Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars45
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£10.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2015
I wanted to fix some Hi-fi/Tv boxes to wall brackets on a plasterboard cavity wall. The weight was not great so I decided to use metal cavity rawplugs. This device takes the risk out of the installation, because the rawplug is already squeezed into position and is gripping the back of the wall before you start tightening up the screw from the front. Worked very well every time!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
I bought this hollow wall anchor gun as I had previously picked up a bag of 100 anchors on my travels for a very small price. I'm very impressed with how it works and have put up shelves etc with it, onto walls which you would struggle to use any other wall plugs with. My aunt has filled the two shelves in her kitchen with all her huge heavy cookbooks, I nearly died when I saw them all. The wood of the shelf was bending, but the anchor fixings hadn't given a mm. It's a well made tool which hopefully will serve me well for a long time to come.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
If, like me, you're a major rawlplug user then you'll be aware that that otherwise useful widget has 2 main problems.

(a) It takes an age to screw the bolt into the anchor to the extent that said anchor is fully compressed and......
(b) press the anchor into the wall as much as you like, it frequently refuses to actually anchor itself properly with the result that it turns around and around with the bolt, causing you to expend a lot of effort and colourful language that could best be used elsewhere.

Say goodbye to all that.

The business part of this tool consists of a metal cylinder with a notch cut into the face (see main pic) and similar cylinder of smaller size - and with a similar notch - which sits inside the first. The action of the spring loaded handles is such as to draw the inner cylinder back away from the outer one.

You have to unscrew the rawlplug bolt a short distance, making sure it's still fixed to its anchor. Then fit it into the tool so that the head of the bolt is up against the inner face of the inner cylinder and the top of the anchor is against the outer face of the outer cylinder (see image 1). Insert the plug into the hole you've drilled, squeeze the handles, and there you are (image 2). The action of the cylinders, in pulling the bolt away from the anchor, has compressed the anchor. And you have just firmly fixed your rawlplug into its location with little effort and no bad language.

Bloody marvellous.
review image review image
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
This is a tool for a very specific job but one it does very well...for use with 4 and 5 mm anchors ..Very sturdy...A quality tool. Used in conjunction with the correct anchors it provides a solid support for even heavy objects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
before this i would drill a hole insert the anchor, tap the teeth into the plaster and slowly tighten the bolt until it grabbed, then i'd have to unscrew, attach the fixing and then screw again. Was a total headache. Often the thread was poor so multiple screwing destroyed it or the teeth wouldnt grab and i'd wreck the plaster. Now it's instant grab and then on goes the fixing. did four in seconds. works with B&Q small and large hollow wall anchors.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
I bought this tool as someone kindly removed my previous one from my set of tools. It is no where near the one that got pinched as this does not come with a ratchet action. You have to pull the handles together and then if the "toggle" isn't firm, you then have to unscrew the thread and pull the handles together again. It will do asa stop gap but will be looking for one with a ratchet action.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 February 2015
Have been using this with "M5 x 52mm Heavy Duty Metal Plasterboard Cavity Wall Anchors Plugs", to fix up wall cabinets on cavity wall plaster board.

I noticed these plugs had an initial outward offset, to help the "legs" buckle more easily when being set. Other similar fixings have much straighter "legs", which require more force to start setting.

Initially the handles are wide apart and require considerable force to start the setting, so some may find it difficult to get the necessary grip. I find it best to put the head of the screw into the tool, after removing any washers from the screw, finger tightening the anchor plug against the face of the tool. Then put the anchor plug into the 10mm drilled hole, holding the inner handle against the wall, while given the outer handle a good thump, with a fist or palm, to start the setting. From then on it is relatively easy of close the handles.

With right use this works very well and I am very pleased to have it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
This tool is strongly built and set the anchor bolts without difficulty. In the past I have had serious trouble with these anchors which wouldn't set properly with a screwdriver and chewed up the plasterboard walls while I was trying to set them. This tool did the task without damaging the wall and more or less instantly i.e. in less than 30 seconds from start to finish. It did not require much force, but the handles are quite far appart and with small hands you might need to use a two handed grip to start closing them. If it is being used on a longer anchor it might be necessary to screw the anchor bolt in a few turns and take a second squeeze of the handles to fully set the anchor.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Having tried two alternatives from screwfix which both failed, I ordered this Laser tool at around the same price as a last resort. It is fantastic in comparison. Simple design, strong construction, easy to use. Just the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
I started with the cheaper of the two Rawlplug versions. I got that from Screwfix - as others have noted their picture shows the expensive one but the one you get is the cheap plastic version. That one struggled on the first fixing, and then failed completely ( Shame on you Rawlplug) I got this Laser tool - and it has set a number of M4 fixings with no problem at all.
The only problem I can foresee is that larger fixings than M5 might have a problem getting the screw head inside the puller. You could always use a temporary screw with a ground down head just to set the fixing then replace it with the permanent screw.
Same as other reviewers - why did I wait all these years struggling to hold the fixings from turning with a pair of pliers!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)