Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming trip down memory lane
I really enjoyed this book and bought it after reading Foley's first memoir, "Full hearts and Empty Bellies". Foley is a beautiful writer, her observations are charming and she's easy to read. This book charts her family history after she got married and quit domestic service. Her life is filled with love but lived in poverty, so rich in the things money can't buy, but...
Published on 5 Sep 2010 by Mrs. S. Biddulph

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars missed the plot.
did not enjoy this book as i felt it kept wandering too much off the main story line.would not reccomend it.
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming trip down memory lane, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Mrs. S. Biddulph (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book and bought it after reading Foley's first memoir, "Full hearts and Empty Bellies". Foley is a beautiful writer, her observations are charming and she's easy to read. This book charts her family history after she got married and quit domestic service. Her life is filled with love but lived in poverty, so rich in the things money can't buy, but without two ha'pennies to rub together. It straddles London and the countryside and is a valuable social history told in the first person. It's anecdotal and fosters real warmth in the reader. I genuinely cared for her family and wanted the very best for them. Foley is a trooper, a doer, a no-nonsense woman, slighty awkward in her own skin and at times irritatingly self-deprecating. But her use of language is lyrical and her humility genuine. The only drawback of the book is the last section which harks back to memories from her childhood. For me it doesn't sit well with her adult years in the first two sections. I'd have preferred more about her life as a wife, mother and grandmother as I learnt all about her childhood in her first book. I found this section repetitive, whereas the first two were new, shiny and packed full of character, wit and sincerity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book I Have Read in a Long Time, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Diane Horne (Isle of Man, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I couldn't wait to read this book having read the previous one about Winifred Foley's childhood and this one didn't disappoint. It's the sort of book that you want to read and read to know what happens next but also realising that you will soon be at the end and the amazing story she had written would soon be over. I will never forget this story of the most amazing love her family had for each other and only wish that she had written more. A truly amazing woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt Memories of the 1950s, 7 Oct 2010
Shiny Pennies and Grubby Pinafores: How We Overcame Hardship to Raise a Happy Family in the 1950s A really good easy read, taken back to hardship with a loving family, not very often seen in this day and age. Highly Recommended read :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shiny pennies and grubby pinafores, 28 April 2010
By 
P. M. Carlini - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought it for my wife who assures me that it was an excellent read and is now suffering withdrawal symptoms and wants more books by the same author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very authentio account of the times - I was there! No mention of the shiny pennies though. I will read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SECOND BEST, 21 April 2010
By 
I enjoyed this book, it was very reminisent of the fifties, but the previous book which is entitled Full Hearts and Empty Bellies seemed to me to be a much more interesting read as it was more about the person and her family where as this book seemed to be about a wider topic. I did enjoy reading it and would recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why give me all this grief, 10 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book - interesting story of the fifties and a real social document (with a bit of feel good spin)
BUT why oh why do Amazon keep pestering me for a review ??
Worse than spam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHINY PENNIES AND GRUBBY PINAFORES, 21 April 2010
By 
Mrs. J. M. Pinching (NORFOLK ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DELIGHTFUL FOLLOW UP TO HER PREVIOUS BOOK'FULL HEARTS AND EMPTY BELLIES'
THOROUGHLY ENJOYED EASY STYLE OF WRITING - WAS ALMOST LIKE READING A LETTER FROM AN OLD FRIEND THATS HOW NATURAL IT WAS TO IDENTIFY WITH WRITER.MAKES YOU THANKFUL FOR ALL THE EVERYDAY LUXURY WE NOW ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Milburn (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews