Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Inside The Glass House + Thanks I Needed That....Plus
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£7.27+Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
The Glass House is now chiefly remembered as the training ground for the singing and writng talents of the last lead singer of The Supremes, Scherrie Payne. They were one of the first groups produced by Holland-Dozier-Holland on their own label, Invictus, after their litigous parting with Motown in the late 60s as hitmakers for The Supremes. This is the third Glass House compilation to come out and has the most tracks, with the addition of two tracks missing from the last compilation (1999's "Crumbs Off The Table: The Invictus Sessions"): "It Ain't The World" a B side used as Scherrie's first single and the single version of the track used as Ty Hunter's solo single "Let It Flow" (both are by the group). However it misses a track included in the first compilation (1992's "The Best Of The Glass House"): the Scherrie Payne penned "The Fox" which was previously unreleased. And what about Scherrie's unreleased version of "Want Ads"? The usurping of which by Edna Wright's "Honey Cone" is related in the liner notes of all three collections. Yet does anybody bother to try and unearth it while they're there? No!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
This superlative mid-priced set gathers together two very rare albums by US soul group THE GLASS HOUSE issued on Holland-Dozier-Holland's "Invictus Records" label in 1971 and 1972. The 6 bonus tracks (non-album single sides) are just icing on an already very tasty cake. And the remastered sound quality is fabulous too. Here's the details...

Released March 2010 in the UK as a 2CD set - Edsel EDSD 2057 (Barcode 740155205737) breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (38:25 minutes):
1. Look What We've Done To Love
2. You Ain't Livin' Unless You're Lovin'
3. I Surrendered
4. Hey There Lonely Girl
5. If It Ain't Love (It Don't Matter)
6. Hotel
7. Touch Me Jesus
8. Heaven Is There To Guide Us
9. Crumbs Off The Table
Tracks 1 to 9 are their debut US album "Inside The Glass House" issued June 1971 on Invictus Records ST-7305.
BONUS TRACKS (10 to 12 are single sides - see below):
10. He's In My Life
11. Bad Bill Of Goods
12. I Can't Be You (You Can't Be Me)

Disc 2 (46:37 minutes):
1. V.I.P.
2. A House Is Not A Home
3. I Don't See Me In Your Eyes Anymore
4. Horse And Rider
5. The Man I'll Never Have
6. Thanks I Needed That
7. Giving Up The Ring
8. Don't Let It Rain On Me
9. Stealing Moments From Another Woman's Life
10. Let It Flow
11. Don't Go Looking For Something (You Don't Want To See)
Tracks 1 to 11 are their second and last US album "Thanks I Needed That" issued October 1972 on Invictus ST-9810
BONUS TRACKS (12 to 14 are single sides - see lists below)
12. Playing Games
13. It Ain't The World (It's The People In It)
14. Let It Flow (Single Version)

Using the album cuts and the six bonus tracks across the 2CDs - you can sequence their entire US 7" singles output as follows...

1. "Crumbs Off The Table" b/w "Bad Bill Of Goods", Invictus IS 9071, September 1969 (B-side is non-album)
2. "I Can't Be You (You Can't Be Me)" b/w "He's In My Life", Invictus IS 9076, June 1970 (both tracks are non-album)
3. "Stealing Moments From Another Woman's Life" b/w "If It Ain't Love (It Don't Matter)", 1971, Invictus IS 9082
4. "Touch Me Jesus" b/w "If It Ain't Love (It Don't Matter)", June 1971, Invictus IS 9090
5. "Look What We've Done To Love" b/w "Heaven Is There To Guide Us", September 1971, Invictus IS 9097
6. "Playing Games" b/w "Let It Flow", January 1972, Invictus IS 9111 (Note: the B-side is Track 14 on Disc 2 - the "Single Version" - track 12 is the "Album" version)
7. "V.I.P." b/w "It Ain't The World (It's The People In It)", a solo single credited to SCHERRIE PAYNE, 1972, Invictus IS 9114 (B-side is non-album)
8. "Giving Up The Ring" b/w "Let It Flow", 1972, Invictus IS 9118 (Note: 2nd issue of the "Single Version" of "Let It Flow")
9. "Thanks I Needed That" b/w "I Don't See Me In Your Eyes Anymore", October 1972, Invictus IS 9129

Remastered by PETER RYNSTON at TALL ORDER, the sound quality is blisteringly good - alive and jumping out of your speakers with no real compression. The 20-page booklet has very detailed liner notes by soul expert TONY ROUNCE who also provides photos of those rare 7" singles - it's brilliantly informative and researched with both affection and care (his top class work features on most of Edsel's soul releases).

The Glass House had two uniquely great lead singers, Tyrone "Ty" Hunter and Scherrie Payne (sister of Freda Payne and later a member of The Supremes) who often shared duet vocals. The music is catchy H-D-H soul, bright, poppy and aimed squarely at the charts and your feet. Highlights are many as one infectious tune follows another - the lovely "If It Ain't Love (It Don't Matter)" is typical - misery in an upbeat way (lyrics above). Even the religious message songs are excellent especially "Heaven Is There To Guide Us" which sounds not unlike The Chi-Lites at their best.

It's an embarrassment of soul riches really - and Edsel are to be praised for releasing it and presenting it in such a top way. Ace stuff and heartily recommended...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.