wakey! (Audio CD)
Bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wakey! Wakey!
Wakey! Wakey! by Billy Cotton & His Band
Buy MP3 Album£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews