Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

  • Belus
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars21
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.92
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2011
This is for me the most dissatisfying 'metal' Burzum album. I say that because it is varied and uneven containing a mixture of old and new compositions. The other thing to note is that this is the only Burzum album which has been mastered traditionally as metal music (the other albums all being mastered as classical music). Varg himself doesn't seem particularly satisfied with this fact and it certainly gives the album a unique sound in the history of Burzum. However it contains some very good tracks and is recognisably Burzum. It is less progressive than 'Fallen', albeit still with more subtle vocals than the pre-prison releases. Finally, whilst it mostly retains a good atmosphere and the hypnotic/repetitive segments I also think it often 'rocks' in a more traditional way than you might expect, which perhaps makes it more accessible in places. (I'm sure Varg would hate me for saying that!)

This is definitely worth checking out for yourself if you like Burzum at all.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
I bought this album on the strength of a magazine feature on Burzum. I was not disappointed.
You can sometimes tire of a lot of 'metal' sounding like just another album. This CD stands out by sounding different, not one track comes across weak, all are hypnotic and atmospheric with long riffs. This being my first album by Vark, I find His range of vocals truly fantastic and after many playings enjoy the CD more each time.
I will not even try to slot the album into a metal category, He stands alone as being just a fantastic maker of great music and I will be collecting further CD's by the band.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
I have yet to hear anyone else who produces albums as hypnotic and ambient as Varg. He is doing something no one else does. Belus is as good as the amazing, entrancing Hvis Lyset Tar Oss. It takes you on a journey...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
Belus is the long awaited first post prison Burzum release, the first one in 11 years. Fans of Burzum`s earler work will enjoy this album but it has a newer and heavier feel to it which makes it distinctive from the other releases.
My only criticism is the lack of English translation of the Norwegian lyrics.
55 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
This is by no means a great album but it does a whole lot more than the typical corpsepaint high end music festival black metal we see these days. A music project still guided by personal inspiration rather than trying to be a 90s Norwegian black metal band rip off. This isn`t NSBM, this isn`t a band. It`s not even black metal. It`s Burzum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
Interesting how things change. 'Burzum' (meaning 'the darkness') has released an album dedicated to Belus, the Indo-European deity of light. Far from being contradictory, however, Varg's opposition to Judeo-Christianity hasn't wavered a bit - just his conception of where he stands in relation to it. Originally he thought of himself as a force of darkness, but now he sees Judeo-Christianity itself as the darkness, and so opposes it with a force of light.

The music itself is both dark and bright, sunlight and shadow. On one track the guitars form a cold pre-dawn mist, on another they dance like a rainbow on a waterfall.

'Belus' Død' is a powerful and older piece, dating back to the time of 'Filosofem', and indeed its opening riff was also used in a less powerful way on 'Dauði Baldrs'. Now, played on guitar, it sounds truly overwhelming. On the other hand, 'Sverddans' ('Sword Dance') features music Varg wrote when he was sixteen, sounding like raw death metal à la Darkthrone's 'Goatlord', and this doesn't fit in very well with the other pieces.

More recent compositions like 'Glemselens Elv' ('The River of Forgetfulness'), 'Keliohesten' ('The Horse of Kelio') and 'Morgenrøde' ('Dawn') are strong, hypnotic, shimmering and deeply beautiful.

The lyrics, now translated into English and other languages on the Burzum website, are excellent.

While 'Belus' isn't as good as Varg's masterpiece 'Hvis Lyset Tar Oss', it stands alongside his other albums and is musically perhaps most similar to 'Filosofem'. It's good to see Varg out in the 'world' again, continuing his artistic mission and offending so many repressed, politically correct idiots by his mere existence. 'Belus' is an album I will listen to many times in the future.

Welcome back...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
on first listen of this album i was slightly underwhelmed, having waited so long for it, and because it is fast paced its hard to take in all the brilliance on first listen. i was hoping that the songs would be like det som engang var, but the tracks on this album are fast and unrelenting, but that gives them a hypnotizing quality and there are some beautiful melodies that are as good if not as memorable as those on older albums, ive listened to this album over and over now and feel i will return to it for years, it doesnt get boring and i cannot fault it, some will find it perhpas less exciting than older albums but overall this is burzum on brilliant form.
33 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
Interesting how things change. 'Burzum' (meaning 'the darkness') has released an album dedicated to Belus, the Indo-European deity of light. Far from being contradictory, however, Varg's opposition to Judeo-Christianity hasn't wavered a bit - just his conception of where he stands in relation to it. Originally he thought of himself as a force of darkness, but now he sees Judeo-Christianity itself as the darkness, and so opposes it with a force of light.

The music itself is both dark and bright, sunlight and shadow. On one track the guitars form a cold pre-dawn mist, on another they dance like a rainbow on a waterfall.

'Belus' Død' is a powerful and older piece, dating back to the time of 'Filosofem', and indeed its opening riff was also used in a less powerful way on 'Dauði Baldrs'. Now, played on guitar, it sounds truly overwhelming. On the other hand, 'Sverddans' ('Sword Dance') features music Varg wrote when he was sixteen, sounding like raw death metal à la Darkthrone's 'Goatlord', and this doesn't fit in very well with the other pieces.

More recent compositions like 'Glemselens Elv' ('The River of Forgetfulness'), 'Keliohesten' ('The Horse of Kelio') and 'Morgenrøde' ('Dawn') are strong, hypnotic, shimmering and deeply beautiful.

The lyrics, now translated into English and other languages on the Burzum website, are excellent.

While 'Belus' isn't as good as Varg's masterpiece 'Hvis Lyset Tar Oss', it stands alongside his other albums and is musically perhaps most similar to 'Filosofem'. It's good to see Varg out in the 'world' again, continuing his artistic mission and offending so many repressed, politically correct idiots by his mere existence. 'Belus' is an album I will listen to many times in the future.

Welcome back...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
I wasn't expecting much from this album, but after just one listen I knew this was going to be one of my favourites. There are no skippable songs on this ablum, and luckily, my favourite song on the album (Glemselens Elv) is also the longest one! A must get for any Burzum fan or a fan of black metal in general.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
Its been 11 long years, with no new releases from Vikernes.

Nevertheless this year hes back with "Belus", and let me just say its been worth the long wait.
The album starts out brilliantly with the awesome "Belus Død" (which i personally think is the best track on the cd)
This is also the track that for me, sounds the most like his old tracks (i.e Dunkelheit).
From the very first listen youre in NO doubt its BURZUM.
His style either has changed very little or none at all, for me this is just plain old burzum.
I really dont think you can tell that he has been away from his guitar for years.

Not his best album, but ABSOLUTELY not his worst(did he make any bad albums?)

If you like Burzums style and music, you will certainly NOT be dissapointed in this release.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.