Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!!!!!
I was a little dubious at first at watching this film as I hadn't heard good things.....But what can I say it was a laugh from start to finish. Sandra Bullock is as always fantastic, her portrayal of Mary was absolutley faultless and possessed many qualities which I found myself relating to. It's about realising it's OK to be different and that you don't have to be normal...
Published on 5 Jan 2011 by Flintstones

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad beyond belief!
I watched this film the other night with a growing sense of disbelief at just how bad it actually was. 'No', I kept thinking to myself, 'it can't really be that bad. There must be some sort of clever post-modern irony going on here'. Alas, however, there was not and it really was as bad as I feared! Both the screenplay and plot are banal and puerile beyond belief. The...
Published on 17 May 2012 by Gadfly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Worst movie ever, but......, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. V. F. R. Niekerk "horrorbuff" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
My Goodness!
I have never seen anthing quite like this. There's no two ways about it, no matter what anyone says, this movie is BAD!
BAD as in terrible, ghastly, cringe-inducing, look-away, what-were-they-thinking? BAD!
A Rom-Com this is NOT, so anyone expecting that, stay away. Far away. I think that counts for anyone else too.
Sandra Bullock plays the most annoying character in the history of movies, ever since the Lumiere brothers flickered images onto a screen. Think I'm exaggerating? Really? Watch it! And tell me you don't want to strangler her or throw her in front a speeding bus with a bomb on it (ha ha). Her performance is dreadful (and deserving of a Razzie which it got)
She basically stalks poor Bradley Cooper. To me it was almost a horror movie, as it reminded me of a psychotic girl I dated once who came after me with a knife. (really)
But....can a dreadful one-star movie have a message? Can it depart some wisdom to those unfortunate, frozen-in-front-of-the-TV souls trapped like amber? Maybe. Maybe the message is that if you are a different soul, an outcast, a weirdo, a very-clever but social nimcompoop, you should seek out people like you and not try to fit in with "normal" people. People like those people on the bus who stops for a rest break. And leaves her there to the sound of applauding commuters.
There. You have the message now. Be yourself. Don't change for other people. Seek out others more in tune with your needs.
There....now you don't have to waste two hours of your time to watch this crud.
You're welcome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Probably NOT the worst movie ever made!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
I had put off buying this DVD for many months due to the bad customer reviews & general bad press surrounding it but, as a die hard Sandra Bullock fan, curiosity eventually got the better of me & I bought it last week. I'm glad I did. This movie is by no means one of her best but at the same time I didn't find it terrible or at all difficult to watch. The fact that it won an award for worst film ever made & Bullock won the award for worst actress really amazes me!The fact that she could portray such an unconventional character so believably is a credit to her & that she went on to win an Oscar for best actress that very same year says a lot!! So to anyone who's unsure whether to watch this film or not I'd just say don't believe everything you read just make your own mind up & if you're a big fan of either Bullock or Bradley Cooper you'll get some enjoyment out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars all about steve dvd, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. N. M. Hedayat "charlie" (scandinavia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie... love Sandra Bullock as an actress...... she has starred in so many good films ... look forward to purchasing more of her fims
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not actually the worst film made after all, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
In case you didn't know, Sandra Bullock was nominated for `Worst Actress' at the annual `Razzie' awards for her performance in `All About Steve.' She even bucked tradition and went to the ceremony to accept it. That is how well the film is generally thought of - as one of the worst you could watch that year.

So why did the usually bankable and charming Ms Bullock come a cropper with this one? Well, she does actually play her usual, i.e. charming self. The film was marketed as a typical kooky comedy which she is known for. However, instead of being loveable, she's annoying, or rather deliberately annoying.

Her character, although being intelligent, seems to have difficulty picking up on other people's non verbal communications. In many ways (and this is NEVER addressed in the movie) she shares some traits with aspergers sufferers. Therefore, she openly stalks a man who she believes is really her soul mate.

Yes, there are some funny moments on the way, but, in a film where you expect to be rooting for Sandra, you find yourself sympathising with everyone BUT her!

This is Sandra Bullock's `The Cable Guy,' i.e. a film where a normally comic actor chooses to deliberately mix things up by playing a much darker version of what they're normally known for.

The ending is a bit predictable (and somewhat unrealistic), but, if you can forgive that, plus realise that you're not actually going to like Sandra Bullock's character that much in this one, then you could just sit back and enjoy it for being quite an entertaining satire on the American news networks.

Not great, but definitely not the worst film ever made either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay at best, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a Sandra fan, own most of her films but this is pushing my loyalty to its limits! If you are in a silly mood or a die-hard fan or Sandra or Bradley then you may enjoy no matter what!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not what i expecteds, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
saw the trailer and thought mmmm this might be interesting so then paid for it, i waited for it to come into the post watched it on the day i got it and did not meet my expectations it was as if they only showed the good parts on the trailer and even they only lasted a few seconds so overall only about 5 mins of the film was actually good and that was where she fell down th4e collapsed mine thing and funny where they reconstructed it on the news
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
brought for my daughter, she said it was ok, not a bad dvd, but wished she ordered a different one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DvD, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
Hi, this film was was good but not all that from what I heard. I liked the funny side to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i laughed and laughed, 19 Feb 2013
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
god cut it some slack it all leads up to her falling in that hole and when that happened i could not stop laughing i dont know why but i thought it was so funny and i think it deserves 4stars just like the rest!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Sandra bullock film, 29 Jan 2013
This review is from: All About Steve [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't heard of it before ordering, but with Sandra bullock and Bradley cooper in it I thought it would be good. Poor story line, cheesy embarrassing scenes, this one should be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All About Steve [DVD]
All About Steve [DVD] by Phil Traill (DVD - 2010)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews