Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A furious scrap - proof that the ladies can really dish it out when they want to
In spite of the adverse comments of other reviewers, all of which are perfectly reasonable, the plot is after all pretty unlikely, I still enjoyed round two of this glorious bloodbath as Shauna MacDonald's character: Sarah and her friend Juno, the only survivors of the first encounter, give it other go. In fact, I couldn't help but root for the ladies all the way as they...
Published 1 month ago by Christopher Garfield Allen

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the first
There are times when I can deal with characters who are idiots. There are times when I can deal with loose continuity. However I just wasn't able to deal with it in this film.
The whole plot effectively hangs on a rescue expedition taking along two clearly inexperienced cops and a woman who is clearly traumatised and deeply unwell psychologically. To a point I could...
Published 14 months ago by Jess


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the first, 30 July 2013
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
There are times when I can deal with characters who are idiots. There are times when I can deal with loose continuity. However I just wasn't able to deal with it in this film.
The whole plot effectively hangs on a rescue expedition taking along two clearly inexperienced cops and a woman who is clearly traumatised and deeply unwell psychologically. To a point I could understand a little why they brought the latter (ie. she's probably the only person alive with any knowledge of this cave system) along but the cops? And the fact that the leader of the caving people allowed one of these cops to bring a gun? (that ends REALLY well)
Now for the continuity: in the first one they establish TWO possible entrances (since this one uses the US cut as it's baseline I'm going with that even though I prefer the European). This one adds in at least one extra entrance. I think- I'm not sure; the continuity on the cave system is extremely lax.
The effects in this one weren't as good as the ones in the first. Some of the gore- and they really overdo the gore- is particularly jarring. Some of the parts of the cave looked like they were made out of foam and they were also too bright to be the caves from the first film. You don't quite believe that these people are lost deep underground. They also add in a nice little bit of toilet humour. Or maybe it was just the writers trying too hard with gross out stuff. I'm not sure.
This could have been good. The actors were decent, they just didn't have much to work with. I did like the scenes between Juno and Sarah. The emotional dynamic they have from the first film, and the dynamic of them both as people who will do absolutely anything to survive was interesting to see. It's progression towards what we have from them at the end could have been a little more fleshed out but what we get is fairly decent.

Yeah, I suggest steering clear of this one. The first is a good standalone film and should be left as such. On the upside you get a bit more of the Juno-Sarah relationship which was probably the best part of the film. On the downside you have to sit through a lot of really terrible stuff including a horrible plot set up and a crawler going to the loo to get to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sequel to a film that didn't really need one..., 9 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Take The Descent. Take away 70% of the psychological/claustrophobia scares, add 50% more blood and gore, add a bucket full of horror movies clichés and you've got The Descent Part 2.

I liked the first film; it was different in multiple ways, it didn't rely too much on horror film formula, the cast was all female, the fears were more psychological and slow building, and so forth. It tried something different, it wasn't a work of art but you can't fault them for trying something new. However when I found out that the sequel was based upon the American ending of the filming (as in the 'happier' ending) I had doubts...

The Descent Part 2 takes place 2 days after the first film; a local man finds Sarah, the sole survivor of the horror that happened in The Descent, and takes her to hospital. However the poor woman is traumatised and doesn't remember what happened. When the doctors analyse the blood on her clothes and realise it belongs to her missing friends, the local police decides to take Sarah back down to the caves to find out what happened, and hopefully find her friends.

The director does try hard to recapture the magic of the first film; with the tight tunnels, the fear of both the caves and the creatures that lurk in the darkness working against you. Also with the throwbacks of footage to the former film, the first half starts strongly. But the weakness of the movie shows towards the second half of the film where the clichés come to light. Some characters make stupid decisions (especially the male cop and Sarah becomes slightly out of character towards the end), more emphasis on gore is used to scare the audience, the creatures become over used and predictable, and the ending annoyed me! It contradicts the beginning, makes no sense, cheapens the first film somewhat and leaves it open for another potential sequel...oh goodie...

Plus I didn't connect with cast; in the first film we got to know the group of females as close friends, who they were and such before they entered the cave, so we felt sorry for them when they died and had to turn against each other to survive. But in this film we barely get their first names before someone is killed!

Don't watch this movie if you're expecting it to be as good as the first one, or if you haven't seen the first one at all! It's worth a watch if you're curious to know what happens to the characters and if you like horror films in general so you don't mind seeing the same film tricks over and over again. Worth a watch, then wait and see if there's another sequel.

UPDATE 18TH FEB 2010: According to the Horror Squad website the DVD extras will include audio commentary by the director and numerous actors from the film, deleted scenes, a Making Of, storyboards plus 5.1 sound and 16:9 widescreen for your viewing pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why do they always split up, 16 April 2010
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Sarah Carter played by Shauna Macdonald has survived and emerges traumatised from her experience. And once in hospital is required by the sheriff to venture once again into the dark nightmare to investigate a scent picked up by a police dog and to search for survivors.

Unlike the first film there is barely any time for introduction to the characters this is just a bunch thrown together. Also she barely speaks for the first half hour apparently traumatised with loss of memory. There is the sheriff who is suspicious of her and maybe suspects her as the killer and also an interesting change in Sarah as she becomes protector to another woman with whom she feels a connection possibly because she has a daughter and she lost hers.

Descent 2 is about as decent a sequel as you would expect gore, some scary moments . But its utterly ridiculous that she would venture back into the caves let alone be asked to by police. The first descent worked because of a bonding with the girls and it was better paced with a better ending. This is not as good as the first but then what sequels are. It's more of the same fighting freaks with sharp teeth with anything that comes to hand. With a new bunch of uninteresting characters and a weaker ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 21 April 2010
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge fan of The Descent(2005),I was genuinely excited at the arrival of a sequel.
Because I thought,given they have had a four year gap inbetween films,it should be a pretty impressive,fresh,and well thought out film offering.Well,that's what I thought,how wrong I was.

I should have even thought before hand,if there ever was a film that did'nt need a sequel it was The Descent,but my mind was clouded at the prospect of the forthcoming film.

If you watched The Descent,and thought,'Do you know what this film needs?,truck loads more gore',then this could possibly leave you a little bit satisfied.
Honestly,this film dosen't deserve to even be on a shelf next to the original version,it is just basically more gore,no substance.

And,what is going on with Shauna MacDonald's character 'Sarah'?
The women is practically mute throughout the film,ok,she has been through a traumatic experience,but really,she has absolutely no personality whatsoever in this.
As for the rest of the cast,I coulden't of cared less about,and that is just one of the problems with The Descent Part 2.
You have to care somewhat about the characters for goodness sake,
Which is what the first film had in bucketloads.

By the way,don't read this next bit if you haven't seen it.

As for the appearence of 'Juno',it was actually laughable.
She had turned into a sort of poor mans Lara Croft,also taking a leaf out of 'Sarah's book,not speaking,just doing.

I'm just going to watch The Descent again,and pretend Part 2 never happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A furious scrap - proof that the ladies can really dish it out when they want to, 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In spite of the adverse comments of other reviewers, all of which are perfectly reasonable, the plot is after all pretty unlikely, I still enjoyed round two of this glorious bloodbath as Shauna MacDonald's character: Sarah and her friend Juno, the only survivors of the first encounter, give it other go. In fact, I couldn't help but root for the ladies all the way as they hack and slash their way through the underground tribe of blind sub human cannibals in a desperate attempt to fight their way to the surface. I found it somewhat ironic that their male companions, for the most part, just acted as cannon fodder. OK, the whole thing is crazy, but this movie contains one of the best last stands ever filmed to my mind. Very scary but recommended if you've in the mood for a film where the ladies finally lose it with the creeps that stalk them and give as good as they get. But beware, this movie has a really nasty sting in its tail.

Chris Allen is a Technical Author and writer with the following books available through Amazon:
The Beam of Interest: Taken by Storm
Hypnotic Tales 2013: Some Light Some Dark
Call of the Void: The Strange Life and Times of a Confused Person: 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly,though very well done,this is a repeat., 16 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Some films cry out for a sequel: anyone who saw 'Hannibal Lecter' needed more of the mans chilling intellect on screen; 'Alien' demanded more action scenarios showing mans battle/triumph over the frightening alien creatures; I think The Descent/Dog Soldiers/28 Days Later [DVD] the original fed our appetite for more of the same.

However,in my opinion the makers have made the same film twice,with different charactors.Yes,there is slightly more gore,and yes, the charactors havn't been fleshed out as well as in the original.But in essence the plot,peril-factor and creatures are the same in both films.

I enjoyed the original,but I don't like repeats.If I did I'd watch tv all day.

Come on Neil Marshall you should not have allowed this to happen.

How about going back to the beginnings of the creatures as a plot? There is obviously a Part 3 planned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as most people make it out to be, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Descent was a well-received horror, so, no surprise when it spawned a sequel. If you read other reviews on Part 2, you'll see that most of the negative criticism stems from the beginning of the film and the end. I won't talk about the end so there's a `treat' in store for you, but the gripes with the beginning relate to how this one has been tacked on to the original. Personally, I had no problem with the `link' and the way it was done.

Part 2 isn't written by writer/director of the original Neil Marshall, but he is an executive producer on the second. New writers tell the story of a second team of cave explorers, heading down to see what happened to the first lot - and of course running into those pesky (not to mention hungry) `Crawlers.'

No, there's not much character development among the new cast and yes, the film does rely on some cheesy `jump scares;' not to mention how the makers of the film think that by adding a LOT more blood to each kill will somehow make it scarier than its predecessor. However, all this doesn't make it a bad film. It was just that so many people loved the first one, that anything that came next would be a let-down. No, it's far from perfect and not as good as the first, but still a damn sight better than 90% of modern horror offerings.

Maybe turn it off after one hour and twenty-five minutes if you're afraid you won't like the ending (it's only an hour and a half long).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great sequel! a must watch!, 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
ok the decent did not really need a sequel. but i'm personally glad they did! cause this is a must see and have! .. it continues where sarah is in the hospital but has no memory of what really happened! the memory soon comes back tho when she is asked to take a trip back down in the caves by the cops to help them discover what happened to her missing friends. (guess she needed to lose her memory otherwise i cant imagine her ever going back down there if she remembered!). full of jumps and scares and i must admit this made me jump more than the first one!.... however i will say that the ending was real good as sarah and juno kinda come together but the very last bit of it when this cop gets out of the cave what happens i think was a tad to much. but other than that a awesome film and one to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twice as claustrophobic as Descent (Part 1), 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Scared the living daylights out of me and the ending has to be seen to be believed. Don't watch it in the dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars definitely worth watching, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Descent 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent horror flick which gave me plenty of jolts and shock moments in a slick production. Plenty of twists and atmosphere. Well done Neil Marshall and team!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Descent 2 [DVD]
The Descent 2 [DVD] by Jon Harris (DVD - 2010)
£8.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews