Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You can't fight in here! This is the War Room!"
Dr. Strangelove, Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb is one of the most biting and hard-hitting commentaries about the U.S.-Soviet arms race, overdependence on technology, the can-do philosophy of the Air Force, and the sheer lunacy of MAD, the apt acronym for the term Mutual Assured Destruction -- which was the Cold War diplo-speak that meant "you nuke...
Published on 4 May 2004 by Alex Diaz-Granados

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dr Strangelove is a Sellers Love Fest!
A Peter Sellers' tour-de-force! Just about brilliant. Great b/w transfer. The 'extras' are a bit of a letdown, however.
Published on 24 May 2010 by J S Lasher


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Mr. President, I cannot allow...a mineshaft gap!', 1 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How best to tackle the subject of nuclear war? Some would say a documentary or a hard hitting docu-drama. Perhaps an action movie or thriller. Some might even use science fiction or perhaps horror. But comedy? Black comedy to tackle the most horrific subject imaginable? It'll never work!

Stanley Kubrick, genius that he was turned in his finest film in 1963 with Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb. Peter Sellers stars in three parts as the quiet but determined Captain Mandrake, the equally determined but powerless President Merkin Mufflin and the crazed, former Nazi Dr. Strangelove.

Kubrick was given the story but thought it so ridiculous that the only way to tackle it was through black comedy. George C. Scott's gum-chewing, blustering, patriotic, gung-ho general is hysterical, as is Major 'Nuclear combat toe-to-toe with the Rooskies' Kong aboard the bomber. Dr. Strangelove with his malfunctioning, robotic hand is another highlight. Many lines will have you rolling over with laughter; 'I can no longer sit and back and allow, communist infiltration, communist indoctrination, communist subversion, and the international communist conspiracy, to sap and impurify...ALL OF OUR PRECIOUS BODILY FLUIDS' and the unforgettable 'Gentlemen you can't fight in here, this is the War room'.

The film manages to get its point across far better than any serious film, as one is left laughing at the sheer stupidity of the paranoia of the main characters and the mindless futility of nuclear war. Dr. Stranglove, is one of the finest and funniest films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Satire Guidebook, 7 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. Ed "edsheadsaid" (Japan) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Doctor Strangelove is the film that all other satires and black comedies will be judged by. To say that it is brilliant would be to say that a razor is moderately un-blunt. Never before has a film made for a certain time been so relevant in another. And I have a feeling that it will continue to be relevant for quite some time.
The acting is flawless. Peter Sellers who needs no introduction is hilarious as three totally different yet believable characters who are all linked to each other by the strangest possible means. Dr Strangelove himself (one of Seller's characters) is quite possibly the funniest (whilst also being terrifying) character in comedy.
Masterfully directed by Kubrick and edited seamlessly, Dr Strangelove is a film that you should have seen, and if you haven't, you certainly should do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Peter Sellers., 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Strangelove [DVD] (DVD)
It may be Old and in Black & White, BUT It had me in stitches.
Yes it a vary Deep Black Comedy of War-eager Mad Military men,
who plan for a nuclear apocolypse.
It is both funny and frightening and seems as relevent today as ever.
Peter Sellers has multi parts in this simply brilliant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning!, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Strangelove [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I love this movie. However, I wasn't sure what to expect when I purchased this on blu-ray. I didn't think an old black and white movie could look all that impressive in 1080p. But I got a huge, pleasant surprise.

The clarity in the picture is just outstanding! It looks almost as if it was filmed yesterday only it's in black and white.

I am so happy I have this now in my collection. The sound was 100% as well! An all round perfect blu-ray! It almost fills out the entire screen as well, which is a huge bonus for me. Well recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kubrick/Sellers, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very important film - still relevant. Kubrick gave Sellers
a chance to shine in an excellent film. The War Office set is also one of the great sets of the century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie., 22 Feb 2013
By 
C. Hogarth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was as good as I remember, but being very deaf now, I found the sound difficult to follow. I hope it appeals to my grand children too, but I might have to explain what the cold war was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personal favourite., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everyone involved in this picture was on point. Kubrick's direction, Terry Sothern's script, Ken Adams production design and all the actors make tis one of the best satires of the 60s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Bkane "camptwat" (moseley birmingham u.k) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a peter sellars masterclass in acting a very odd film but very apt for the time it was released in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie, funny and thought provoking, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic end of the world comedy. Black and white movie and not very actioned packed but well worth watching just for Sellars great performances. Some classic lines. Bonus features are interesting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And as for the book ..., 18 Nov 2012
By 
Dr. Brian Matthews "Croydonian" (South Croydon, Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DVD has been discussed by other reviewers. The book accompanying the DVD also deserves comment. It offers a significantly different story - particularly ending - to the movie (and the associated book of the film). It makes for an interesting read. Unfortunately, the binding is not of the best quality - one page came adrift on the first reading. And whoever did the typesetting and/or editing and/or proof reading deserves to be tied to an H-bomb when it is dropped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr Strangelove [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free]
Dr Strangelove [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] by Bridget Sellers (Blu-ray - 2010)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews