Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family entertainment
The whole family enjoyed this - each laughing in different places as different aspects were appreciated by different age groups. A touch of Fantasia in the synchronised piglets - adorable. Particularly well written and set in 1940s with nods to the Famous Five 'lashings of ginger beer' and the derring-do of Wallace And Gromit style chases in motocycle and sidecar. We...
Published on 13 Aug. 2010 by katrina_marina

versus
22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very similar to the first film-Still enjoyable
The second Nanny McPhee movie varies very little from the format of the first. A parent living on their own struggles to cope with a number of "high spirited" children. A magical Nanny appears uninvited to teach the children a few lessons about socially acceptable behaviour, gradually improving her physical appearance as each lesson is learned.

This time Maggie...
Published on 1 April 2010 by haunted


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family entertainment, 13 Aug. 2010
The whole family enjoyed this - each laughing in different places as different aspects were appreciated by different age groups. A touch of Fantasia in the synchronised piglets - adorable. Particularly well written and set in 1940s with nods to the Famous Five 'lashings of ginger beer' and the derring-do of Wallace And Gromit style chases in motocycle and sidecar. We all loved it, and if you're looking for a DVD for Christmas viewing when all the family are together - this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warts 'n' all, 21 July 2010
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a review of the standard-def DVD released 19th July 2010

Five years on from the original film, this sequel sees Emma Thompson again play the part of the mysterious nanny who appears when she's needed the most and wanted the least. This time she finds herself on a family farm set during World War 2, and mayhem has broken out between some boisterous country children and their spoilt city cousins who have been sent away for their own protection. Nanny McPhee is there to help bring some peace for Mrs Green, who is the mother of the three country kids and aunt to the two others. Using such aids as a flying motorcycle and a tree-climbing piglet, Nanny McPhee conjures up just the right formula to teach the children five new lessons.

While my children thought this was as good as the first film, I thought it lacked some of the colour and cartoonish appeal its predecessor had, due in no small part to the characters who are missing this time round. Colin Firth was outstanding in the earlier film, but his equivalent in this tale, Rhys Ifans, lacks the comic subtleties that appeal to young and old alike. As a story it's quite good, and efforts have been made to include a little more of everything - particularly animals and birds - but despite good production design it still feels slightly disappointing, the overall concept too similar without any really new ground being covered. But the primary target audience is primary school children and my own expert offspring have already passed judgement and have decided that the sequel is every bit as good as the first.

On the DVD there are 11 deleted scenes and some featurettes including some 'behind-the-scenes' footage of how some parts of the film were made, and a speeded-up short film of Emma Thompson having her very heavy make-up applied. Finally there is a full re-run of the film with a voice-over (commentary) by the director Susanna White.

It's a pleasant enough family film which will probably please most of those who enjoyed the original Nanny McPhee film, but it isn't as funny or as memorable and I doubt that it will get as many repeat viewings. Although I bought it, on reflection I think renting might have been a better option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family film, 14 Sept. 2014
Set in 1940's Britain, this story follows 5 naughty children who require lessons from the magical Nanny Mcphee, a kind hearted yet strict nanny who will not tolerate any rude or unacceptable behavior. Emma Thompson plays the role of Nanny Mcphee.

All the acting is wonderful throughout the film, particularly by the children. One particular line had me and my family in stitches, 'we are in the land of poo.' Utterly brilliant.

It's very different from the first Nanny Mcphee and I actually prefer this one better, perhaps because I love the 1940's era (clothes, music etc).

Brill for children and adults, a real family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a feel good film. Rhys Ifans is very charismatic and watchable ..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was watching TV when this film came on and found that I just had to keep watching. It's a feel good film. Rhys Ifans is very charismatic and watchable and the rest of the cast are excellent - sometimes when children are involved this isn't always the case - but they are great. There are no dull moments and the section with the piglets (without going into detail and spoiling it) is priceless. I then bought a copy and sent it to my daughter for my granddaughter and they both loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very similar to the first film-Still enjoyable, 1 April 2010
By 
The second Nanny McPhee movie varies very little from the format of the first. A parent living on their own struggles to cope with a number of "high spirited" children. A magical Nanny appears uninvited to teach the children a few lessons about socially acceptable behaviour, gradually improving her physical appearance as each lesson is learned.

This time Maggie Gyllenhal is the stressed parent. Her husband is fighting in the war and she struggles to run the farm, especially with debt ridden brother-in-law Rhys Ifans trying to persuade her to sell the farm.

Happily this time the children aren't as annoying as in the first film. They are very helpful around the farm but do not get on with their two visiting posh cousins. Thankfully Nanny McPhee teaches them the benefits of everyone getting along together.

Written by Emma Thompson the young ones will enjoy the slapstick and chase scenes but adults who have seen the first film may find it a bit repetitive. The acting is generally good. Ms. Gyllenhal's English accent is excellent though her acting veers towards the shrill at times.

An enjoyable if unoriginal children's film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nanny McPhee doesnt like Goodbyes.... WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!, 3 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great family entertainment that even had hard-of-heart-old-Taxi-Driver-loving me weeping at the end (especially the reference to the first film!). My 3 and a half year old LOVED the first one and watched it OVER and OVER again. This isnt as good but still a heartening old bag of fun all the same. However, this one went slightly more over the head of my daughter with some more 'adult' references like wars, class etc. Too hard to explain to a 3 year old what a war is really! But as in the first one, great performances all round and some inspired casting (Bill Bailey, Rhys Ifans). Perfect for keeping the kids quiet during the summer. I really hope they continue making more Nanny McPhee films. I am definately a (secret) fan. Give in and ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Big Bang was a mega big hit with my five year old daughter., 4 Aug. 2010
I must confess I watched the "Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang" before the first Nanny McPhee [DVD] [2005] and maybe thats why I prefer this one. I found the film to be a cross between "Merry Poppins", "Babe" and "Dads Army". Emma Thompson is brilliant as Nanny McPhee and has a black bird as a strange little side kick. The dancing swimming pigs made us all laugh and so did all the other fun animals that pop up throughout the film. The children act well and you can see they are all enjoying themselves. Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang is a excellent childrens film which brought back fond memories of my childhood of watching Merry Poppins many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FAMILY TREAT OF A FILM, 20 July 2010
MY FAMILY AND I THOUGHT THIS FILM WAS BRILLIANT EVEN BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE. I WONT TELL THE STORY BUT NANNY GETS A FAMILY WHICH NEED HER TO TEACH THEM LESSONS IN HOW TO GET ON AND WHEN THEY DO LEARN THESE LESSONS THEY WORK TOGETHER TO SAVE THE DAY,WITH THE HELP OF NANNY MC PHEE AND HER WONDERFUL MAGIC STICK.
THIS FILM KEPT THE LITTLE ONES GLUED TO THE TV AND US BIG ONES AS IT WAS SUCH FUN TO WATCH AND THE STORYLINE DID IN THE END SHOW HOW IT LINKED TO THE FIRST FILM IT WAS JUST EXCELLENT, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS FILM AS A BRILLIANT HAPPY FUN FILM FOR ANY RAINY DAY IT WILL KEEP YOU GLUED TO THE END.JULIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the kids but not as good as the first one, 17 Aug. 2010
I watched this film with my family last weekend and although the kids were hugely entertained i felt that it was sadly lacking compared to the first film.

There were some little gems in amongst it all like bill baileys cameo and the 2 assassins topsy and turvy but other than that it seemed to have lost its whole family appeal.
One of the bits i liked about the first film was the completely surreal / panto style sets and costumes and the over exaggerated characters which sadly this one seemed to have lost.

A great child entertainer for the holidays but not a brilliant all round family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 10 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nanny Mcphee And The Big Bang was a really good purchase. Great family film.
Emma Thompson as always is such a good actress and Ralph Fiennes is just gorgeous.The children's acting was excellent.
It was so easy to purchase from Amazon and came by first class post very quickly and much cheaper than most supermarkets.
I would certainly use Amazon again, most efficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang Combi Pack [Blu-ray + DVD][Region Free]
£6.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews